We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A decent hotel in a great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yin Xiang Gu Cheng Wen Yuan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yin Xiang Gu Cheng Wen Yuan
Ranked #201 of 921 Hotels in Lijiang
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
384 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“A decent hotel in a great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

This is a great place to base you in Lijiang. Far enough from the bustling center of the old town to have quiet, but close enough to walk there in no time. Rooms are OK and the food at the restaurant is too edulcorated for tourists, it's lost a bit of the real Chinese food character. Service is courteous and fairly efficient. There in one PC with internet connection, nothing in the rooms. I usually ate with my driver and the food was better! (At least for me, but I am an adventurous type when it comes to food.)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    22
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
10
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
69 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2009

We stayed two nights before hitting the trail along Tiger Leaping Gorge. It's got a great location in the old town. We were on the second floor but the construction of the building is pretty shoddy. You closed your door and the entire wall shook. Rooms were pretty small. All that being said, it was comfortable, clean and the staff were very nice and helpful And they all had a decent command English. You can't really get a cab into the old part of Lijiang so there are small vans that take your bags to the hotel. We only ate breakfast at the hotel and it was decent. Western and Chinese selection and certainly filling. There are a lot of guest houses in Lijiang so for locals or people living in China, that would be an option. For overseas travelers, it's not a bad choice.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barolobrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bheh1314
Level Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for 7 days as part of a 3 week holiday to China. This was our third trip to China and this hotel was the 3rd stop on this holiday.
The hotel looked lovely from the outside and exactly as the hotel website shows. We had booked the holiday in March 2008 and reserved a suite. When we arrived there had been a mix up and no suite was available until the following day.
We therefore stayed the first night in a standard room. The room was extremely small and dark and there was no where to put the suitcases. The bath plug didn't work so I couldn't have a soak in the bath.
The following day we were moved to suite. This was much better though again the bath plug wouldn't work even after the staff 'fixed' it.
The suite was on a small coutyard with a lovely pond. The suite was dark, the only way to get any natural light was to open the door. The bedroom window looked onto the service corridor. The key card, used to gain entry, kept refusing to work so we daily had to go to reception to have it reprogrammed.
The bed linen was spotless but the bedroom carpet was badly stained and the towels were threadbare.
The buffet breakfast was average but we often sat at tables where the table cloth was badly stained, not really 4 star quality.
The one thought that struck us was that this hotel is all show and no substance. Lovely corridors, courtyards but poor rooms.

  • Liked — Location in the old town
  • Disliked — Dark room, threadbare towels, no bath plug
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bheh1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2008

We stayed here for 5 nights. Our agent had warned us the standard rooms were small so we opted for a suite and it was well worth the extra. We were in a private courtyard (suites only) so very quiet. The rooms were clean reasonably modern - all lightwood mosaic on the walls. Only quibble was bath plug that didn't work and having to ask for extra towels each evening for the xt day. Breakfast was okay but sometimes very busy and had to share tables.

  • Liked — Location, setting - courtyard style hotel
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charmaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2008

Pleasant clean hotel with lovely grounds. Good location but expect to get lost as soon as you walk out of the compound. Has traditional Chinese style exterior but European rococco style decor in the rooms. Very good staff and breakfast selection. Avoid the rooms on the third floor which require 3 flights of steep stairs to walk up. The altitude will leave you puffed out even if you are fit or take it slowly going up. However there are great views from the balconies up there. Rooms can be noisy.

  • Liked — Great views
  • Disliked — Steep stairs
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vultureMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2008

The hotel is one of the largest inside the old town, and very conveniently located near one of the main streets, such that its very safe and interesting to walk around nearby even in the late evenings. Taxis aren't allowed into the old town but the hotel has a permit to drive a van inside the old town and can offer a lift if you have lugguages to carry. A 15 mins walk will still be required though before you can take a taxi or bus to visit anywhere outside the old town.

The hotel is quite stylish with a traditional Chinese courtyard. The rooms are very small though. The decorations and furnitures all look a bit old, but still reasonably clean and decent. The bathroom is also old but clean. The toilet stinks a bit though, and we suspect that the smell comes from outdated underground pipes.

The hotel was operated by a large wine brewer in China. It is one of the first hotel inside the old town, and many famous people including China and overseas politicians have stayed here before. Its a great hotel afterall, but it will probably be much better with a renovation. I'd have stayed at the Old City Bamboo Garden Hotel if it wasn't fully booked, as its conveniently located on Yuhe plaza, within 5 minutes walk to center of the old town while being accessible by car, and most importantly, it just got renovated in 2007 and thus looks much nicer and newer.

  • Liked — Location, location, and location
  • Disliked — Old and a bit run down
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DJY09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorrach, Germany
Level Contributor
239 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2008

The rooms are very very small, the bathes not very clean and the furniture is terrible in design and comfort an cleanliness. The hotel was visited from many celebrities but its time is over.
The location is great but there are other good hotels nearby with the same ambiance and a real 4* standard.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — the roomsize and furniture
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Soulskier76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
3.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
#1 of 921 in Lijiang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Bivou
The Bivou
#2 of 921 in Lijiang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
4.1 mi away
Banyan Tree Lijiang
Banyan Tree Lijiang
#5 of 921 in Lijiang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lvye An Jia
Lvye An Jia
#1 of 2,484 in Lijiang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yin Xiang Gu Cheng Wen Yuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yin Xiang Gu Cheng Wen Yuan

Property: Yin Xiang Gu Cheng Wen Yuan
Address: No.43 Xinyuan Alley, Guangyi Street, Dayan Town, Gucheng District, Lijiang 674100, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Lijiang
Hotel Class:4 star — Yin Xiang Gu Cheng Wen Yuan 4*
Also Known As:
Yin Xiang Gu Cheng Wen Yuan Hotel Lijiang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing