We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveler rating
120
120
53
16
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
120
53
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf boardbit datedzlatni ratbreakfast and dinnerbol towngreat swimming poolair conhotel poolanimation teamsea viewhotel is situatedexcellent positionstar hotelbars and restaurantsgreat holidaycarpe diempaved walkway
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 318 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2010

First impressions where a little disapointing, thought hotel looked more like a 3 star rather then4 star. However our room was nice with a balcony overlooking the gardens which was full of lavender.

The 4 star part was really the food - excellect. The only critiscims was the fact they water down the fruit juices at breakfast which is a shame. However neither of us suffered with upset stomachs and enjoyed the food very much. Very good selection of salads and fresh fruit. Alot of meat and fish which is cooked in front of you. Pasta dishes, pizzas, fresh vegs - plenty of choice.

The only moan was the maid started cleaning/vacuming at between 7 and 8 in the mornings which did wake us up. Our first couple of mornings she actually barged into our room when we where still asleep. We hung the "Do not disturb" sign on the door and she soon got the message but it was annoying.

The hotel is well situated between the town and the Zaltani Rat beach. We didnt actually like this beach as it was so busy. We found that it was worth an extra 5 to 10 mins walk round to find the small coves. These are the Nudist beaches but they are the best. Although there are nude people there they are probably in the minority as most do have swim things on!!

We also took a Rent a boat out for the day and went to other coves which are completely empty - that was good fun.

Bol itself is a delightfull place - truely beautiful - lots of places to eat at. We hired a car for the day and drove to the other side of the island and found some wonderful places, infact we would like to have a week there as well.

Cant understand why there are'nt more English there - we will certainly return to croatia.

As a matter of interest to people, we booked this holiday through Balkan Holidays and I will say they where very efficient and would use them again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickypKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We weren't impressed with this hotel. The location is OK - right near the beach and only a 10 minute walk into the shops and restaurants in town. The service was rude, the breakfast buffet was a joke - literally reminded me of a middle school cafeteria, the rooms I'll get into...

So, the hallways were dark and gloomy - and muggy. Once you get into the room you have old, out dated sheets/ covers, a tiny wall mounted tv and a small bathroom with a shower that gets water EVERYWHERE! We had about an inch of water on the ground for the two nights we stayed there. I think it's just the way the showers are constructed in Croatia - they don't have a curtain or a set door, but have a flimsy glass/ plastic shield that moves and doesn't keep the water in. Just beware!:) In any case, we would stay at hotel Kastil if we did it over again (if we don't just charter a boat!) It was also TEEMING with families and little kids. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReadyToGo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Entertainment team were excellent in this hotel, our kids adored them by the end of the week.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dunnangallIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We were due to stay at the Hotel Kastil in Bol on the island of Brac and were more than a little disappointed when 2 weeks before we were due to fly our tour company called to say that the Kastil was no longer part of their portfolio.

However, we need not have worried at all. For a few quid more we were re-booked into the Hotel Borak (now part of the Blue Sun chain, rather than the RIU chain) and without a shadow of a doubt this was the best holiday we have ever had, albeit far too short at only 7 days!

The staff at the Borak are very friendly and speak very good English, nothing was too much trouble. Our room was a good size, as was the bathroom. The air-conditioning was very efficient and very silent - both welcome attributes given the 34 degree day time temperature and the humidity in early evening / night time.

We had a terrace with a table and 2 chairs which overlooked the pine forest in the hotel grounds and through to the crystal clear calm sea. The hotel is positioned half way between Bol harbour and Zlatni Rat, listed everywhere as Croatia's best beach - a title very well deserved. There is a wide paved walkway all along the front which winds and dips through the pine forest a few metres from the sea - both the harbour and the Rat are a 15 minute walk from the Hotel Borak.

Food wise, we were B&B and left very satisfied after each breakfast. There is a restaurant / bar on the beachfront just in front of the Borak - excellent for a romantic evening meal where you can sit 5 metres from the gentle lapping sea and watch the sunset over the Rat, or the moon rise over the neighbouring island of Hvar.

Whist staying at the Borak we checked out the neighbouring Blue Sun Elephusa Hotel - a 5 star establishment only 2 mins from the Borak. However, we found the staff very aloof, and the Reception area very sterile. This one might be okay for a Business type trip, but it's far too large and pompous for a romantic or a family holiday.

We spent most of our days ambling up to the Rat and pitching our towels where the edge of the pine forest meets the pebble beach. For those of you with sensitive feet (like me!) you will need some rubber shoes suitable to wear in the sea - the pebbles aren't sharp in any way, but they can be quite lumpy. The sea was absolute heaven - crystal clear, warm and very safe to swim in. On the edge of the pine forest there are a number of bars and food stalls, so you don't need to carry provisions for your days at the beach.

On the last day we ventured further round from the Rat and were amazed at the number of individual coves and mini beaches you can claim as your own piece of paradise for that day. For those prudes amongst you, some of these spots are favoured by nudists, but they are by no means solely for naturists and most of them are very private any way.

Out of interest, we also checked out the Hotel Kastil, our original booking on Bol harbour side. The Kastil's location is good during the day, but the downstairs' cocktail bar attached to this hotel gets very loud indeed on an evening and goes on till the early hours. They claim that the double glazed windows will keep out all of the noise, but we won't be risking staying there when we next visit Bol - it will definitely be back at the Borak.

A few more points that may be of interest; we booked our holiday through "Hidden Croatia" and were extremely pleased with the smoothness of transfers to and from Spit Airport to the Hotel Borak. We would thoroughly recommend Hidden Croatia. The only thing we would consider doing differently next time is taking the high-speed ferry from Split directly to Bol, rather than the direct Split to Supetar ferry with a 50 minute Taxi drive over the mountains.

In summary - book it now before the rest of the world finds out about this wonderful holiday location and perfect hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeteL-MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Nice hotel with a short walk from the beach. Nice pool area, and the breakfast buffet was big and varied. This hotel is not elegant, not romantic, not trendy, not comfortable.
The room we got was nothing more than ok. The bed was not good, and could have been softer. Did not sleep well. The furniture on our balcony was old and not so good to sit on. Looked like they would fall apart very soon. The hotel is not modern, and in our opinion too expensive if you look upon what you get.
On the positive side you get free wifi in the reception and free safe deposit box and aircondition in the room. In many other hotels we have stayed on you often have to pay for that.

If you want to lock the door in your room from inside, you have to use the key which is quite unusual. Usually you do not use the key inside. A keycard and an automatic locking system on the door would have been nice. You even have to use the big key to lock the door when you are leaving the room.
We also had some troubles with the shower in our room, and was told that it was supposed to be like that, but it was not. After our second time of reporting the problem they managed to fix it, but the problem apared again after just one day. Quite disturbing.

The reason for being so critical is because the hotel did not live up to our expectations. The hotel staff was friendly though, so if they manage to upgrade the room standard they might actually live up to their room rate.
We visited the spa and wellness center in their neighbor hotel Elaphusa which I rather would have stayed on.

The location was so great though. Walking distance to the center of Bol, and zlatni rat. Beautiful place in Croatia!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elise887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews