We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sina Hotel
Ranked #121 of 922 Hotels in Lijiang
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal location and excellent service”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Ideal location. On the edge of Old Town, away from the hustle and bustle yet within walking distance to everywhere. Small and cozy with nice grounds. A gazebo overlooking a river which runs along one side of the hotel is stocked with Chinese tea-making facilities for guests. We enjoyed having a cup of tea when we return from our day's activities.
Service is superlative. Nick, the Manager, picked us up from the airport. He speaks Mandarin, Cantonese and some English and although we didn't understand each other totally, his warmth and enthusiasm more than made up for any lack. We were allowed to choose our own room as the hotel was not full. After a welcome pu-erh tea, Nick arranged for us to visit the various attractions for next 2 days, together with some other guests, in order to save on transport costs. We stayed here for 3 nights and moved over to another hotel in Shuhe. As driver was not available, Nick drove us there and refused to charge us any fare. He even arranged for our airport transfer 2 days later.
The driver Mr Yang, was careful and caring and would drive us to as many places to visit as time permits. On our way to the airport, he took us on a longer and scenic route in order that we can see more of Lijiang.
Mr CJ, the GM not only had tea with us but walked us to places we had enquired about.
Staying at Sina Hotel was indeed an exceptional experience where the staff treat each guest like friends. We would definitely stay here again should we return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelbug7522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
8
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This hotel is absolutely adorable. Not only does it boast a brilliant location, its architecture is marvellous, the rooms (don't go for the cheapest ones but rather book the ones upstairs!) are beautifully furnished and very individual - a nice treat from all those standardized rooms you find all over now. The staff is very friendly and helpful, not everybody speaks English but Nick, the owner, makes up for this. He is cheerful and knowledgeable and I regretted not having booked a longer stay as he also arranges sightseeing trips for his guests. When the driver didn't show up who was supposed to bring me to the airport, Nick even took me there himself! Do go and stay there!

Room Tip: Go for a bit more expensive room, these seem to be more spacious and nicely furnished. Also check if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silke101065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Excellent, excellent hotel. The hotel is beautiful. Staff hospitality and security was excellent. The room was top notch. Feels like just at home. Stayed here for four nights and the experience was wonderful. The owner Nick was so helpful that he kindly brought me to buy winter clothes as the one brought was too thin. I have never experience such hospitality even in other 5 stars hotel around the world. Since I was alone he even brought me and show me around old town and giving very good advise on avoiding tourist traps around town. Another best thing about this hotel is they have their own driver that provides tour around Lijiang and it's much more cheaper than going to tour operator around town.
I love this hotel so much and I am bringing my family and friends to stay here. Thanks for everything Sina Hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Sina Hotel is a great place to stay! We stayed for five days recently from 9/26 to 10/1 and everything is as good as we expected or better. Starting with pick up from airport which was done by the manager himself! The hotel staff is also very attentive and quick to explain necessary information on how to get around the city as well as what to watch out for. On top of that, the facility is well kept, clean, and spacious, not to mention the beautiful garden and pool they maintain for our enjoyment. In short, this hotel is THE PLACE TO STAY if you visit Lijiang!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeffrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Sina Hotel was a great place to stay for a single traveler. The staff picked me up where the taxi left me off so I wasn't wandering around the alleys trying to find the hotel. The hotel was nice and clean with a peaceful outside area to sit in. It is a bit of a walk to the main square of Old Town but walking through Old Town is part of the experience.

I got totally lost the first night that I was in Lijiang and stopped off at another hotel to get directions. Nick, the owner of Sina, picked me up on a motor scooter so I didn't have to walk in the dark. He was a great help during my entire stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZgolfer1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We just came back from a 4-night stay at Sina Hotel in late June. Here are pros and cons:
Pros:
1. Great location just at the border of old town. We are not in the busy old town and away from loud speakers and yet you can simply walk across hotel back door across the stream and you are there! We stay in a Family Tatami room and the room size is just right for a family of 4 (with 2 mid-size kids). The room is next to the stream and it was nice to be able to hear the sound of the lazy creek.
2. Helpful staff: Nick (the hotel manager) made us feel at home and can arrange all the sightseeing and transportation. He speaks good English and very accessible via his mobile phone. We arrived late at night around 10:30PM but Nick was there to greet us. Our younger son was hungry so Nick quickly arranged a very nice meatball soup for all of us to welcome us. Now that is hospitality! Nick-recommended driver (Mr. Yang) is also great. He hired Mr. Yang for 2 days to tour around. He is a proud Naxi and take a pride of showing off his homeland to visitors. He took us to a few places off schedule like the US old airfield which affords one of the best views of our trip!
3. The price is very competitive and we saved more than 50% from what we would have paid to Crown Plaza.
Cons:
1. There is actually NONE :)
But just a few suggestions: The carpet is getting old and the bathroom arrangement is kinda funny as there is no partition between toilet bowl and shower so the toilet seat could be wet at times.
Overall, we feel very comfortable at the hotel and would recommend this hotel to our friends. Bravo to Nick and Mr. Yang!

Room Tip: Ask for the room next to the creek!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Promboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I booked this hotel last minute. Called the hotel Manager Mr Nick who can speak English. This hotel was in Lijiang Old Town and yet not too crowded. The Manager Mr Nick pick us up from the entrance of Old Town. There are many hotels in this place and finding your hotel can be a problem. Mr Nick was kind enough to pick us up. The room was comfortable and clean and the bathroom was spacious. Mr Nick arrange the hotel driver for a day trip for us and he even instruct his driver to get a good rate for the horse riding around the Jade Dragon Snow Mountain. He was very helpful and treat us like a friend. A short walk from hotel will lead to many foods and shops.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnnKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
3.0 mi away
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
#2 of 922 in Lijiang
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
4.1 mi away
The Bivou
The Bivou
#1 of 922 in Lijiang
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Banyan Tree Lijiang
Banyan Tree Lijiang
#5 of 922 in Lijiang
878 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lvye An Jia
Lvye An Jia
#1 of 2,505 in Lijiang
557 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sina Hotel

Property: Sina Hotel
Address: No.120 Chongren Alley, Qiyi Street, Gucheng District, Lijiang 674100, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 922 Hotels in Lijiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sina Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lijiang Sina Hotel is located in the famous “World Cultural Heritage” –inside the old town of Lijiang City. Accessing the hotel by the South Gate, its architectural structure is rich in art and also follows the traditional “Naxi” dwelling. Lijiang old town, a poetical name, literally means a beautiful river in Chinese and occupying a land area of 3.8 sq. km, has the combination of minority culture with modern and luxurious living ambience. Every room is equipped with Internet broadband and latest IPTV which offers wide selection of video movies. Business center and secretarial services are being offered to hotel guests. A gift shop within the hotel compound eased the conveniences for shopping of souvenirs and basic necessity. The restaurant is situated in an open courtyard alongside the streams, offers Chinese food and Naxi local dishes as well as international cuisines.A stroll down the memorable and authentic shophouses within the “old town of Lijiang” offers tourists wide varieties of Naxi souvenirs, etc. From the “old town”, one could also catch sight of the panoramic breathtaking view of the “Jade Dragon” snow mountain. Spring waters from the Jade Dragon snow mountain gather with the Black Dragon pool park flows down to the town forms many streams at the side of the street and the backyard of the houses. There are more than 300 bridges of various types in the old Lijiang town, which linked many part of the townhouses. Most of the streets in the old Lijiang town are paved with five color stones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing