We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveler rating
55
138
31
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
55
138
31
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south gate old city les petites picturesque hotel the hotel's restaurant chinese building traditional hotel first floor our room was spacious narrow streets no cars allowed reception staff yunnan province your luggage stayed two nights chinese style wangfu
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 233 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2019

My wife and I visited Lijiang the first week of April and decided to stay within the old town to capture the ethos and flavor of this beautiful and culturally rich area. We weren't disappointed. While the facilities were comfortable and well-located - the value add was the staff. One in particular was hotel Manager 'Ray.' As newbies to this area, Ray was instrumental in helping us shape an amazing visit to nearby attractions including Shuhe ancient town, the Mu residence, and his suggested Blue Moon Gorge. While Ray's suggestions were spot-on - he went beyond expectations and personally search for the most cost-beneficial option of traveling between sites.

An added bonus was the beautiful restaurant next door as well as the front patio for a nice coffee and people watching!

Perhaps the term that best describes our stay there would be 'family.' We certainly felt valued and warmly welcomed.

Room tip: Not really certain but we stayed in the annex which was a bit away from the entrance.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odyssey809873, 销售总监 at Palace Hotel (Wang Fu Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2019

we would like to thank you for choosing us. Gladly you enjoyed your stay in Lijiang.we 're looking forward to serve you. all the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018

On the edge of the Lijiang pedestrian area but good easy access to all there is to experience in busy Lijiang. Good food and friendly staff, lack of English on reception no longer a problem with translation apps.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odyssey809873, 销售负责人 at Palace Hotel (Wang Fu Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2018

Hello, dear Guest. Thank you for your comment. The hotel is located in the South Gate of the ancient city. The location is convenient. The restaurant of the hotel also has authentic Yunnan food. Each of our staff is working hard to learn English, hoping to provide better service to the customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

Located in the south part of the old city, 16 min by foot to the north gate of the old town, a very pleasant and central hotel with amazing large rooms and beds.
They will bring/take out your luggage to the parking lot nearby the South Gate, very convenient.
Good breakfast, big bathrooms but with no door in between, just a curtain.
Many places to relax on the different floors and a beautiful inner court.
Everything was spotless clean, but take into consideration that almost no one speaks english. You will need a VPN access to Google Translate to communicate with the staff on a daily basis. They have 10%discount at the good French-Chinese restaurant annexed, Les Petits Ecurieres.
For us, a place to return to.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Haihui_ShP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odyssey809873, 销售部负责人 at Palace Hotel (Wang Fu Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2018
Google Translation

亲爱的朋友,您好,感谢您给我们的评价,酒店在古城内,坐落于南门广场,酒店到路边大概5分钟的路程,有行李生可以协助运送行李确实很方便,我们竭尽所能为客人提供更多便利的服务,我们也感谢您的意见,会重视酒店服人员的英语水平,努力学习英语,便于为客人提供更多更好的服务

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

This is an old traditional Chinese design hotel with very interesting characteristics, such a courtyards where you can relax. Both the dinner and breakfast restaurants were pleasant and the food good. A great place to explore. Staff were friendly and helpful.it is situated on a square in the old town with plenty of trinket shops, eateries and bars nearby.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank B8436SPjohng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
王府饭店2016, 销售总监 at Palace Hotel (Wang Fu Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Hello, my dear friends, thank you for your comments. The hotel has many courtyards of different sizes. There are many rest chairs in the sea area. You can enjoy the soft time of Lijiang by resting in the courtyard lounge chair. The restaurant is a creative restaurant for Yunnan cuisine. The dishes are very popular with the guests. The Palace Hotel is located in South Gate Square of the ancient city of Lijiang. Convenient facilities and complete surrounding facilities are the first choice for you to visit Lijiang. Welcome to come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2018

When we arrived at the Wang Fu hotel we were stunned that we were staying in the center of the old town and in a traditional hotel as well. Sorry to say the rooms are terrible, small rooms, poor lighting, grey laminate floors poorly installed, terrible pillows, shower over bath, electrical wires exposed, lamps not working and limited breakfast for westeners. Would you believe this place is only 10 years old!
On the good side the food at the hotel restaurant was fantastic! I would be looking at others in the area first.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cornelius M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
王府饭店2016, 销售总监 at Palace Hotel (Wang Fu Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2018

Dear friends, Hello, thank you for your comments on the hotel, I am sorry to bring you a bad experience, we will improve, thank you for the questions you put forward, I wish you a happy trip to China!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews