We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Trip”
Review of Huifeng Inn Shuhe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Huifeng Inn Shuhe
Ranked #21 of 928 Hotels in Lijiang
wuhan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Trip”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Spend three nights at Huifeng hotel during our visit to Lijiang,The room in very comfortable and clean,The courtyard is very beautiful.Jerry and his wife Lily are very hospitable,invite us to drink tea in the livingroom,Jerry speak English very well and give us some advice about our trip,Staff Cherry also can speak English,she leads us to the restaurant and arrange a car for us to Shangri-La.
Our family were very happy staying here and hope to visit Huifeng again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brown J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    20
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
21
41
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I chose this hotel because it was rated #1 on TripAdvisor and this is the first time I felt the ranking was not accurate. That, or maybe the other hotels in the Lijiang area are not that spectacular. The hotel decor and location were gorgeous, but the service was just mediocre. For international travelers who have lived/traveled China a bit, the service (that we received anyway) at Huifeng is just about standard for China, not up to international standard.

We arrived at the airport to find that our pre-arranged airport pick-up was missing. Upon calling the hotel, we were told the driver would be 50 minutes late due to traffic (translation: deflecting the blame; there is nothing we can do about it). So we waited and a random guy approached and asked if we were going to the Huifeng Inn. He showed us our reservation name on his cell phone so we got in his car. After driving for about 10 minutes, we got a call from the hotel that our driver had arrived and was waiting for us at the airport. This did not give us a sense of security as it made us wonder who we were actually in the car with.

In the end, the miscommunication was cleared up but we were mostly greeted with a "sorry" from a staff member when we finally arrived at the hotel. Perhaps a formal apology from a manager/the owner or some kind of gesture would have soothed the situation and been the norm for a proper hotel. But the staff seemed unsure of what could compensate for the delay and uncomfortable even talking about it. (This is cultural, I understand, but not customer service-oriented.)

The rest of the 3 nights we stayed was mostly delightful. Staff were courteous and rooms were clean. Several reviewers commented on the flawless English spoken by the hotel owner. We did not see him and mostly interacted with the one staff member (lovely Cherry) who spoke basic English. We spoke Chinese so it was not a problem but we did expect to be able to communicate with the hotel easily in English based on those reviews.

The rooms were clean and decor had simple but nice Naxi touches. Our rooms and beds were well-cleaned every day. There is no air-conditioning or fans in the rooms; while the room temperature felt perfect for me, it was a bit warm for my brother who prefers a cooler room temperature.

I recommend this place for independent travelers who don't need a lot of amenities/help with planning their sightseeing itinerary yet who don't mind spending a bit more for comfort and the charming courtyard.

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing away from the courtyard, especially those with a view of Snow Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huifenginnshuhe, Owner at Huifeng Inn Shuhe, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
We would like to make an apology for transportation problem,it was our mistake.
We will try our best to improve our service and thank you very much for your sincerely comments,it is very helpful for us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We heard that the Lijiang is tourist that's why we pick Huifeng and we figure out it is a correct move. Shuhe is what we exactly looking for, blue sky and Naxi is spectacular. The hotel itself is great, located center of Shuhe, very convenient, it will be better if more quiet night time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 118Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 6 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

After hearing from friends that Lijiang is commercialised and loud with karaoke lounges, I stumbled upon the charming village of Shuhe which is about 6 km from Lijiang. Then I read from Tripadvisor that Huifeng Inn is rated as the No. 1 place to stay in when visiting Lijiang. I did not know what to expect but booked into Huifeng Inn anyway.

Upon arrival at Huifeng Inn, my response was "WOW". The architecture of the inn is in the traditional Chinese courtyard style but the interiors are beautifully co-ordinated by the talented owner Jerry whilst his beautiful wife Lily gives the finishing touches with fresh flowers. Jerry has spent alot of time researching into the Naxi style for the furniture and the total effect is stunning. Every room is decorated with different kinds of furniture and the colour co-ordination together with the specially selected fabrics makes each room a welcoming place to return to each evening after a tiring day of sightseeing and shopping. The bathrooms are modern and spotlessly clean.

The location is excellent with many good restaurants within walking distance. The owner Jerry was educated in Singapore and speaks very good English. His education in Singapore has prepared him well for this hospitality business with excellence, innovation and creativity.

During the weekend when I was staying at the Huifeng Inn, there was a Naxi square dance for all the guests to participate in. It was fun!

I am now a fan of the "Huifeng Inn" brand and look forward to staying at another inn which will open in Shuhe at the end of this year.

Room Tip: The rooms are all so well co-ordinated so the traveller will be spoilt for choice :-) Breakfast can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank soohiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

From going off Trip Advisor's rating as the top hotel in Lijiang I booked this without doing too much research. What luck! The inn was gorgeous, very clean and full of old charm character.

It isn't located in Lijiang though, it is in a small village about 5-10 minutes drive from Lijiang, in a lovely village called Shu'e. Shu'e is so charming as well, it has the same look as Old Town Lijiang and a small very clear creeks running through it.

The owners of the inn were very friendly, asking us to join them for tea every day, and provided us with a fantastic breakfast on our first day after we arrived super late the night before and not knowing the area.

The rooms are huge, and the shower takes up half of the bathroom! You will love this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ebtraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

It seems impossible to me not to enjoy this hotel. It has excellent value, is beautiful and quiet
all the hotel staff is very nice and helpful, the service is just perfect with attention to every detail.
Jerry the owner is a very cool and friendly guy who speaks very good english, better than mine :)
He will always make sure you are having the best stay possible. He brought me to a local bar one evening, joined me to have breakfast in town in the morning
Its the kind of place that can make you want to stay longer than you planned, I definitely highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stephane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

My wife and I stayed in the hotel in Aug this year. It's got spacious room, big bed, comforting settings, nice hosts, and yes, a swimming pool in the court (a bit chilly in Aug so we didn't get a chance to enjoy it though)! For us, we wanted to have an enjoyable stay instead of cramming into tiny rooms, yet within reasonable price. And with Huifeng, we think we got what we were after.

p.s. The host was very nice. He gave us a ride to Lijiang and recommended an excellent noodle house to us. It was soooooo delicious!

If we go back Shuhe next time, we'll definitely stay at the same place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wentaoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bivou
The Bivou
#1 of 928 in Lijiang
297 reviews
3.8 mi away
Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
0.6 mi away
Arro Khampa Lijiang by Zinc Journey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
#2 of 928 in Lijiang
247 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Bruce Chalet
The Bruce Chalet
#12 of 928 in Lijiang
319 reviews
2.4 mi away
Baisha Holiday Resort Lijiang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huifeng Inn Shuhe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huifeng Inn Shuhe

Property: Huifeng Inn Shuhe
Address: No.56 Jiewei Alley Shuhe Old Town, Lijiang 674100, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 928 Hotels in Lijiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Huifeng Inn Shuhe 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Huifeng Inn Shuhe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing