We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort type”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bluesun Hotel Borak
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Bol
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Feels like being at university. Big open entrance like an auditorium. No feeling to it.
Very noisy as it is mainly family groups in house. They have kids clubs and activities late into the night which is ridiculously loud. Good location. Friendly staff. Very dated rooms. Breakfast is not bad. I would not stay here again. Love the Island but one day is enough unless you love lying on the beach all day. Free Internet and safety deposit box.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Hotel Borak, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Carol,
Thank you for your review. We regret that you were dissastisfied, but nevertheless hope that your overall vacation in Bol was good.

Kind regards,

Petar Krvaric
Guest Relationship Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 274 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed 10 nights at this hotel. The hotel room was tiny, air-conditioning was unstable, and the interior decor material (also in other parts of the hotel) seemed to be from 1980's. There was a bird's nest on the balcony (as in many other balconies as well) which made the use of the balcony impossible if you wanted to avoid bird droppings. The swimming pool was ok, but some pool rules might be needed; people reserved sunbeds with towels already before breakfast... All in all not worth the 138 €/night we paid. However, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and we felt that they would deserve a better hotel! Breakfast was really good with wide variety of breads, cold cuts, cheese, eggs, cereal, etc. As we both dive we loved the fact that there was a great diving center (Big Blue Diving) at the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiisaHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Hotel Borak, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Miisa,
Thank you for your review. We are glad that our team members were helpful to you, and regret that you seem to have been left with a sense of disappointment in the overall value for money experience.

You are correct, hotel decor could use a renovation, which is something we anticipate to happen at some point. On the other hand, the hotel hotel facility underlies a series of strict categorization standards, is well cleaned, enjoys a good location, plus provides good gastro offer which all makes up for some of these deficiencies you have mentioned.

The bird nest has to do with a unique phenomenon we have in Bol, particularly in this hotel. Those are sparrow bird nests, which for some reason found their home on some of the hotel balconies. Sparrows are protected by law in Croatia, and our house keeping teams follow a strict cleaning protocol to keep the balconies as tidy as possible.
Hopefully, the nests were not too big of a inconvenience to you.

Should you consider visiting Bol again, if we may, we would recommend a neighboring Bluesun hotel Elaphusa, a grand hotel appropriate for a higher level of comfort.

Kind regards,

Petar Krvaric
Guest Relationship Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is not new, but confortable. The swiming pool area is great, so as the bar. And we can use the spa at Bluesun Elaphusa. The breakfast is very good.
Location is perfect, very close to Zlatini Rat and close to the center of Bol.
The room is ok, but the sea view is not good, you can see like a small part of water long way...our bathtub wasn´t working, they changed our room at the second night. We asked for 2 more pillows at 10pm, but the guy at reception said he only could give us on the next day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ricardosaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Hotel Borak, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Ricardo,

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed hotel Borak, its location, breakfast and the amenities of the next door hotel Elaphusa.

Please accept our apologies for the pillow situation. Although the housekeeping department closes before the time you had called, we normally respond to such requests successfully. This time we did not manage to handle the situation well. We addressed the issue within our teams. Thank you for pointing this out.

Nonetheless, we hope that your general impression and experience was nice and that you'll visit us at some point again.

Kind regards from the sunny Bol,

Petar Krvarić
Customer Relationship Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was only 1 night long, but we still had time to enjoy, wonderful location, very close to the well-known beach. Room was spacious and comfortable, nothing fancy, but very clean. We arrived there in the evening and decided to take a walk, sunset on the beach was really fantastic and memorable. On the way back we decided to eat supper in the hotel's restaurant, though there were plently of other places around, we still chose the hotel's one, but a person at the door's said that we had to change clothes in order to have buffet dinner (me and my boyfriend were wearing t-shirts and shirts, I think it is quite acceptable moreover it is a beach resort hotel). Breakfast was good, plently of food and drinks. Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Hotel Borak, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Elena,
Thank you for sharing your positive experience in regards to hotel's cleanliness, location and breakfast quality.

As for you being asked to change for a buffet dinner, we sincerely hope that you didn't misunderstand the intention and felt uncomfortable...If you did, we genuinely apologize.
Please try to understand that this little regulation is implemented due to the safety and sanitary reasons, appropriate for a larger hotel such as this one.

We nonetheless hope that you enjoyed your stay and that we'll see you next year !

Kind regards,

Petar Krvaric
Customer Relationship Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is not a typical hotel that we would stay at as a family (normally rent a villa/apartment) but we are glad we did! The hotel is not too big (compared to the other hotels that are grouped together in this area of Bol), has a large clean pool, and a shallow small pool that was ideal for our 4 year old daughter who is learning to swim - she loved it! Upon seeing the fronf of the hotel you honestly could be anywhere in the world but we had a family room seperate from the main hotel block in a small group of mini apartments at the back of the hotel and these were ideal for us - the kids had 2 seperate single beds and we slept in the lounge area (like a sofa bed set up). It was quiet and over the week that we stayed we never had a bad night and every day we had maid service which was excellent. We dont like full board so only opted for the breakfast which I have to say was fantastic and catered for all tastes. The hotel is perfectly located to Zlatni Rat beach (its a 10 min walk along a lovely pine tree promenade) and Bol itself is just a great place to wander around and soak up the atmosphere. Bol is also a great place to take a boat trip to Hvar from. Despite other reviews I would highly recommend catching the local bus up through the twisting hills when heading back to Supetar for the ferry back to Split - the views back down to the sea and Zlatni Rat are breathtaking (just dont look how close you are to the edge!).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fluffymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Nice and clean hotel, with good sevice, and a very good breakfast buffet ( we never tried the dinner there ) Comfortable beds and nice room. Pleasant poolbar with very nice waiters, Ivan and Tomislav :-))) 10 min walk to Bol town and the harbour, and the same the other way to the famous beach " Zlatni Rat ", and five moore min to walk, alot of small beaches for nudists! <3 We would love to come back soon!!!

Room Tip: We had a room with a pleasent view to the sea. But also to the poolarea where you could hear happy c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Natasha042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We only stayed two - three days was absolutely beautiful , such an enchanting village by the sea, clear as sparkling water, makes for beautiful photos. I definitely want to go back and stay longer next time , an oasis , worth the trip and so cheap

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leighb_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bol
0.1 mi away
Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Daniela
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bol
Hotel Bol
#1 of 12 in Bol
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hotel Pastura
Hotel Pastura
#1 of 2 in Postira
156 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kastil
Hotel Kastil
#8 of 12 in Bol
142 reviews
12 mi away
Hotel Lemongarden
Hotel Lemongarden
#1 of 1 in Sutivan
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluesun Hotel Borak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluesun Hotel Borak

Address: Put Zlatnog Rata 42, Bol, Brac Island 21420, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Brac Island > Bol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bol
Price Range: $75 - $1,174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluesun Hotel Borak 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a lush pine forest, Bluesun Hotel Borak is only 50 metres from a pebbly beach. The promenade that connects the centre of Bol with the unique Zlatni Rat Beach passes right by the hotel and offers its guests quick access to both of these attractions. You can taste refreshing drinks and cocktails from the pool bar and soak up the sun on the terrace with free loungers and umbrellas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bluesun Hotel Borak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluesun Hotel Borak Hotel Bol
Riu Borak Hotel
Riu Borak Bol
Bluesun Hotel Borak Bol, Croatia - Brac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing