We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place in a perfect atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Taverna riva

Taverna riva
Ranked #9 of 40 Restaurants in Bol
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place in a perfect atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Beautifully situated along the riva in Bol, this place offers nice croation dishes with an international touch. Upon our visit the place was not crowded but still a lot of waiters so service was very good. Nice food, nothing fancy but nice. So it is the location that really lifts this place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tompix71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    88
    39
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Long wait for food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We visited the restaurant last night but had to wait 70 minutes before any food was served. Even the drinks took 15 minutes to arrive after they were ordered. No wine list offered when we arrived. The food was very good when it eventually came and the presentation was excellent. However, the whole experience was ruined by very poor service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul19572014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is by way one of the best restaurants, I have ever been to on my recent trip to Croatia. The terrace overlooking the ocean is breathtakingly beautiful, friendly service and everything is setup very nicely. But the FOOD was simply amazing, one of the best pizza's i have ever had was at this restaurant. Their fish plates are delicious too, and you can never go wrong with fresh ingredients you can taste with each bite. Strongly recommend this place and I will definitely come back here!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LenaBoro86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“coffee&pizza combo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

We only sat down on their outdoor terrace overlooking the bay for a morning coffee twice but the coffee was truely excellent! Also, we got tempted by the waitress and shared one of their pizzas to give it a try and after comparing it to many other pizzas I had later on in other Croatian locations, I must sya that one was the best one I had and cost less than in many other towns such as Sibenik or Split, for example, even though Bol's seaside is a very touristic place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food in a very nice location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We went here on our first night in Bol and got a table on the terrace with quite a nice view even without a reservation (we were able to see the ocean). The restaurant belongs to the more fancy ones in Bol and the tables are nicely set with white table clothes,napkins and wine glasses etc.
We could see the waiters bringing out freshly caught fish for the guest to pick and choose from to their liking. Since it was our first dinner on the island we decided to go for a fishplatter so we would have a nice selection of everything. The platter usually comes with boiled potatoes and swiss chard (mangold), however we were able to swop it to grilled vegetables ( see picture).
The wait staff was friendly and when the food arrived we were suprised about the big serving. As you can see in the picture there was a variety of fish on the platter such as tuna steak, 2 big shrimp skewers, one big squid and a couple of white fish fillets decorated with parsley,tomato, lemons and oranges to squeez over.
Most of the white fish fillets were delicious and even though the tuna steak was cooked trough (normally there served medium) it was still moist and not dry. Nevertheless one big problem was that the plate is not put on a hot stove or anything so you really have to dig in otherwise it gets cold and it was half way trough. Eating such special food in a rush or when its then cold kind of ruines the purpose of going for such a nice dinner. Also the squid was still a bit raw and flaby inside and could have needed some more time on the grill, nevertheless it was very fresh. The grilled vegetables were an enourmous serving for two people and even though "grilled" they were quite mushy and oily but somewhat tasty nevertheless.
Some may wonder why I only rated this restaurant as average if the fish was freshly caught and the service nice. Its just that compared to the other restaurants we visited it was rather pricy in comparison to the way the food was cooked and presented.
Neverthless the location is amazing and the meal was yummy and maybe if we had a main course each it would have been the better choice!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThetravellingDuchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna riva also viewed

 

Been to Taverna riva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing