We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (554)
Filter reviews
554 results
Traveler rating
193
219
98
23
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
219
98
23
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews meal times pool bar entertainment team thomson rep family room kids club zlatni rat just returned from a week plastic glasses french guests free bike hire minute journey plenty of seats other nationalities french hotel food hall local amenities
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 554 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2017

We absolutely adored BlueSun Hotel Bonaca at Bol, on Brac Island. In fact we have already booked to go back this year. The food was absolutely amazing. The restaurant was always spotlessly clean. The pool was gorgeous. Our daughters, 8 and 9, would have spent literally all day in the pool. The bar was great. Quick service and everything you need to drink. Wines were lovely I thought.
The hotel mainly caters for the French. Not really a problem. It was great to be away from hoards of Brits abroad! The entertainers worked their socks off and we found it funny and enjoyable, even if we didn't always understand the language. We got to go and see bigger dance shows at the hotel next door too. The transfer was a coach, then a ferry, then another coach but we got to see a bit of Split, then Supetar on Brac, then Brac Island to Bol, so all part of the holiday. Bol itself is absolutely beautiful. The famous Zlatni Rat beach was a nice 10 min walk away and in the other direction are smaller local beaches and the monastery, past the town centre. A stunning holiday and we can't wait to go back.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Goonwids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krvaricp, Manager at Bluesun Resort Bonaca, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2017

Dear Goonwids,

firstly we would like to thank you for sharing your positive experience with us and posting a review. Of course, we are grateful the highest rate you awarded us with.

We are glad that you had a good time in Bluesun Bonaca hotel, and it is a great motivation for us to see that our guests appreciate our effort. You are most certainly right, location is ideal for spending the perfect vacation by the sea, and we doing our best to make our guest's stay as carefree as possible.

We would be happy to see you again in Bol.

Kind regards,
Miro Karmelic
Accommodation manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2016

If you decide to visit during off-peak season, the entire area including the resort becomes a ghost town. The pool obviously is too cold to swim in but there' nothing else to keep guests occupied. The gym reeks of sweat and stale air. They didn't have paddles to play table tennis. The only saving grace was there was a tennis tournament so we got to watch a few matches. The food tends to be very average but that's to be expected for a 3-star hotel. I enjoyed bowling. They blasted 80s music which got us adults dancing away, but my son was cringing the entire time. Access to a sister resort's pool requires additional payment which pissed me off. The service at front desk was mediocre but the restaurant service was awesome!

Date of stay: October 2016
1  Thank 770TraceyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krvaricp, Manager at Bluesun Resort Bonaca, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2016

Dear Tracey H,

thank you for your honest review. We are sorry our hotel didn't quite meet your expectations. On the other hand, thank you for complimenting food in our restaurant.

We appreciate your observations and remarks.

Sincerely,
Miro Karmelic
Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2016 via mobile

accomodation is decent and clean, nothing special, a bit old in design but clean. receptionist is lame and she is not right person for the job, also lobby where reception is has really bad smell. food is good and on much better level then rooms, place is surrounded by nature which is nice and relaxing.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krvaricp, Manager at Bluesun Resort Bonaca, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2016

Dear Tom K,

thank you for your positive feedback. We appreciate you comment about the receptionist, but we would have loved if you had been more specific about it. We are glad that you have spent a lovely holiday in our Bluesun Hotel Bonaca. We hope for your repeat visit.

Best regards from Bol, Miro Karmelic, Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2016

Stayed at this hotel end of September for 2 weeks. We chose this hotel for our 50th Wedding Anniversary. First impressions were ok and our room was very nice, but because of all the stairs we had to climb it took some of the pleasure away. A nice touch was the bowl of fruit and the flowers and champagne that was left in our room for our Anniversary. We can't fault the food, it was really excellent and such a variety to choose from. The staff on reception were also courteous. After 2 days of going up and down the stairs to our room we'd had enough, I have to add that there are stairs all over the complex. Stairs going up to the restaurant, stairs going down to the "Bar Salon" stairs going up to reception, so if you have difficulty walking, I'm afraid you'll find this quite challenging!! Our rep Leslie was really helpful and got our room changed and although we still had one flight of stairs to climb at least there was a "grab rail" to hang on to. The biggest let down for us (and the reason for 4 stars) was the "entertainment". The whole fortnight we were there only the French people were entertained. We even went to reception and asked if this was a French hotel!! We were told that it was Croation owned. Well, you could've fooled us!! It seems that other nationalities are second rate as far as the entertainment is concerned. Although we must have paid as much as the French we didn't get a good deal as they did. We thought it was quite rude of the management to allow just the French people to have a good time and ignore the other nationalities that were at their hotel. It seems that Thompson's and Bluesun Bonaca are misleading people as to what they offer. We were told that the hotel was put on the British market only this year and that they were feeling their feet at the moment. Well I've read a review from 2013 that complained about the "entertainment" so this can't be true. As I've said before the staff at the hotel are lovely, the food is lovely, the Island of Brac is lovely and if you don't mind not having any entertainment this is the place to go........ We would come back to Croatia, just not to another Bluesun hotel. We felt sorry for Leslie as she must have had lots of complaints from us Brits about lack of entertainment, but it wasn't her fault, it was the fault of Thompson's and Bluesun. Sorry to go on about the entertainment, but this was a package holiday and we were expecting to have the same as everybody else!!
I also have to mention that when you get off of the plane you have a coach journey then a ferry journey and finally another coach journey before you reach your hotel, which we didn't know about, this puts another couple of hours on your journey. All in all we felt very let down by Thompson's and Bluesun and wished we'd chosen another hotel for our Anniversary and not one that didn't treat everyone as equals.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KITABELIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krvaricp, Manager at Bluesun Resort Bonaca, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2016

Dear KITABELIA,

thank you for awarding us with such a high rate. We are glad your wedding anniversary went well and we wish you many more happy anniversaries to come. We are sorry our entertainment didn't quite meet your expectations, but we find your comment to be very useful for our future actions. Although it is nice to see you enjoyed being at the island and were very fond of its natural beauties, we apologize for our mishaps regarding the animation.

Still, we would love to welcome you again.
Kind regards from Brac island.

Miro Karmelic
Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2016

Just returned from a week's stayat the Bonaca. The whole Hotel is spotless, the rooms are nice we had a seaview which was lovely. The food in the restaurant is exceptional lots of variety and good quality certainly miles better than other all inclusive so we have stayed in we always found plenty to eat! The wine is also nice in the restaurant.
We spoke with several members of the entertainment team who explained about the French speaking team and the others We found them to be charming .
All the Hotel staff were really friendly and helpful especially the 2 guys who ran the pool bar who were very hardworking but happy to chat ! A great team.
Only downside to the Hotel, when the weather changed and was rainy and cold , there was no cosy lounge to sit in or stuff to do indoors , also the rooms were chilly and could do with some extra bedding if it turns cold.
Final note, Lesley great Thomson rep really friendly and helpful
Love Croatia would go again at a different time of year

Room tip: Seaview not at the bad of a block which catches the wind!
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marcia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krvaricp, Manager at Bluesun Resort Bonaca, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2016

Dear Marcia C,
Thank you for your review and positive feedback.
We are delighted that you were satisfied with the beach and the sea, the quality of meals, location, restaurant and the quality of our service and our staff.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you again, you are more than welcome!

Sincerely,
Miro Karmelic
Hosting Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews