We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveler rating
55
7
0
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
55
7
0
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tiger leaping gorge his assistant other travelers other guests tom china taxis comfort guesthouse
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 65 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2018

My wife and I (this is Lisa's husband Ron writing here) stayed here in one of the private rooms for 3 nights in March. The combination of comfort, amazing food, and conviviality with other guests and with Tom, the owner made this a real highlight of our stay in Lijiang and in China more generally. The dinners that Tom and his assistant whipped up were fantastic (and incredibly cheap). One of the things we always find important in choosing accomodations is ease of meeting other travelers and on that score, October Inn was perfect. Many young travelers from all over come through here and it's wonderful to hear their stories over dinner. I developed a respiratory infection while in China and Tom very generously took me to his Chinese Medicine doctor about 5 minutes away, translated for me during the intake and, when the doctor gave me herbs, Tom took it upon himself to prepare them for me. (I myself am an acupuncturist and Chinese medicine practitioner in the US). His warmth and caring pervade the October Inn and really made our visit quite memorable. We would recommend this place heartily. Tom, thank you for making our stay so great!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017 via mobile

This place is nothing fancy, but it's cozy and Tom will give you all the necessary tips and help you with arrangements for the Tiger Leaping Gorge hike.
If you go there on winter or cold season he has a stoke where you can drink tea, read and hang out. He also makes this home made goji berry/plum wine that is delicious and super potent! It's a must try!!
The place is cheap and just outside the old town, ask about the short cut when you get there, it will save you a lot of walking ;)

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank johndY7436ZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here two times for 3 nights in total in two different private rooms. Both rooms were extensivly decorated with butterflies and flowers. It's something you have to see :-D The bathrooms with western style toilet and hot shower are very clean. Beds are comfortable, clean and equipped with electric blankets. Tom, the owner, is a unique character, very friendly, helpful and proud of his hostel. He recommended several places and hikes and arranged transport to the tiger leaping gorge and the train station for us. While hiking the gorge and traveling to Shangri-La we could store our luggage for free. You can join a homemade dinner and order breakfast (not for free, but cheap). Tom even provided vegan food for us. The hostel is a good place to meet other travelers (during our stay mainly Americans). When we arrived at the airport shuttle bus station, we easily found a cab bringing us to the hostel. However, when we came back from Shangri-La no cab at the bus station wanted to drive us. Instead, a private driver wanted to bring us for 30 yuan. We did not want to support this scurill arrangement and decided to walk, which took a bit more than one hour.
To respond on the other reviews: Yes, the hostel is located outside of the oldtown on a steep hill, but this is stated in the hostelworld description and Tom wrote us an email with the Chinese adress and directions after booking. We also did not get a key to our room, but the door to the hostel was closed and Tom slept at the common room next to the entrance. Therefore, it looked safe to me.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 96Ika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2017

- Location: you need to walk more than 15 min from old city area. It's a good road, but it might be a little dark after sun goes down.
- Price: very cheap
- Atmosphere: very cozy and nice..
- Food: you can have good meal if the owner has time.
- Others: There are some dogs there and they are very very cute..

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoo1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2017

My friends and I were really disappointed with the owner because :
1. He is very rude and call us stupid!
2. He is always yelling and screaming around to people
3. If you want hot water in the morning he will make noise because we disturb him sleeping as the hot water is in his room
4. Bad breakfast only plain boiled eggs and plain bread
5. His dogs are constantly around and barks at people
6. He did not let you use the washing machine yourself and will supervise you from beginning until end. He also claimed that there are dryer but actually you are only allowed for line drying. This is a problem as he only told us after we had already washed our clothes. We have to carry the wet laundry to our next hotel!
7. He did not let you eat on the roof top but when we eat at ground floor the dogs came sniffing our food.
8. He did not know how to address people politely and keep on screaming to us like we were school kids.
Overall, we only stayed for 2 days and spent a lot of time out and try to avoid him as he was always screaming and rude. We enjoyed Lijiang Town but we have a real nightmare staying there. For info, we are Malaysians age 30-45 (we are not kids anymore), 4 of us are polite ladies and we are construction engineers in profession. We really advise Malaysians especially Muslims to avoid staying here.

To the owner, Tom, behave or you will one day meet someone who will stand up to your attitude.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 761esmeea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews