We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel I have met”
Review of Maple Leaf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maple Leaf Inn
Ranked #26 of 941 Hotels in Lijiang
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I came to this hotel and I think it's clean and comfortable. It is not expensive and everything is good. The environment of this hotel is also very good. Considered the price, rooms, and the location of this hotel, you can choose it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leo29557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for Maple Leaf Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 124 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

I really enjoyed staying at Maple Leaf Inn, Lijiang. Nice and clean rooms with electric blankets and small heater. Great helpful,friendly and English speaking staff who helped me to have a wonderful stay in Lijiang. Try their home made bread and banana bread and wonderful Yunnan coffee. They also gave me great advice on which tours I could take so that I could experience the wonderful sights in and around Lijiang. Maple Leaf Inn, keep on doing a great job!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed at the Maple Leaf Inn in Shuhe for 3 nights in 2013. The inn is run by a pleasant couple, a Dutch guy and his Chinese wife, both of whom speak excellent English. We arrived too late to order dinner at the Inn and so the owners took us around the corner to a local restaurant and helped us to order. Breakfast at the inn is quite good, especially the banana yoghurt. There is also home-made banana bread for sale every day which makes a great snack to take with you. We did not eat lunch or dinner at the inn.
We had an en suite twin room on the upper floor which was comfortable and clean, nothing special but fine for the price. The bathroom was the standard “open plan” Chinese layout.

The Inn is located on what is quite a busy street during the day (no cars but scooters and lots of pedestrians) but it is very quiet at night. The only disturbance we had during the night came from people talking in the interior courtyard of the inn, around which all rooms are located. For us, this was the one downside to the Inn, the lay out of the rooms.
Due to restricted traffic access in Shuhe old town, the Inn is a bit tricky to get to by car and most taxi drivers coming from Lijiang will not know how to get to it. If you are coming to Shuhe by taxi get them to drop you off by the gate to the main entrance to the old town. It is a straightforward 8-10 minute walk to the Inn from there.

The Inn arranged for us to rent bikes from a nearby bike rental store. We had a lovely ride out to the charming village of Baisha which has an impressive palace/temple complex. The village has plenty of interesting looking restaurants and stores and is worth a visit.

When we left Shuhe, the inn owners were very helpful in arranging transportation to Tiger Leaping Gorge. It wasn't quite what we (or I imagine the folk at the Maple Leaf Inn) expected, a regular minivan shared with locals and some dead poultry nestled against our bags in the back, but it was fine. Much more interesting than a private car!

Shuhe was very touristy and we would probably not choose to stay there again. However, the owners and staff at the Maple Leaf Inn made up for it by being so pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julianne24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Really lovely guest house, family run and really friendly, helpful and honest. Located in Shuhe, about 20 minutes from Lijiang Old Town and A LOT nicer than Lijiang Old Town, quieter and unspoilt, definitely a better choice.

Although very cold there in winter, the hot water was plentiful and the electric blankets excellent! They do a great breakfast that really set you up for the day and were so helpful in finding us trips to suit our needs and price range and arranged airport pick up. Didn't try to rip us off in any way.


Wish we could have stayed for longer, would definitely come again and would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKCN13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

I love the yard in the hostel and it's just like home!!!!! The banana bread is soooooooo gooooooooood!!!! They have great people here! They are so nice! I bought Yunnan coffee here for my boyfriend it's strong and delicious!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Shirleyttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Located in Shuhe, the nicest town of the Lijiang area (better to stay here than in Lijiang itself or Baisha). Staff was very pleasant and helpful. The room and ensuite bathroom was clean and nicely decorated. Their breakfast was the nicest i had since i arrived in China (coming from Tibet the bar was very low). They have a very pleasant patio to hang out, eat food, meet other travellers, use internet, etc. i arranged a bike rental through them and was very pleased, and I used their laundry service and was pleased, although the cost was rather expensive. The only problem with the place is its proximity to the market. In other reviews this is a plus, but Lijiang and Shuhe are very touristic places where the stalls blast the same music again and agian. If you plan on spending a lot of consecutive time inside the hotel, during daytime, the music can be a real bother.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Great place, great owners-you can't go wrong with this booking. Looking for honest advice while travelling? You can be certain that Wil will give you all the information truthfully and genuinely try to help you.
Would go there again in a heartbeat, keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
The Bruce Chalet
#12 of 941 in Lijiang
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huifeng Inn Shuhe
#21 of 941 in Lijiang
214 reviews
Gucheng District
Lijiang Spiritual Utopia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Leaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Leaf Inn

Address: No.3 Zangqing Road, Shuhe Ancient Town | Walk straight from Shuhe main gate about 500m on your right, Lijiang 674100, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 941 Hotels in Lijiang
Price Range: $16 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maple Leaf Inn from Shuhe Lijiang is Dutch and Chinese family run hostel. We have clean rooms with soft beds, 24h hot water, towels, Free WIFI. Our inn is easy to get around and quiet in the evening. We have a sunny garden restaurant. You can read books, sit on the swing or the garden chairs, try our homemade banana bread or the real coffee. Relax and enjoy your holiday here. We can introduce and arrange every local tour with good price for you! Maple Leaf Inn, a home away from you home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Maple Leaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing