We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as everyone said...”
Review of Villa Giardino

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bol
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Giardino
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Bol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Villa Giardino was everything that everyone previously has written about--carefully decorated, spotlessly clean, beautifully maintained in terms of the gardens. Everyone was exceedingly helpful and friendly. The patio where we ate breakfast was a dream with palm trees waving and colorful blossoms everywhere. Christine had some great restaurant recommendations--try Mendula, a lovely konoba within walking distance with a diverse plate of delicious seafood. It was a perfect experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ca2454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
There are newer reviews for Villa Giardino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 176 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

Although there's no online booking, it's no bother to book by email so please do see if they have room for you! I don't usually like B&Bs but Villa Giardino won me over. It's a big house on the side of a hill with lovely gardens front and back. It's not really suitable for people with mobility problems as there are at least two flights of steps to the rooms. Bol isn't very suitable generally though as it's quite hilly. It's a short walk to the town centre (maybe 5-10 minutes) and there's a small supermarket on the way. There is parking available close to the villa, it's a little tight, but it's ok.

Our room was perfectly pleasant and we had a modern bathroom with a shower. It was cleaned each morning while we had breakfast. Breakfast on the terrace was very good. Each morning we were given bread, honey, jam, fruit and juice. Cereal, milk and coffee were available. We were offered hot items such as boiled eggs, omelettes, bacon and eggs. If you're scared of wasps, avoid ham, they seem to be attracted to it.

There's a phone in the room but not a safe (the villa does seem very secure though) or mini bar. Throughout the day you can get drinks from the bar in reception, they can be delivered to your room or the garden. We were able to borrow beach towels and there was somewhere to hang them and swimsuits up to dry. There was wi-fi throughout, even in the garden. The only minor inconvenience was that there was only soap provided, I bought some shower gel at the supermarket. Having to pay cash was a little difficult as we could not withdraw enough for 5 nights in one transaction so had to do it in stages. There are a number of cash machines, including one at the bottom of the hill, so it's not too difficult to achieve.

The outstanding thing about Villa Giardino was the service. It feels like a family set up and all involved genuinely want you to have a good time. It feels as though nothing is too much trouble, all you have to do is ask. They are all exceptionally nice, and work hard to deliver a great experience. This made It one of the best places I've ever stayed.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank mb9099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed four nights in this beautiful Villa in central Bol town, Brac island. The staff always make you feel welcome, rooms are extremely well cleaned and the staff serves good breakfast on the outside terrace in the garden.

Christine also offers advice on good resturants nearby which all was good choices.

The location is very good in central Bol, 15 min. walk to Zlatni Rat beach.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this lovely B&B in the town of Bol. The tone was set on our arrival when Christine brought us some chilled lemonade, home-made from the lemons in the garden. Perfect! We had a very nice room looking out over the front garden to the sea. The location is brilliant as it is a 2 minute walk to the harbour and all of the nightlife of the town. The Zlatni Rat (famous Bol beach) is not at all far away either. You can walk (15 minutes) or take the taxi boat or small train from the petrol station. For us, being in the town near the shops, bars and restaurants was more important. We would also recommend walking to the beaches in the opposite direction to the Zlatni Rat as they are a bit quieter. On the way back to Supetar for your ferry, take a small detour to the top of the hills (Christine will tell you the name) where you get a great view of the spit beach for a photo. The staff at the Villa Giardino were all very nice and helpful and breakfast on the terrace each morning was lovely. The gardens are beautiful and provide a secluded place to read and relax in the shade. All in all, a great find and we would recommend it without reservation.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TillaLilith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have just enjoyed three nights at this outstanding hotel and it’s difficult to write a review without repeating the praise and positive comments that others have already given. Christine and her team have created a beautiful and calming environment within this immaculate building and gardens. Breakfast on the outdoor terrace is a special treat. We enjoyed Dalmatino restaurant and found the small beaches either side of the monastery a peaceful alternative to the crowds at Zlatni Rat.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulW-Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

How to describe the Villa? Perfect!

This place is something very special, from the warm and welcoming check in with homemade lemonade, your cases magically disappearing and ending up in your room without you even noticing and your room being cleaned when you are at breakfast, it's a fantastic experience.

Breakfast was superb, taken on the flower laden terrace. Fresh fruit, local honey and the homemade Fig Jam plus eggs cooked to order.

Our room was comfortable and spotless, fresh towels everyday and great bed. The Villa's gardens were simply wonderful and provide a perfect place to spend a few hours with a book.

Of special mention was Aida, (Christine's assistant), who was wonderful to us during our stay and even put together a breakfast pack as we were leaving really early for the Split ferry.

Is it possible to create a perfect B&B? I think with the Villa Giardino, with it's setting near Bol harbor, attention to detail and service Christine has succeeding in doing just that. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan&Sylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

It is very rare to find somewhere as special as Villa Giardino. The Villa, a lovely white building with green shutters, is decorated throughout with beautiful sculptures, paintings and other works of art. On arrival we were warmly greeted by Christine with glasses of delicious home made lemonade. The rooms have lovely views and are very comfortable and absolutely spotless. The garden is quite idyllic, a haven of greenery and flowers, comfortable loungers make it a delightful place in which to spend a relaxing afternoon after a morning at the beach. The Villa's cats enjoy it too! A delicious breakfast, with hot breakfast cooked to order and homemade jams, is served on the pretty terrace. Christine and her assistant, Aida, take enormous trouble looking after their guests and could not be more helpful. We were there in May when the roads are lined with spring flowers and Christine's wonderful roses are in bloom, it is the perfect time to visit his wonderful place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bol
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bol
Hotel Bol
#1 of 12 in Bol
234 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Daniela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Hotel Lemongarden
Hotel Lemongarden
#1 of 1 in Sutivan
69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kastil
Hotel Kastil
#8 of 12 in Bol
139 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bluesun Hotel Borak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Giardino

Address: Novi Put 2, Bol, Brac Island 21420, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Brac Island > Bol
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bol
#2 Family Hotel in Bol
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Villa Giardino Hotel Bol
Giardino Hotel Bol
Villa Giardino Bol, Croatia - Brac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing