We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and friendly staff, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Giardino

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bol
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Giardino
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Bol
Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly staff, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

We have just arrived back from our honeymoon in Croatia. We decided to stay two nights at Villa Giardino and were not disappointed.

The staff were warm and friendly and nothing was too much for them. We bought our own wine and were not only allowed to drink on the patio, but were given an ice bucket and glasses.

The breakfast is fantastic and fresh in a glorious location outside.

The location is ideal for walks down into the harbour and close enough to drag your suitcase up the hill without the need for a taxi when you arrive.

They topped our stay off with a bottle of champagne on the house to toast our recent nuptials.

We would definitely stay again.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sion75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    15
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
111
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

This is a beautiful house set in its own gardens, just five minutes walk from the port at Bol on Brac Island in Croatia. (It's the nearest island to Split, just get on the boat and then drive or bus from Supertar to Bol. You can catch a taxi boat to Zlatni Rat, the famous beach, but if you are prepared to walk further than the beach, there are some great coves.) Back to the hotel:Breakfast is on the terrace; guests get to use the back garden as well. Service is great, the owner Christine now runs it by herself with a small staff (her husband died three years ago, so they no longer offer dinner - he was a chef). Try the ham and eggs for breakfast, it's really good.
Book well in advance, it fills quickly during the season. We will go again. On the other hand, don't touch the Hotel Ostrea at Mali Ston on the Peljesac peninsula, it's a rip off.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tan4a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

My room was at the back and of a good size. The room had its own hot water (so always available) and was very quiet. The air conditioning was most welcome in the hot spell (daytime 30c).

Breakfast was served in the lovely garden and up to quite late. It was simple and good quality local produce.

The decor was in good taste and very clean, The real stand-out were the staff though - most welcoming and really making that extra effort. Best characterised by: when we announced we were off early on the motorbikes to beat the heat and get the early ferry, without asking, we were made packed breakfasts with fruit and juice.

This is a small friendly hotel that is quite apart from the big resort places, well situated a stone's throw from the town centre, yet quiet. Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

i stayed here after spending some time on mainland Croatia.

the building is charming - the location is ideal for Bol harbour and the staff are caring.

this is a guest house and not a hotel and therefore the bedroom i had was ok but not furnished modernly and had uncomfortable beds.

some attention to the bedrooms to put them in line with the rest of the building would do wonders with this place and take it to the next level

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thedevilatplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2010

Just returned from this hotel, wonderful, the best we have stayed in in Croatia.
Although the weather wasn't good, the thought of returning to such a warm and comfortable, spacious hotel room was lovely (also a large bathroom with plenty of hot water). Very convenient, very peaceful (two lovely cats), lovely gardens, best breakfast we have ever experienced in Croatia (wonderful eggs and different fruit every day) too. Would recommend this hotel, nothing to fault it! Also great staff, very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pusscat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

We enjoyed a wonderfully relaxing 6 night break in Bol. Villa Giardino is trully a gem - once you enter the ornate gates you feel as if you have entered a hidden oasis with its gorgeous well maintained garden, incredible views of the sea and unobtrusive yet helpful staff. We were situated on the first floor with the most amazing view of the garden and sea. The rooms are very comfortable with all the facilities one would need. The delicious and generous sized breakfast was served on the terrace overlooking the view. Christine is a gracious hostess and Aida was attentive and very helpful always. Bol is a beautiful little place and we particularly loved our days spent lounging in the sun on Zlatni Rat. We combined the recommendations from Christine with those in the Lonely Planet for restaurants and were not disappointed. The tennis centre is also worth a visit and has wonderful clay court facilities. Also for lunches we bought delicious pastries from the bakery and fruit from the local market. We loved our stay and will definately be back. Croatia is such a fantastic destination.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyLDZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
130 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

We arrived at Villa Giardino without reservations and were greeted warmly, and given a perfectly lovely room. Every detail in the room was tended to, with the result being a calm and beautiful space. The entire villa is filled with art, and the lush grounds are amazing - pomegranates, figs, roses, palm trees, all tended to but not fussy. Christine, the owner, was gracious with us, and the woman whose name I didn't get, who helped us park, showed us to our room, and brought our breakfast, was friendly and warm. While everyone we met was friendly, they weren't obtrusive in any way. We tried to extend our stay but were unable to cancel our other reservation so we only stayed one night - I wish we'd had many more. Breakfast is served on a beautiful terrace with vines overhead and fresh roses on the table. The homemade fig jam is delicate and wonderful. We stayed in Croatia for two weeks and this was by far our favorite place, and our best breakfast. We would consider returning to Brac, to Bol, just to stay at the Villa Giardino again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc_Lori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bol
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bol
Hotel Bol
#2 of 12 in Bol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa
0.6 mi away
Bluesun Hotel Borak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Adriatica
Hotel Villa Adriatica
#2 of 8 in Supetar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kastil
Hotel Kastil
#8 of 12 in Bol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Daniela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Giardino

Property: Villa Giardino
Address: Novi Put 2, Bol, Brac Island 21420, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Brac Island > Bol
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bol
#2 Family Hotel in Bol
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Villa Giardino Hotel Bol
Giardino Hotel Bol
Villa Giardino Bol, Croatia - Brac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing