We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveler rating
55
138
31
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
55
138
31
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south gate old city les petites picturesque hotel the hotel's restaurant chinese building traditional hotel first floor our room was spacious narrow streets no cars allowed reception staff yunnan province your luggage stayed two nights chinese style wangfu
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 233 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2016

Location is perfect to visit this town.
Hotel has character and is nicely decorated.
Rooms are average and bathroom is quite small.
Mattress was rock hard, very uncomfortable !
Sink in bathroom leaked a lot of wastewater on the floor and shower had not enough water pressure which we solved by removing the sprinkler heat from the waterhose !
Position of toilet-paper hanger was very strange, see photo.
Breakfast was very poor, even when we came rather early, many items were already out of supply.
Supper was OK.
Big disappointment was that there were 4 people behind the desk at reception but non of them understood English. Was only asking for toilet paper !
An other Chinese guest translated my question for me. Supposed to be a 4* rated hotel ?
We did not used the safe box in the room because...it was just standing loose in de wardrobe !
Free wifi available.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eMBieAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple P, Manager at Palace Hotel (Wang Fu Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2016

Dear Sir / Madam,
Thank you for your review.
We're sorry you didn't have a very good experience in our hotel.
We are working on improving the room at the moment, and you must have been in a room that hadn't been fixed yet. We apologize, and will make sure all the rooms are in perfect condition.

I have informed the housekeeping department and they will look into getting softer mattresses.
We will fix the bathroom problems, and make sure to top up the breakfast more efficiently.

We have been teaching the staff English on a weekly basic, and their level is improving, but we still have a lot of work to do.

We sincerely apologize for not giving you a perfect experience, and if you do make it to Lijiang, please contact us in advance and we will make sure you are well treated. Our email address is maplepalacehotel@hotmail.com.

Best regards,
Sebastien Genier
Customer Satisfaction Manager
Lijiang Wangfu Palace Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2016

This hotel fits beautifully into the Old Town, very atmospheric old style building.The courtyard was a nice place to relax in the evenings.
The service was the best we had outside the big cities; the staff spoke some English and it was very helpful. In addition there is a Franco-Canadian manager who is extremely helpful and friendly and seems to be everywhere when you need him.
The rooms could use some TLC but not bad. Due to its old style the rooms are not soundproff but was not bad.
It has a great location in the Old Town, close to the South Gate, close to a lots of restaurants.
The breakfast buffet was excellent, especially enjoyable while sitting on the terrace.
The Wi Fi worked great.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PalmBeach9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
王府饭店2016, 经理 at Palace Hotel (Wang Fu Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2016

Dear Sir / Madam,
Our location in the south of the Old Town is a quiet and beautiful place, we are glad you enjoyed your time at Wangfu Hotel!
We have been training our staff to improve their customer skills, and you enjoying the service must mean we're doing something good!
We are working on improving the room at the moment, and will do some changes very soon to update the rooms!
We're glad you enjoyed the breakfast and the terrace, and hope to see you again!
Thank you for your review!

Best Regards,
Sebastien Genier
Customer Satisfaction Manager
Lijiang Wangfu Palace Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2016

This hotel in the old city is very attractive. You can get free tea and snacks until late at night. Like all old-style hotels it is not disabled-friendly (no lifts, and even if youare on the ground floor, breakfast is upstairs, and you can sit outside and enjoy the view while eating), the wi-fi was intermittent and there was no safe in the room.

Room tip: Downstairs rooms can be rather cold.
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple P, Manager at Palace Hotel (Wang Fu Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2016

Hello Paul,

Thanks very much for your review and comments.
We are glad you enjoyed our afternoon tea!

The Palace hotel is located in the old town of Lijiang in an ancient Mu style residence made of wood. We want to preserve the traditional look and a lift wouldn’t fit well. Upon Client request we offer breakfast in the courtyard. If you make it to Lijiang again, let us know in advance and we’ll organize a breakfast for you on the ground floor.

The Palace hotel has many courtyard and the Wifi system is different depending on where you are. If you change location, you have to change Wifi network. We apologize for not letting you know more about how the Wifi worked.

Most of our rooms have a safe, but a few rooms don’t, next time you come, you can request a room with a safe.

Thanks very much for your review, we hope we can better serve you next time. Our email address is maplepalacehotel@hotmail.com, next time you come to Lijiang, send us an email and we will make sure to have everything ready for you.

If you have any additional suggestions and comment, feel free to email us.
Best regards,
Sebastien Genier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2016

Since our last visit, four years ago, this hotel seems to have had no work done on it. As a consequence, while the public areas seem fine, the rooms are tired and in desperate need of updating. In our room some of the lights didn't work and the power sockets along one wall were all out of use. While we could get around this a far more serious problem was the lack of any running water (throughout the hotel) the following morning. Complaints to reception resulted in them issuing a couple of (small) bottles of water, but they gave no impression that this was a problem receiving urgent attention.

I still like the hotel - the location is good, and the breakfast is copious - but am glad we only had one night of it. If I visit again I am unlikely to stay here.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AlKronos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple P, Manager at Palace Hotel (Wang Fu Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2016

Hi AlKronos,

Thanks very much for your review and input. Thanks for choosing us again this time. We apologize for the bad experience. We are working on updating the rooms this year courtyard by courtyard. We should have not put you in that room. My sincere apology again. The entire ancient city of Lijiang was extremely dry this few months, we received very short notice from the government when the water supply stopped for the area that morning. We tried our best to ensure water supply for guests, so had to provide water that way. I hope you can understand us. We reviewed the water issue after the event and would have better communications with government and be more prepared. Please let me know when you come to Lijiang again. I will personally receive you. My email address is: maplepalacehotel@hotmail.com. We are grateful for a long-term guest like you. Thanks again. We will review all the issues and make the place better and better. If you have any additional suggestions and comment, feel free to email me.

Best regards,

Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2016

This has to be the quaintest hotel I have ever stayed in. When I turned on the light I was confronted with a HUGE kingsize bed, which had pink lights underneath it which stayed on all night. Obviously a place for honeymooners or !!!!!!!. The shower was located in the corner of the room and was very good, plenty of hot water, and for the benefit of "lovers" was not enclosed. The breakfast was very good, but the room was cold and there was no heating available, again maybee on purpose to encourage "cuddling" to keep warm.It was located within the old town, so walking was easy since there was no traffic allowed. Recommended for its kinky huge bedrooms and bed.

Room tip: Ask for the "pink room"
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PerthTravelingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple P, General Manager at Palace Hotel (Wang Fu Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2016

Thanks very much for your review. Lijiang is a romantic city. We want to create an environment where people can get closer to their friends and family. Palace Hotel is well located in the North Gate Square of the ancient city. Lijiang gets cold at night. We provide movable heaters and extra blankets in the room when requested. We will better notify you next time. Our breakfast lasts till 11 am with an a la carte menu. We have free afternoon tea from 2 pm to 11 pm with coffee, tea, fruits, juice, and local desserts. On Friday night, we also organize Naxi Fire Dance party in front of our hotel from 7.30 pm. We hope you will choose to stay with us again next time coming to Lijiang. We have few different room types that can suit your need better.

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews