We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveler rating
361
57
5
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
361
57
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hwee ling homemade jams drawn maps hand drawn garden yard boutique hotel old town spanish omelette hot breakfast felt like home lovely boutique the general manager home away from home family suite tiger leaping gorge little things shuhe town
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 424 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2019

Booked the Bivou based on your high rating and their very well designed web site. Bivou turned out to be everything it claimed and more.The moment we booked the hotel, Bivou immediately sent a very detailed and useful list of information of what to expect or bring for our maiden trip to Lijiang. Thereafter, their responses to our queries were prompt and friendly. When we actually arrived at the hotel main lounge, it felt like we stepped into a friend's home rather a hotel reception. Check in was done while being served tea and cakes without the usual dry and protracted form filling. In truth, the public areas like the gardens, patios and dining area are nicer than the room itself, but they have made sure the rooms are well equipped with all your need. However is the little things like the hand drawn maps, handmade lip balms and warm and friendly staff that made Bivou such an amazing place. A special thanks to Hui Ling and her amazing team for a wonderful stay. Great job, ladies.

Date of stay: May 2019
Thank Mei W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBivou, General Manager at The Bivou, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2019

Dear Mei W

We are so happy to know that you had chosen us, out of literally thousands of choices in the Lijiang market, based on our rating on TripAdvisor and we have not disappointed you! Yes, as avid travelers ourselves, we know the expectations as well as the inevitable sense of apprehension that one has while looking forward to a trip to a new and foreign place such as rural China. While making sure that our rooms and front-desk are equipped with (almost) everything one needs for a trip, we still want to make sure that preparations on your side are adequate, whether mentally or physically. We are glad to know that you found these useful.

And of course, even as you arrive, we do feel like our friends have finally made their way to our hotel (especially if we have already corresponded with you over a long period of time prior to the trip). While the check-in and proper registration do have to be done, we aspire to make it as pain-free as possible.

Thank you for the kind words about our team. We are glad that we have had a chance to host you on your trip and we do hope you will find time to visit us again in beautiful Lijiang in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2019

My husband and I stayed here for one night in April - what a lovely find! This little hotel is located in a really nice area, in the middle of the beautiful little town, but in its own little green oasis, with its own little kitchen garden at the back. We arrived mid afternoon and borrowed some bikes to cycle to the old town, which I'd highly recommend. On arrival, the lovely staff welcomed us with amazing organic cakes and tea, and our room was lovely, clean and comfortable. Loved the fact we got a little goody bag, and most importantly, that these guys are doing their bit to make sure they are sustainable and reducing their impact by offering their own filtered water and organic toiletries in their own dispenser ( bamboo toothbrushes next time?!) We decided to have dinner in their restaurant and were not disappointed, the food was stunning and the service was next to none! I was also able to use use their yoga room with mountain views in the morning which was a big bonus for me. Thanks for a wonderful stay, we'll be back!

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBivou, General Manager at The Bivou, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019

Dear amy b

Thank you for taking the trouble to leave us a strong endorsement and for staying at our hotel! Yes, we can’t agree more! The Bivou enjoys a great location in terms of accessibility and also tranquility and beauty. Just a stone’s throw away is the town’s main spring which supplies all of Shuhe’s water, the communal vegetable farm where we get some of our seasonal greens, the historic and bustling village square and 700-year-old stone bridge, the start of beautiful walking trails towards the mountain and alpine forests, local temples and more. Just like the biking trail to 1200-year-old Baisha Old town, there are many more DIY and guided adventures our team will be happy to recommend to our guests when you are here.

We are glad that you share our values! We have always believed that in the beautiful and unique UNESCO ancient town of Shuhe where we are located, we want to play our part in protecting our fragile local ecosystem, not just in terms of avoiding the creation of unnecessary waste in the form of plastic bottles or food waste, but also in sourcing for and using local ingredients and materials in our restaurant, operations etc as much as possible. We are glad that you noticed that we provided local moisturizers and honey in your little goody bag! We will definitely be looking at bamboo toothbrushes and even bamboo fibre towels next! Keep the suggestions coming!

We are glad to know you are already thinking of coming back. We are certainly looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2019 via mobile

What an absolutely fantastic find. I couldn’t be more happy with every aspect of my stay at the hotel. All of the staff, from front desk to management were friendly, extremely helpful (and also with a unplanned itinerary with suggestions of things to do) - and I enjoyed every minute of my stay. In fact, I plan to go back in a few day’s for another stay because I enjoyed it so much!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank joeb_luxurytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBivou, General Manager at The Bivou, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2019

Dear joeb_luxurytravel

Thank you for this resounding affirmation! It was great having you in our hotel and our staff (and I’m sure even the other guests) certainly enjoyed the many fun and spontaneous interactions with you! You certainly inspired them and us with your ideas and sharing your many adventures.

Your idea for an (almost entirely) unplanned holiday was awesome! Sometimes, us travellers certainly need less planning and more spontaneity on our holidays! And of course that only works if trips and adventures are backed up with knowledgeable advice, great suggestions and deep understanding by the hotel of who we are and what we may enjoy doing. After all, who wouldn’t want a holiday that is just that, non-chaotic but still allowing ample room for spontaneous moments and memorable chance encounters.

Lastly, thank you so so much for being so patient with us despite our imperfections. We have certainly been blessed by your visit and we hope you will make time to come back to visit us again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2019

I enjoyed my three night stay at the Bivou in the ancient village of Shuhe, not far from the old town of Lijiang. No cars are allowed in Shuhe, however the car park where you are dropped off is quite close to the hotel and their staff will meet you to handle your luggage. I first had been assigned a room in an annex, but upon request reassigned a ground floor room off the garden courtyard near reception and the main common area. Considering the rainy day, I was quite pleased with their accommodating this request. The room was spacious, modern, good WiFi, comfortable bed, great shower with good water pressure and hot water (not always a given), and TV (though never used). My only issue was room security. While the hasp lock on the exterior of the sliding glass door entry worked fine, the actual defective glass door lock was a bit tricky to lock from the inside. A front desk person came to help, so it was acceptable for my stay, but hopefully a repair will be made in the future. The breakfast buffet had good choices, and also the option of a hot breakfast meal made to order. This hot meal changed daily; scrambled eggs one day, pancakes another. I had prearranged with my tour company activities for my time in the area, but always looked forward to returning to the Bivou for my late lunch or early dinner. Menu items are varied and I always found them delicious. Also, I enjoyed watching the activity in the community garden just outside the glass enclosed restaurant of the Bivou. This is definitely a relaxing place to stay while exploring the area.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ready2travel06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBivou, General Manager at The Bivou, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2019

Dear ready2travel06

Thank you for leaving us this kind review and also for the important feedback! We are glad that you were generally satisfied with the room amenities as well as the service provided by our staff.

We have looked quickly into the problem with the tricky glass door lock of your room. Indeed, due to the sudden seasonal change, the wooden frame of the glass door had gone off alignment. A repairman was brought in the following day and we have set the door frame back into position. However, to avoid this happening again in the future, we will be replacing the lock with a more straightforward and “secure” one within the week.

We are glad that you enjoyed the F&B options available at The Bivou Cafe. Even though our main aim when we started our cafe was to ensure that our in-house guests are well fed, whether for breakfast before they head out for their day’s programmes, or when they are back at the end of a day of adventure to enjoy our free cakes and tea, Happy Hour beers and cocktails, Farmhouse Dinner; or our a la carte menu of comfort Western dishes and local and Chinese dishes; we would like to think that our menu and cafe offerings are able to showcase the exciting and rich variety of seasonal, fresh and regional ingredients of this area, whether these are hams, cheeses, noodles, rice, mushrooms and more; carefully prepared using traditional cooking techniques to ensure nutritious, safe and tasty meals that can suit all palates.

Thank you for your stay and we hope you will have opportunity to come by this part of the world again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2019 via mobile

The bivou was our home away from home for a few nights while in Lijiang. We had booked 3 rooms for our group. Each room had its own character. Tastefully designed, spacious and very comfortable. The staff are great - always smiling and ready to help always especially cici and Charlo. They arranged a free airport transfer for us which was great. We booked trips with the bivou too. The guide that we were assigned was very knowledgeable of the history of that reaction as well as the flora... medicinal herbs etc. kudos to all of you and keep it up

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank neelmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBivou, General Manager at The Bivou, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2019

Dear neelmas

It is so great to receive this strong endorsement from your group! It means so much to everyone in our hotel. Our front desk staff CC and Charlo are grateful that they have been specially mentioned and would like me to communicate their separate thanks to you for the encouragement. From our very first interactions with your group almost a year ago, we could tell that this family trip was going to be a very important one, which had to be carefully planned, communicated and executed from the start to the end. This is especially so since the whole group was going to be flying from literally the other end of the globe.

As always, when we are entrusted with such an important responsibility, including planning the rooms, trips and meals to cater to a myriad group, keeping the communication going is critical, to ensure we clearly understand the needs and preferences of everyone. We are delighted to know that you feel that the trip has gone well and that our guide was able to share his extensive knowledge of the history, culture and nature of this area with your group.

Happy guests are our greatest encouragement. Thank you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews