We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with good views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Treasure Harbour International Hotel
Ranked #109 of 928 Hotels in Lijiang
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with good views”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Loved the view of the hotel room, with Jade Dragon mountain in the background, and trees and flowers in the near. There was a raining day during my stay, and you can just hear the beautiful drippings of the rainfall. The meeting facilities are pretty good as well. The two things I was not happy are 1. No ATM machine on-site. Finding an ATM in the old town is not easy and I rather get money ready in the hotel; 2. TV in the guest room is still the old CRT type. Giving TV is so inexpensive these days, the hotel certainly should think of upgrading.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GGLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    68
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
11
2
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
675 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,862 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Just a $1.00 taxi ride from Shuhe Ancient Town, and about $1.50 to Lijiang Ancient Town, Treasure Harbour International Hotel is a true 5-star Chinese hotel, a real treat. The hotel is beautifully decorated, with waterfalls filling the two-floor lobby, spotlessly clean throughout - both in the rooms and throughout the hotel, and with an exceptional staff who, though having little or no English, are eager to please, and really bend over backward to make your stay a great one.

ROOMS - We booked an Executive Room, which was very large, featuring a large desk, mini-bar with fridge, bathtub, tropical rain shower, and cable TV with several English channels including HBO. It had a balcony overlooking the wetlands with mountains behind, and was very nicely decorated. The bathroom is beautiful, but enclosed in clear glass, so if you are not an exhibitionist, you will probably feel uncomfortable. Everything is in clear view, shower and toilet. No worries, though, you can just ask the staff for a curtain to put over the glass for privacy. The bed is very hard, as is typical for Chinese hotels, so keep that in mind if you have a bad back, but the linens were nice. Hair dryer in the room, iron and ironing board available, laptop sized safe. They brought us fresh flowers and fresh fruit for our room, a very nice touch. We booked through CTRIP and paid about $100.00 for the executive room, breakfast, and airport transfer.

LOCATION - It is just a short taxi ride to anywhere in the area, and taxis are so cheap - we didn't feel at all bummed that we weren't staying in the Old Town. It was only a few minutes away and taxis are always readily available. Nothing is really within walking distance of the hotel, but no need to walk anyway when taxis are so cheap. Shuhe Ancient Town was about 3 minutes away, maybe 5 minutes to Lijiang Ancient Town.

BUSINESS - Free broadband (wired) internet in the room, computers in the lobby, wi-fi in the lobby. Speeds were pretty good. Large desk in the executive room, plenty big enough for 2 computers. Large conference rooms and business center, seems a great place for a conference or for business travelers.

SERVICES - Laundry service is available - they give you up to 50 RMB free, but that only lasts you through about 2 shirts. Then it is really expensive after that. A full load would run you about $60.00. Room service is available. Breakfast buffet was decent, featuring both Chinese and Western food with an egg station. Western restaurant was just ok, didn't try the Chinese Restaurant though it looked nice. Travel agent is available, but nearly no English is spoken here, so you will have difficulty finding information about the town or booking any tours - plan in advance before arriving for the best experience. Free Airport Transfer is provided one-way with your room booking - the transfer was in a comfortable mini-van, and the driver was right on time. The usual services like free shoe shine are available as well.

STAFF - We enjoyed the staff so much. They speak almost no English, but they are all so nice and friendly, always smiling, really going out of their way to provide you with everything you need. Just have patience when you need to explain something or ask about something - use visual aids and body language, and you'll be fine. We were never not able to communicate what we needed, and they were always patient with us, and tried very hard to help us have a nice experience. There is English information in the rooms, and English menus at the restaurants, so it's easy to point to what you need.

They are building what looks like a giant fountain out front of the hotel, looks like it will be really nice when finished.

We would definitely stay at Treasure Harbour again on our next trip to Lijiang.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johann&Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tang Xia China
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2008

This is a large hotel on the outskirts of Lijiang. That said its only a 9-10RMB taxi ride to the old town, which is where most people will head. The view from the breakfast room, is incredible, as on a clear day you can see Jade Dragon Snow mountain in all its majestic beauty. We had a bit of trouble when we checked in, through no fault of the hotel, ( our travel agent had submitted the wrong names) but communicating in English was a bit of a problem, and in general if its the basics you want to ask, you will have no problem, once it gets beyond basic questions, you had better have some patience. One of the main problems is trying to get information at the hotel, on about what to do in the area, or how to go about doing it. We spent quite a lot of time doing the things the hard way, because of this, but intend to write a review on the location to help people organise their trips a little easier. Back to the hotel, it has nice size rooms, hard beds (as they tend to be in China), good showers, baths and a small desk with FREE internet connection in each room. The swimming pool was too cold to swim in, in December, the gym looked well equiped and they had a snooker room too. The Breakfast was okay, although after five days, we were getting tired of the same choice. We ate in the hotel twice, once using the Buffet, which is about 100RMB per head, and the choice was pretty good, albeit on the day in question we were the only ones eating in the restaurant and the food appeared to have been hanging around a little too long. (A convention a few days later changed all that as the breakfast and buffets were jammed solid at certain times). We also ate in the Chinese Restaurant, once again, the only ones present, but the food was very good. The best bet, is to limit your eating at the hotel, and get into Town, for a bigger choice and cheaper too. We had a good find eating at Bon Apetitos, which serves excellent Italian and Chinese Food, the chef, having spent six years working in an Italian Restaurant. The Hostess Maggie, is a star too, and can help you with your trip, as she speaks great English. Weather wise we were very lucky, brilliant sunny days and a clear blue sky. Things not to miss include Leaping Tiger Gorge, Jade Dragaon Snow Mountain and the Impressions show in the park around the the mountain, please note you have to pay an 80RMB entrance fee to the park, and every visitor has to pay 80RMB to help towards preserving the Lijiang Old Town which we paid upon check in at the hotel, and you will be asked to produce the receipt from time to time, so keep it with you. The Impression show is from the same director as the one who produced the opening ceremony of the Beijing Olympics, show times at 10.00 and 1.30, last about 90 minutes and costs 190RMB for a normal ticket and 260RMB for VIP ticket, its money well spent, great show in a brilliant location. I was fairly happy athe hotel, but could not help feel, for the amount of time we spent in our rooms, finding a cheaper hotel, might have been money better spent.

  • Liked — The view from the breakfast room, and large rooms.
  • Disliked — Lack of information on how to go about doing some of the local sites.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AdrianinChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2008

We loved the hotel and location. The hotel is decorated beautifully, is quite large, has a great view and is well located outside of the city hustle and bustle. The staff were friendly and helpful although they struggled with English. They really tried hard to please. The assistant manager went so far as to go with a taxi to pick us up at Jade Water Village (about 30 mins away) when we called and asked them to send a cab.

  • Liked — It was quiet, spacious and beautiful.
  • Disliked — Except for a good breakfast the food was mediocre and expensive.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank havetwinswilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2008

We stayed here based on the other reviews of this website and were not disappointed. We moved from another hotel in the old town of Lijiang which was very noisy, and the calm serenity of this hotel was wonderful. The rooms are large and well designed, with a glass walled bathroom.

The (complimentary) dinner and breakfast were both very good by Chinese hotel standards, and nearly up to International hotel standards.

Most impressive, however, was the service. The (complimentary) laundry service was great, and they even arranged for cleaned clothes to be hanging neatly in our new room when we returned to the hotel after two days of travelling to a different city.

  • Liked — Room design
  • Disliked — A little out of town, so you need a taxi to get anywhere
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dklondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2008

This is a wonderful new hotel with very nice and up to date rooms. Breakfast buffet was very good. Comfortable and western style beds.

Only negative is distance to old section of town. Cabs are easy to get and cheap, so that is not a big issue.

  • Liked — Room Size and Design
  • Disliked — Not being able to walk to old town
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Speedicutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2008

I have heard that Lijiang has several good hotel,but by my experience i love this hotel.be WoWed by its bathroom facilities. and the view from my room is really fantastic we wake up to grandeur of the Jade Dragon Snow Mountain from our balcony. this hotel has a beautiful lobby with waterfall cascading while you check in. The only minor problem is its a long walk to your rooms. but its worth it. room are clean and warm. its location is secluded area so you need to hire a car or taxi to get around.
Lijiang is truly a fantastic place with very nice people.we really enjoyed our stay and our tour. the breakfast buffet is fair. i have seen better display and food choices in other hotel in China. but its egg and noodles cart is great!

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niceguy-888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
1.0 mi away
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
#2 of 928 in Lijiang
247 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lijiang
Hilton Garden Inn Lijiang
#15 of 928 in Lijiang
88 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Lijiang Ancient Town
1.8 mi away
Arro Khampa Lijiang by Zinc Journey
2.0 mi away
The Bivou
The Bivou
#1 of 928 in Lijiang
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treasure Harbour International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treasure Harbour International Hotel

Property: Treasure Harbour International Hotel
Address: Shangri-la Avenue, Lijiang 674100, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Lijiang
#48 Best Value Hotel in Lijiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Treasure Harbour International Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 435
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Treasure Harbour International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treasure Harbour International Lijiang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing