We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids, but very basic and tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bluesun Resort Bonaca
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Bol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We didn't get the best first impression of the hotel as we were delayed and didn't arrive till 3am. We were given a room in the family block, which sounded like a great idea before we set off, but on reflection, it was very noisy - not only because of other people's children, but also because the block was opposite a concrete car park/drop off point for coaches and guests arriving at all time of the day and more depressingly, at night.

Inside, the rooms were very basic but very clean. For the extra fee you get an extra long, narrow room with an oversized table taking up too much space in the middle. There were also 2 single beds, head to head and a wardrobe and TV. The only air con unit in the room is situated here, above the door leading onto the smallest 'balcony' we have ever had! The issue for us was that at night, we didn't want to leave the air con on above the children, but without it on, our room was very stuffy (luckily the temps at night in June were not too high). Leaving the windows open was the only option, but with the noise coming up from the concrete coach drop off area below, it was too noisy to sleep. Earplugs helped!

The hotel, pool area, dining area, in fact everywhere were always spotlessly clean, just a bit tired, especially compared to the more up to date (and 4 star) Bluesun neighbour hotels.

We went all inclusive and weren't disappointed here! The food was great. Lots of choice, lots of fresh fruit, lots of getting up and down! Definitely worth it. Also, previous comments about the strict seating rules, no longer apply. Although they did like us to use the same table for dinner each night.

Difficult to comment on the entertainment, as they were still practising, as it was so early in the season. Same goes for the kids clubs, although it did seem predominantly geared towards Germans. My boys are 7 and 3 and were not keen to go. Also, they would try to get people interested in joining in the pool games by blaring out loud music (mostly German) at various intervals. Not very relaxing.

You could hire bikes for the day, free of charge. A big plus point. Although people started queuing very early, which again, would be more of an issue in August I think.

The beaches were a nice 5 minute walk away from the hotel, along a tree lined path. Beautiful beaches. The clearest sea we have ever seen. Bol was also just a 10 minute walk away. Also very beautiful.

Would definitely recommend this place as a cheap, no frills hotel. If you are used to luxuries, no matter how small, choose somewhere else!

The island and resort were however fantastic, so for us, 2 adults and 2 boys, it was a very reasonably priced, very good first trip to Croatia. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Request a family room far from reception
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank blondie07London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
There are newer reviews for Bluesun Resort Bonaca
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 423 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2011

Stayed here 27th May - 3rd June. First time been all inclusive and on the evidence here would definitley do it again. Hotel ideally placed for leisurely strolls to beach or harbour.Food very good and plenty of it. Room good size with sea view.Staff very friendly.However there are a lot of steps!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vanmann25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

In early May we were with my partner for a week in the hotel Bluesun Bonaca in Bol on the island of Brac. The hotel is located in the immediate vicinity of the beach Zlatni Rat (5 min walk) and there are also many other beautiful beaches. The weather was very nice, unfortunately the sea at this time was not so warm that you could swim. We enjoyed AlI including in our hotel, the food was very good quality, everything always fresh, lots of fruits and Vegetable, very friendly staff. Room was good size and clean. Throughout the resort are pines, palms, oleanders and many other local flora. The hotel also has a nice outdoor pool with a pool bar.The entire coast is lined promenade leading to the city Bol, which is very nice, clean and with elegant restaurants.
You can also do a lot of trips, because the whole island is very beautiful and interesting. We were for example on the Vidova Gora, in the old monastery Blaca or in the oldest village on the island - Škrip. A 4x4 vehicle permits, tour the many beautiful bays.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank aja1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

excellent hotel on excellent beach and sea view - BOL BRAC, ZLATNI RAT

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kola12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

One of the reasons that we chose the Bonaca was that we couldnt find any bad reviews - which is most unusual on this site.
I guess there were points that one could criticise but one would have to be pretty picky to do so.
There are 3 or 4 Bluesun hotels located adjacent to one another and we were in the 3 star Bonaca complex which is arranged as 6 or 7 low rise blocks of rooms, each with seperate entrance and balcony.
The room itself was slightly small for 3 of us and the fold-out bed distinctly uncomfortable for an adult but no complaints from a child. However, it was clean and beautifully serviced every day and its only for sleeping in after all. Didnt need to use the A/C at all, (and this was height of summer), as there is usually a decent breeze through the apartment.
The Pool area is where it all happens at a Hotel and this was a pleasant environment to be in. There is a slight shortage of sunbeds and umbrellas which leads to some disagreements but not as bad as in some places. The pool bar serves free drinks all day. ( We receommend the Kruscovak local spirit - made from plums). The Pool is clean and pleasant, although not heated, which might be a challenge out of high summer.
The restaurant is superb - although you cant quite get away from the school refectory atmosphere that goes with all inclusive. We have done All Inc holidays in Turkey and Tunisia and I would say that the quality and variety of food here was definitely superior, with good quality meats, (bacon, salami,pork, chicken, beef,veal) regularly provided, as well as a variety of fish every day. It was the salads and vegetables however, that were really to die for. Good quality ice-cream after lunch and dinner was also a real treat.

Free on-site bike hire was a real bonus, with good quality mountain bikes a treat to ride.
Disappointingly, we only had 3 days left when I discovered that I could have had a free hour of wind-surfing at the Big Blue Windsurf school every day with my Bonaca card. Also annoying was that I didnt pack my tennis-shoes, as the site is adjacent to the Croatian national tennis centre, which must be one of the biggest/best in Europe (25 beautifully landscaped courts) Not quite sure what the hire arrangements were -although I think there was some free access)
Between the Hotel and the beach is a lovely shady paved boulevard that stretches from Sladni Rat spit (beach) to Bol town and is bordered by lots of activities (eg trampolines) and stalls as one gets closer to Bol (which is only 15 mins walk). The beach has a Volley Ball court and the hotel has a booking at 4 pm every day where the various nationalities get together and play some good competitive matches.
Take or buy beach shoes as getting in and out of the water is hard on the feet, although once in, the water is chrystal clear and great for snorkelling.
There is a great mix of nationalities at Bonaca, with Brits accounting for no more than 5 to 10%. The biggest group would probably be German/Austrian but also lots of Croatians and Scandinavians. Animation team were very friendly and tried very hard although evening entertainment was a bit lame - but fine for the kids.

Just a word about transfers. We were offered a transfer package for £399 when we booked with Direct-Line holidays. Luckily we said no, although we were slightly concerned at knowing that we would be arriving in Supetar at 1am and still on the wrong side of Island.
In the event, the transfers for 3 of us cost us £150 all in. Croation Airlines run a bus from from Split airport to harbour, around £5 each. Ferry from Supetar to Bol is about £4 each(and half of that for Kids) Taxi in Supetar cost us around £65. (Hot Tip, get off ferry promptly and see if there is anyone else headed for Bol with whom you could share) . On the way back, the hotel booked us a taxi and invoiced us (which is a new service they have just started in the last few days) and it was only 230 Khuna (around £29). One surprise on getting back to Split was that the Croatian Airlines buses from harbour to Airport finish around 6pm (Whereas on the way out we got a bus from the airport at 9:30pm). In the event, we shared a taxi ride and split the fare (which was 260 khuna total). A cinch really. (If you are going to be arriving in Supetar at 1am on the Ferry, its probably worth contacting the hotel to see if they will send their new taxi service to meet you.)
There is of course a catamaran that goes directly from Split to Bol every day at 4pm but the journey from Bol to Split is at 6am. (Wish we had taken advantage of it though, for a cheap and easy day-trip to Split).

All in all, we loved Croatia and the exceptionally friendly and helpful Croatians. We plan to go back, not least because although hot and sunny, the temperatures were enjoyable rather than unbearable as one often finds further south.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank binkenhaben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

This is not perfect, but nice and clean hotel. The house-keeping service was very good. The location is beautiful. Although most people come to this area to admire famous Zlatni Rat beach, I think nearby beaches under the hotels are even more interesting, cleaner, less crowded with crystal clear water and great sea life. Food in the hotel was amazing, so fresh and such a good variety. Animation team did a great job, our kids loved especially their night shows. I think the reception was the weakest part of the hotel, although smily and nice, but not very competent and helpful. Since the hotel consists of several buildings spread around the hill, there is some walking required.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suvixo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Although only three stars Hotel Bonaca is good one.
Service is good, food great and fresh, room modest but nice and clean, towels were changed daily on request, sheets too.
Location is nice, less than 10mins walking distance to beach "Zlatni rat" in one way and to the city Bol in the other way.
This is good place for family with young children.
It is a bit noisy.
All inclusive is great for kids, a bit too much for adults.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marija M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bol
0.1 mi away
Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa
0.1 mi away
Bluesun Hotel Borak
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bol
Hotel Bol
#1 of 12 in Bol
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Hotel Lemongarden
Hotel Lemongarden
#1 of 1 in Sutivan
69 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Daniela
12.2 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluesun Resort Bonaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluesun Resort Bonaca

Address: Put Zlatnog Rata 48, Bol, Brac Island 21420, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Brac Island > Bol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bol
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bol
#4 Family Hotel in Bol
Price Range: $93 - $1,120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluesun Resort Bonaca 3*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in picturesque surroundings with fragrant Mediterranean herbs and a lovely pine forest only 160 yards from the pebble beach, Bluesun Hotel Bonaca offers state-of-the-art facilities and impeccable services. Only a 10 minute walk from the center of the town of Bol and the magnificent beach Zlatni Rat, the hotel is a perfect destination for sun and sea lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bluesun Resort Bonaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluesun Resort Bonaca Hotel Bol
Bluesun Resort Bonaca Bol, Croatia - Brac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing