We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Laoshu Yunjin Yaju Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #138 of 955 Hotels in Lijiang
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We booked this accommodation in Lijiang for 4 nights snd totally loved it! The location is central but quiet. The staff is unbelievably nice. The rooms have just been renovated and the bed was wonderful to sleep in: just the right sofntess and comfort. The bedsheet were clean and dreamy. The decoration is classical Chinese with a modern quality. We had a 3-person room which was very spacious and so beautiful. I would certainly choose to stay here again.
We did struggle a bit with the water which is only warm for a while. Breakfast consists of toast, jam/peanutbutter, eggs and fruit.
Overall: one of the best hotels in the world that I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusannaSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 25 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2012

I took my kids on a trip to Yunnan over the spring break to perform some community service at the Lijiang Ethnic Minority School and found this hotel highly rated on another Chinese website. The price was more than reasonable & this includes airport pick-up, daily western breakfast, free wifi, cable TV (local channels), and all the necessities you expect from a 4 star hotel. (Toothbrush, toothpaste, toiletries, slippers, blowdryer, hot water dispenser, heater, business center, & even a reading corner.) The hotel staff, Sheena, is more than helpful on the day of our arrival. She provided us with a local map & pointed out the places we should visit and recommendations on hot dining spots. She spoke very good English & even the communication beforehand via email was excellent. The hotel itself is quaint & cozy, located in a quiet alley off the busy street. Since Old Town is a pedestrian zone & cars are required to park outside, I recommend travelers to carry a rolling suitcase. As you approach the double entry doors, the courtyard garden composes of a beautiful koi pond and an area to relax & drink tea. We booked a family suite that accommodates 3 ppl with one large king size bed and a twin. The shower is separate from the toilet and sink which is useful because you won't have to share the use of one bathroom, however, the doors are glass so you don't have much privacy unless you are traveling with close family members. The bathrooms have been updated and are very modern, yet the rooms themselves still maintain a look from ancient history with Chinese lanterns & redwood carved doors/windows. Since it gets very cold in the morning/evenings in Yunnan, the electric blankets plus a separate heater provided in the room was very helpful. My kids & I enjoyed sitting in the open courtyard where they provide tables & a rocking hammock to read & eat our breakfast in the mornings. Don't expect anything superb but the basics of toast, jam, boiled eggs, & fresh fruits. On two of the occasions, we had to leave early to join our tour group so the hotel prepared our breakfast to eat on the road. The only drawback of these types of courtyard buildings is the lack of noise constraint, be warned that you will hear noises from your neighbors. Also, it does get dark at night and without a proper signage in front of their door, you might get lost looking for it so be sure to have your map & their business card handy at all times. They do provide daily housekeeping, just the simple emptying of trash & refolding our sheets & towels. The location is superb near the South Gate Bridge so it's a brisk 10 minute walk into the Old Town's city center where there's lots of food stalls, bars, coffee shops & market. There are plenty of mini convenience stores & even local Yunnan food for breakfast at the stalls next door that opens early in the morning. Overall, this was a wonderful experience & I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who'd like to try something new.

Room Tip: They do have a honeymoon suite & a deluxe suite which has their own private balcony and seating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patriciaychou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

I got a great internet deal for this hotel . There was a 15% service charge on top but this was more than worth it. It also included a free transfer to the airport as well as breakfast served in my room at whatever time I liked. The staff and hotel owner could not have been more helpful. Very friendly without being intrusive. Rooms are immaculately clean with comfortable bedding and furnishings. Great shower/bath with plenty of fluffy towels. Free wi-fi included. The location is good; central but quiet. I ended up staying here 2 weeks as it felt such like a home from home and I really felt taken care off by the hotel manager and the lovely naxi housekeeper. A heart-warming experience overall!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giovannacl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I felt right at home! The staff is really nice and helpful, speaks good English. The rooms are clean, tastefully decorated, the style garden is nice to relax. The hotel has wi-fi access in all areas of the hotel. I recommend it and would go back gladly! Lijiang it's a treasure city!!Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Sheena, the very nice Hotel Manager did an excellent job of offering us her help - two seasoned travellers from Switzerland - as translator ('lost in (mandarin) translation'), or to advice us on day - trips to the surroundings (Snow Mt, Tiger leaping gorge, Shuhe village) . This small courtyard hotel is perfectly located, in the traditionally styled old town, but not in the overly crowed part, which I would describe as too touristy and busy. The rooms were clean, and its comfort good in relation to the price. I would go back to the same place when visiting Lijiang again, despite the fact, that rooms in other (older) guesthouses cost half the price or less compared to what we paid. Wifi is for free. We were also offered fresh fruit every day for free. Well done.

The rooms are rather small, so that there is no space for a closet, but there are hangers. If one is used to a continental breakfast (coffee/milk or cappuccino, with fresh bread, butter and marmalade) one has to get used to noodle soup with green tea in the morning. Alternatively there was Nescafé with milk on demand, and a boiled egg. Bread could be purchased at the not too far 'Baking studio' with excellent pastries too. It is a pity that local ppl is not making better use of the excellent Yunnan coffee. A freshly brewed Yunnan coffee with fresh milk and toasted bread plus excellent Yunnan honey (in addition to the fresh fruit) would be definitely a plus. Maybe some small tables to be added in the courtyard, for breakfast

Franz

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frasi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We spent 7 days touring various sites in Yunnan province, with Lijiang as the base. Since we did not have much pre-knowledge of this region, we found this charming little hotel via web search and booked 2 nights here first. Later, as we felt more comfortable with the place, we booked 2 more nights - not consecutive but spaced apart. This hotel was kind enough to let us leave our luggage (and hold it for us) during the days when we left Lijiang and spent nights elsewhere. In fact, they were so accommodating that they even ran our accumulated laundry through their washing machine (no dryer, though) during the days we were not there. They were kind enough to offer tea from their collection of teas whenever needed. There is WiFi, and also 2 available net-connected PCs in the office. They were good enough to arrange cars with good drivers that we rented to make long (1-2 day) trips to places like Lugu Lake and Shangri-La. They did offer a noodles breakfast at the nearby restaurant, but we just wanted some eggs (which they were happy to boil for us) and bread (not easy to get - anywhere in Lijiang or most of non-metro China). If you crave some bread in the morning, take a few bread rolls along...!!

Room Tip: Avoid the lower floor room in the front courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globalist3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Выбрать другой отель, лучше в Шухэ
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Bumali_Bumali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
3.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
#2 of 955 in Lijiang
284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
4.4 mi away
The Bivou
The Bivou
#1 of 955 in Lijiang
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Banyan Tree Lijiang
Banyan Tree Lijiang
#4 of 955 in Lijiang
930 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort
6.1 mi away
Baisha Holiday Resort Lijiang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laoshu Yunjin Yaju Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laoshu Yunjin Yaju Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.111 Bayixia Section, Qiyi Street, Old Town, Lijiang 674100, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 955 Hotels in Lijiang
Price Range: $35 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Laoshu Yunjin Yaju Courtyard Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Laoshu Yunjin Yaju Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing