We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travels in Lijiang”

Hiking with Lijiang Guides - Private Tours
Ranked #1 of 22 Tours in Lijiang
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lijiang Guides offers professional, personal tailor-made guiding services in Yunnan province, to non-touristy areas. Based in the ancient town of Lijiang, the small tour company and travel agency is the leading eco-tourism and cultural tourism operation in Yunnan, with more than 16 years' experience in the region. Lijiang Guides offers a unique range of journey and trips, exploring the diversity of Yunnan, and taking you to authentic places where you can have meaningful interaction with the REAL China. Lijiang Guides can take you to off-the-beaten-track places, where you can meet some of the local minorities - Naxi, Yi, Tibetan, Bai, Pumi, Mosuo, Hui - and also experience the wonders of nature in Yunnan. Lijiang Guides specialises in day hikes, gourmet tours, photography and writing trips, visiting markets and monasteries - away from the tourist crowds. With experience in the area since 1996, and a staff of English-speaking guides, Lijiang Guides offers guiding services as well as flight/hotel/transport bookings across south-west China. And from 2011, Lijiang Guides can book all your travel arrangements from your home country to China.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Travels in Lijiang”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our experience was wonderful. We met our guide,Keith, from New Zealand and it was a pleasure having someone speak the King"s language! He is very knowledgeable about the area having lived there for years.
Lijiang was our favorite city for the sights, hotel(Pullman), native show (outside the city) and hiking near Jade Dragon Snow Mt.
The altitude is high so it takes a bit of getting used to.
The market in old Lijiang is a lot of fun. Lots to see and eat. Try the Naxi tea with yak butter and marijuana seeds for a treat.
Keith was extremely helpful translating. I found a wood carving I couldn't live without and he was instrumental in helping me commission a piece.
I would highly recommend Keith Lyons and associates if you want a great experience in Lijiang.

Visited April 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
5 Thank steve1146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    26
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
victoria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Four Best Days in China”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were extremely impressed by our pre-trip communication with Keith. Keith developed an itinerary for our four days in Ligiang/Dali that exactly met our needs and temperament. He was extremely sensitive to our concern about heights and put together four activity filled days that suited us perfectly. We hiked, we biked, we walked. All arrangements involving vehicles and bike rentals unfolded without a hitch. Keith and fellow guide Illian have an encyclopedic knowledge of the area and are both gifted story tellers. We were most impressed by their sensitivity toward and knowledge of local minority groups, their ability to speak Chinese, and their friendly connections with the locals. Our days with Keith made our trip.

Visited May 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
6 Thank Charlie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Keith's your go-to person in Lijiang!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Know this...,EVERYONE in Lijiang knows Keith, so you are well-received wherever you go.

We had a tall order for him and he managed to fill it and exceed expectations. We had one day to spend doing some serious hiking in Tiger Leaping Gorge, wanting to get some rigorous exercise and to experience the majesty of the landscape. We drove out to the gorge, stopping at some key sights along the way, and then spent several hours hiking up the side of the mountain to Yong Shen village and also part of the Tiger Leaping Gorge upper trail. If we had more time, I would have engaged him to go with us to Baisha and Shuhe.

His pre-trip communication is excellent. His knowledge of Naxi culture is wonderful and put this area in context for us compared to other parts of China. His discussion of the recent economic development in the Lijiang area is fascinating. Definitely a highlight of our trip!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank HikingGirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Our best time in China”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Keith and his team of guides and drivers at Lijiang Guides are really good at what they do and meeting your expectations.
Lots of communication before the trip to prepare us and develop an itinerary for our interests and the needs of all our family. From the start, we felt in good hands.
The guides we used on the trip very good, knowledgable and caring - Sana and Wu in Lijiang, Jing in Shangrila.
Everyone worked hard to provide us with memorable time, and they had the flexibility and positive attitude which we liked.
Also, should mention that the meal in Keith's old courtyard house is a wonderful experience, with a meal cooked by Apple of local delights, and a chance to meet other travelers. Actually it was so good we came back for another meal.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank karen_butler69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robina, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Keith Lyon's the one!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Not cheap but worth every penny.
Fabulous pre-trip communication & follow through.
We had been let down by other folk claiming to be guides in Hangzhou & Xi'an.
He helped us sort out hotel issues plus showed us special places & introduced us to wonderful older people important in the Naxi community.
The embroidery work @ one family home in the village was frankly unbelievable.
Keith knows this area comunicates with both the traveller & the local inhabitants with expertise deserving of his rates.
Others may be less expensive but you get what you pay for, no doubt.
Before booking hotels seek Keith's opinion on what might suit you best, when visiting this area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Artificer101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hiking with Lijiang Guides - Private Tours also viewed

 

Been to Hiking with Lijiang Guides - Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing