We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
Ranked #6 of 928 Hotels in Lijiang
Certificate of Excellence
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with good service”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed at this place for 3 nights in September. As others have written the courtyard at the hotel is very beautiful and lives up to its name. The location is excellent just 50m from one of the main pedestrian streets, but on a calm side street.

Room is clean and nice, with all you need - and has a very good and speedy wireless internet access (at least for being in China).

The staff is very helpful and attentive and can arrange practically everything - I used them for both trips and for getting to and out to the airport. As I checked out very early they prepared a breakfast bag that I could bring to airport.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiklasSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    137
    14
    3
    8
See reviews for
88
172
43
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This hotel does its best to provide an oasis of calm in the zooish touristy town of Lijiang (granted we were there during high season). The manager is a Naxi nationality gentleman with good advice on what to see and do, and sad recollections of Lijiang BEFORE its 'discovery'. He made me feel a little guilty at using the shower and we were warned not to flush paper as everything gets thrown into the canals...oh dear. Rooms were pretty, a little tight quarters but with nice local snacks offered, puer tea on arrival. On a plus side, the hotel has a Naxi lady come to play the zither in the morning during the tasty breakfast, and the staff's english is good. Lots of French tourists in this hotel, a tasteful and calm place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenJamilah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
135 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Great location - In the heart of the old town, but in a quiet side alley

Not a big hotel but nicely furnished lobby with antique local furniture. Quiet and well looked after patio where you can seat and relax in the late afternoon.

Very helpful staff. Clean rooms with contemporary bathroom which may seem funny in the old styled rooms.
Only drawback, all rooms are the same size and not very large. If you are 3 travellers, you will literally have no space left to open your suitcases.
These rooms are really designed for 2 people.

Also, they only serve breakfast (good quality) so you will need to go out for lunch and dinner.

Cars can not go into the old town so you will need to stop right out of it (just behind the police station) and if you have called the hotel, a 3 wheeled kart will meet you there and carry your luggage as it will lead the way.

Great tip : You can have your sport or hiking shoes cleaned for 20 yuan and they come back like new ! This is great service they outsource and which only takes 24 h.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffBHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed four nights at this boutique hotel. It is located very conveniently in a quiet part of Lijiang Old Town, a nice escape from the non stop buzz of the bars, restaurants and shops.

We stayed on the 2nd floor and enjoyed a very pretty view ( especially at night) from the balcony.

Service was great - staff were all friendly and helpful and the manager Charles, who is a native of Lijiang, offered some useful suggestions for tours and activities. 

Breakfast included a range of fruit, yogurt, porridge, toast, eggs, coffee and juice. Was simple and sufficient though a little boring after 4 days!  There was tea, biscuits and preserved fruit provided everyday from 4 pm as well. 

Rooms were clean but a little small. Beds were  little hard but that's usual for China. 

There was free Wifi which was stable, fast and accessible throughout the hotel. 

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StarPopsicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Extremely nice hotel in Lijiang, quiet and very well located in the old city. The staff is really great and there is a beautifull atmosphere in the hotel. You can have all day long tea and some sweets and the breakfast is really wonderfull!!!!!!! I wish I could have stayded longeur in this beautifull hotel. No complains!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacqueline237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

The view of this hotel was excellent. The courtyard was tastefully landscape however the antique rooms were a ripoff for the price that was paid. The antique beds were terribly uncomfortable and extremely narrow but worst of all taking a bath was sheer impossible as the shower rose as well as the rain shower was not working properly as there was more water leaking into the hose instead of out of the shower rose. Even after complaints and moving to another room it was still the same with the bathrooms. The least they could do is to ensure that all patrons can have a decent bath.

I definitely was most disappointed.

Room Tip: If you do need to stay in this hotel make sure that you do not book the antique suits unless are on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrissieOverseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
105 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Cozy (small) hotel and rooms.
Great view of Lijiang from the balcony.
Only one of us could be on the floor or bath at one time.
But we made it work and it worked well.
Beds, like many in this part of China, was very thin and hard.
We did our computer work on the deck and chairs outside the room.
Bathroom had the best shower of the trip.
No A/C but no need. We opened the window - no screens. Cool enough.
Staff communicate very well and were so helpful - went out of their way to assist.
Breakfast was OK. Staff always there to help and bring what one needed.
Our rating would be 4.5/5

Room Tip: Check out the rooms - we were on the 2nd floor with GREAT VIEWS!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicbrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
4.0 mi away
The Bivou
The Bivou
#1 of 928 in Lijiang
288 reviews
3.8 mi away
Arro Khampa Lijiang by Zinc Journey
3.0 mi away
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
#2 of 928 in Lijiang
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Baisha Holiday Resort Lijiang
3.0 mi away
Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Lijiang
Banyan Tree Lijiang
#5 of 928 in Lijiang
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)

Property: Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
Address: No.36 Xingren Alley, Wuyi Road, Dayan Town, Lijiang 674100, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lijiang
#4 Best Value Hotel in Lijiang
#5 Family Hotel in Lijiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard) 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ZENGARDENHOTELS LIJIANG Wuyi YardZengardenhotels Wuyi Yard in Lijiang China offers you two very beautiful Naxi-Style courtyard hotels, carefully originally designed as traditional timber construction and natural stone wall and pavements. All the rooms have a little balcony with seats which are orientated to the open green yard where you can enjoy the sunshine.The Zengardenhotels Wuyi Yard is very well situated in the center of the Old Town of Lijiang, next to the Si Fang square and the stone bridge. It is a little hidden gem with a wonderful view over the roofs of the Old Town Dayan to the Wang Gu Lou Pagoda on the Lion Hill. Especially in the night you have a very scenic view over the illuminated Old Town from the 2. level of Wuyi Yard.Entering the gate into the peaceful and relaxing teahouse of Zengardenhotels Wuyi Yard you are surrounded by lovely orchids, bonsai trees, Koi-fish-pond and cozy sunshine places. You can listen to the music from ancient Chinese Gujin instruments and sense the Chinese traditional atmosphere and culture while the bubble sound of the fishpond calm down the hectic rush of normal life. A very tasteful aesthetic atmosphere has been created from a collector of art and crafts who leads you into the fine art of ancient China with its skillful design works. Therefore the reception and the teahouse in Zengardenhotel Wuyi Yard are very well decorated with high class Chinese antiques furniture, vases, paintings and fine art wood carvings from the Ming and Qing Dynasty. You can drink the best blends of the famous and healthy PU-ER Tea while you can enjoy the privacy of the relaxing Zen Garden reading some books from the library or improve your calligraphy skills the owner can teach you how to use the brushes. Listening to the Chinese music you are also invited to burn some incense on our little private Buddhism altar. Everyone is welcome to enjoy the individual high class private atmosphere of our teahouse. If you like to book the complete house for your private company’s event we like to arrange all the things you need. The Zengardenhotel Wuyi Yard is a private owned Boutique Hotel with in total 16 rooms on two levels. We provide 14 x Standard Rooms and 2 x Special Rooms. • 14 x Deluxe Standard Double Rooms 20m2, with Twin beds 2.00 x1.0m luxury mattress (can be combined to one big bed), are comfortable and well equipped with modern toilet and separated shower, hair-dryer pp. sideboard with flat screen TV 24”, telephone international open line, ADSL Lan-cable, W-Lan.• 2 x Special Rooms 22m2, with Antique Chinese Wedding bed 2.00 x1.60m are comfortable and well equipped with modern toilet and separated shower, hair-dryer pp. sideboard with flat screen TV 24”, telephone international open line, ADSL Lan-cable, W-Lan.The Zengardenhotel Wuyi Yard offers a public business corner with two Desktop PC’s for surfing the web, free of charge. If you bring your own laptop or wifi mobile you can use our W-Lan for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zen Garden Lijiang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing