We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
Ranked #6 of 923 Hotels in Lijiang
Certificate of Excellence
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Peaceful stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We enjoyed Zen Garden all the more due to the tourist hoards just outside its doors. Zen Garden provided an excellent personalised service in a warm friendly manner. Be sure to arrange pick up or help getting here as Lijiang old town is a maze with not too many English speaking locals. ( taxi drivers etc.) The staff at Zen garden spoke English, arranged to get us "in and away" provided delightful breakfasts, good tea and above all were super friendly and genuinely accommodating.

Room Tip: Book in advance as we tried to rebook at short notice and the rooms were full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sticky d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    134
    12
    3
    8
See reviews for
86
165
42
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

My sister and I travelled to Lijiang this summer and the Zen Garden Hotel provided a beautiful stop on our otherwise rough adventure. In fact we loved the comfort, space and service so much, that we made sure to reserve a room on our return trip to Kunming. Delicious snacks and breakfast, very comfortable beds, and carefully selected decoration, made this a true oasis on our trip through the Yunnan. The front desk will make arrangements for your travel the next day, so be sure to ask. Almost no one at a bus or train station speaks english, and service is sometimes spotty, so it is very comforting to have travel arranged for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We traveled as a group of six celebrating my dad's birthday and decided to stay at Zen Garden Wuyi Yard after reading favorable reviews. We had arranged for hotel pickup from the airport so getting to the hotel was seamless. Navigating Old Town on arrival without guide would have been difficult. Zen Garden is very charming and homey. We loved the authentic experience. Our rooms were on the second floor - the views were amazing, breakfast was delicious and WiFi was functional.

What really stood out in my mind was the attentive service. The lady at the front desk had noticed that it was my dad's birthday the night we were in LiJiang. Upon returning to the hotel after dinner, they surprised us with a birthday cake. We travel extensively around the world and have stayed in countless 5 star hotels, but none rival the hospitality and warmth of Zen Garden.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SS20130719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The owner of this and Zen Garden Lion Hill is an amazing warm woman, ask to speak to or meet Yumei. She provides well-aged Yunnan tea and snacks in lobby and room, a Naxi tribeswoman waking you in the ancient stone courtyard with traditional harp music. Ask for the "Forbidden Kingdom" book about the area, at the desk. Ask her for touring recommendations and guide. The hotel is magnificent, with an ambience that is unbeatable. View of pagoda hilltops in distance, wooden veranda for relaxing, clean as a whistle. I have stayed there 3 times and will go back! Location ideal and the staff will help you with anything you need, with a huge smile. They will arrange pickup and delivery to airport. There is a gorgeous dining room with great breakfast including everything, all included in the price. You can hang out there, read, eat dinners as well. Email: zengardenhotel@gmail.com well in advance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyStein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We really enjoyed this hotel! Small, comfortable facility with no extra facilities but incredibly friendly service. Little extras like providing me tea or fruit juice when I spent some time in lobby in evening. Free internet and excellent breakfast with eggs cooked to order along with fruit and pastries, all very fresh. Rooms were basic and small but clean and comfortable. Bathroom was very clean and good shower. Location was terrific in midst of old town but quiet section so easy to explore a picturesque area and yet could sleep easily at night. The hospitality of the staff will remain a highlight.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwilkens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Entering the charming Zen Garden Hotel one is struck by the thought and care that went into the design and decor. The lobby, filled with authentic, antique Chinese furniture and objects, opens into a tranquil, perfectly landscaped Chinese courtyard, complete with koi pond. The beautifully appointed rooms open onto a balcony overlooking the courtyard, and from the upper floors they have a view of the rooftops of the Old Town, the pagoda on the hill and the surrounding mountains. Yu Mei, the proprietress a gracious hostess and has a well trained staff, who quietly anticipate your needs and desires. She has created a peaceful sanctuary in the heart of the noisy and bustling Old Town.

Room Tip: There are only 16 rooms. Try to get one upstairs with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Others have written about the really warm hospitality - we would fully endorse this, as well as what all the recent reviewers who also found it wonderful have said. A very peaceful atmosphere - yet you are within the old town which can get very noisy. A beautiful place in which to relax. A lovely selection of food at breakfast too!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dot w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
4.0 mi away
The Bivou
The Bivou
#1 of 923 in Lijiang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
3.8 mi away
Arro Khampa Lijiang by Zinc Journey
3.0 mi away
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
#2 of 923 in Lijiang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Baisha Holiday Resort Lijiang
3.4 mi away
The Bruce Chalet
The Bruce Chalet
#12 of 923 in Lijiang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)

Property: Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
Address: No.36 Xingren Alley, Wuyi Road, Dayan Town, Lijiang 674100, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lijiang
#4 Best Value Hotel in Lijiang
#5 Family Hotel in Lijiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard) 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ZENGARDENHOTELS LIJIANG Wuyi YardZengardenhotels Wuyi Yard in Lijiang China offers you two very beautiful Naxi-Style courtyard hotels, carefully originally designed as traditional timber construction and natural stone wall and pavements. All the rooms have a little balcony with seats which are orientated to the open green yard where you can enjoy the sunshine.The Zengardenhotels Wuyi Yard is very well situated in the center of the Old Town of Lijiang, next to the Si Fang square and the stone bridge. It is a little hidden gem with a wonderful view over the roofs of the Old Town Dayan to the Wang Gu Lou Pagoda on the Lion Hill. Especially in the night you have a very scenic view over the illuminated Old Town from the 2. level of Wuyi Yard.Entering the gate into the peaceful and relaxing teahouse of Zengardenhotels Wuyi Yard you are surrounded by lovely orchids, bonsai trees, Koi-fish-pond and cozy sunshine places. You can listen to the music from ancient Chinese Gujin instruments and sense the Chinese traditional atmosphere and culture while the bubble sound of the fishpond calm down the hectic rush of normal life. A very tasteful aesthetic atmosphere has been created from a collector of art and crafts who leads you into the fine art of ancient China with its skillful design works. Therefore the reception and the teahouse in Zengardenhotel Wuyi Yard are very well decorated with high class Chinese antiques furniture, vases, paintings and fine art wood carvings from the Ming and Qing Dynasty. You can drink the best blends of the famous and healthy PU-ER Tea while you can enjoy the privacy of the relaxing Zen Garden reading some books from the library or improve your calligraphy skills the owner can teach you how to use the brushes. Listening to the Chinese music you are also invited to burn some incense on our little private Buddhism altar. Everyone is welcome to enjoy the individual high class private atmosphere of our teahouse. If you like to book the complete house for your private company’s event we like to arrange all the things you need. The Zengardenhotel Wuyi Yard is a private owned Boutique Hotel with in total 16 rooms on two levels. We provide 14 x Standard Rooms and 2 x Special Rooms. • 14 x Deluxe Standard Double Rooms 20m2, with Twin beds 2.00 x1.0m luxury mattress (can be combined to one big bed), are comfortable and well equipped with modern toilet and separated shower, hair-dryer pp. sideboard with flat screen TV 24”, telephone international open line, ADSL Lan-cable, W-Lan.• 2 x Special Rooms 22m2, with Antique Chinese Wedding bed 2.00 x1.60m are comfortable and well equipped with modern toilet and separated shower, hair-dryer pp. sideboard with flat screen TV 24”, telephone international open line, ADSL Lan-cable, W-Lan.The Zengardenhotel Wuyi Yard offers a public business corner with two Desktop PC’s for surfing the web, free of charge. If you bring your own laptop or wifi mobile you can use our W-Lan for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zen Garden Lijiang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing