We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view & service”

Vagabundo Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #12 of 39 Restaurants in Bol
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London
Level Contributor
135 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great view & service”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We tried this restaurant to give ourselves a treat. It has beautiful sea views and the staff, if a bit formal, were friendly. We were there just before the season started so were a little disappointed to be seated and find out that actually a lot of things on the menu weren’t available. However we ordered and had good salads to start and a steak and fish main. We ordered the steak medium but it really came medium-rare. So my advice would be to ask for sauce on the side so you can send it back if it’s not to your taste. We also ordered the 3-fish dish and this tasted delicious, with some lovely al-dente vegetables, but the tuna was not pink as requested. The food and presentation was overall a good quality.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul_and_Shona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    88
    51
    34
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Split, Croatia
1 review
“Great experience!”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Three of us went to Vagabundo in September 2012. We heard about it before and after reading some of reviews we definitely chose Vagabundo as our first pick in Bol.
From the start we felt professional, but also friendly atmosphere. The waiter offered us a very good Croatian white wine which was great. I had a shrimp soup, shells and sea food risotto. Everything was very tasty. I also wanted a bit more cooked rice which I got.
Vagabundo is definitely a place worth visiting again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2602Lena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best in Bol”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were in Bol for 8 nights and overall were very disappointed by the quality of the food. Most of it was of the simple grilled fish or meat variety, and not too appetising. We tried a few places but kept going back to Vagabundos as it was far and above the best option for choice and quality of food. You paid a bit more but it was worth every extra penny.

The restaurant is on a well decorated and open fronted terrace, with view of the sea (before dark). Service was attentive and friendly and menu and drinks options excellent. We went here three times and had a memorable experience on each occasion.

Highliy recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ragingragnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
182 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Amazing view and atmosphere. But very average food and service.”
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

We visited in the middle of September and were looking forward to some amazing food at what looked like an amazing restaurant.

As you can see in the photos from other TripAdvisor reviewers, the food is very dated. Who puts a shell in the middle of the risotto plate anymore? Very 80's and unfortunately it tastes that way as well.

The service is also very slow and unnatentive.

Overall, you could do without this restaurant during your visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DeanandTarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Slow but friendly service and low quality food”
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

I ended going there twice because the conference had booked it the second night. The first night the service was fine but my "risotto" seemed to be reheated in a pan. The rice was almost burned and the seafood completely overcooked.

When the conference was there we waited for ever, and were unable to order drinks.

But the view is nice...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jrewing88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vagabundo Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Vagabundo Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing