We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”
Review of Maple Leaf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maple Leaf Inn
Ranked #26 of 941 Hotels in Lijiang
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Our stay at the Maple Leaf was very nice. The staff was helpful and friendly, and our room was cozy and well-equipped. They arranged for us an enjoyable tour with an English guide. Great location in Shuhe.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank mykindakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for Maple Leaf Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 124 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is a great budget hotel in the heart of Shuhe. We asked for the hotel's help in arranging for a car to pick us up from the airport, and it was our tough luck that the regular cab driver was busy and we were picked up by someone who didn't know where the hotel was located. It took us over an hour from the entrance of Shuhe, as the driver kept driving around the outskirts of the town until I finally called the hotel and someone came out to get us.
The room is as it appears in the picture. Charming. Cleanliness is ok. While the linens were fresh, table covers were smelly, so I had them tucked away while we stayed there. Bathroom is also ok. Water boilers need to be turned on about 30 min prior to taking a shower. Rooms were little cold at night.
They owners of the Inn are excellent English speakers and very nice, but as they also run a travel agency, they pushed for us to take arranged tours. We opted to take a half-day tour of riding horses on tea-horse-road and visiting a Lake famous for watching birds, except it was not the bird season. The tour was ok but not in English, so I don't recommend it.
We wanted to spend a day or two riding bicycle to Lijiang and other nearby towns. The hotel named a price but we found another bicycle shop that rented at half the price.
Their breakfast and other foods are also pricey.
While the rooms are good value, it appeared that their main source of revenue may be the tours and other extras, which doesn't seem expensive in US standard, but we found them much cheaper elsewhere. When we kept declining their offer to book more tours, they were not as friendly as they were in the beginning... or was it my imagination.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terryumma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I arrived from Kunming suffering from debilitating food poisoning and felt very relaxed here. It is a 500 metre walk from the gate of Old Shuhe Town across the cobblestones but there is a back gate and when we departed, the taxi they arranged was able to park there which then made the walk a very short one. My husband and I found it very difficult, nearly impossible, to get a taxi from the airport shuttle drop point in Lijiang to Old Shuhe Town. I would recommend getting one of the blue taxis at the airport (cheaper & the taxi ladies seem to have some English language) rather than find yourself dumped in Lijiang and no-one prepared to take you on to Old Shuhe Town. I would not recommend eating in Old Shuhe Town. The town water is used for everything conceivable. The Maple Leaf Inn will prepare meals. The breakfast was excellent and they have easy dinner options. Rooms are comfortable and clean - no palace, but inexpensive and it attracts a pleasant clientele base. The town is so enjoyable to walk around, especially early morning or late afternoon when the throngs of tourists leave. There is certainly an old charm to this place and you are staying right in it at this lovely little Inn.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobynBSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The Maple Leaf is a 4km outside Lijiang, but the No 11 bus - a double-decker - goes within a few hundred metres.
Nice friendly managers with very good English.The place is a traditional Naxi house, two stories around a central courtyard. They organised a trip to Tiger Leaping and a taxi to the station for the 8:30 to Dali. all really good.
Shuhe is a bit of a tourist trap, with a thousand shops all selling variations of the same thing, with men tapping at silver ingots, but never getting very far, however long you watch. even so, it was very pleasant and actually very enjoyable just looking around.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LanceBombardier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had a great time and a nice stay at Maple Leaf Inn.
The hotel is special because of the owners and staff. Their advice and help made
our time in Lijiang unforgetable. The rooms are good, breakfast was nice with the best
coffee we had in China.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I had a great stay at the Maple Leaf Inn, Shuhe. The staff was helpful and friendly. Very good english speakers. Shuhe is much better then Lijiang Old Town. They also run a Travel Agency and can arrange any type of travel, so convenient!
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

we stayed at the Maple Leaf Inn for 3 nights (4 people in 2 rooms) the rooms were good but a few things happened that left us with a very bad taste.

1. we payed in advance for 3 nights via Agoda website. 3 days prior to our arrival we sent email requesting to delay our 3 nights stay in just one day delay. The staff answered that their change policy is 7 days notice so they could not change it. I called and explained that on Agoda confirmation is written 2 days prior to arrival but the girl said that if I cannot email her this printed confirmation she could accept it (now, were do you find a fax or a scanner, i tried to explain but she wouldn't accept it) when we arrived to the hotel I showed it to her - she said that im right BUT now its too late and she cannot refund.

2. The hotel offered a day tour to the villages around including a visit at Dr. Hu in Baisha. We paid in advance. On the morning of the trip, the girl in the counter said that the guide called sick and that we will have to go with the driver only but the driver do not speak a word in English so he will drop us and wait for us to travel alone in the villages. We requested to cancel the trip but she said they could not refund us because we cannot cancel on the last minute. we insisted, so they made a phone call and all of a sudden some guy showed up saying he is the guide (this guide was actually an actor that had a show to attend to at noon, so he took us around the theater and then we watched his performance and headed back to the hotel. obviously it was not the day trip the hotel sold us but it was nice and he was a very sweet guy so we enjoyed it very much). when we came back to the hotel, we heard him arguing with the lady at the counter, after a few minutes he came to us asking for money because the hotel did not pay him what they had promised him in the morning. so we gave him extra money.

3. on the last day we checked out at 12pm, left our luggage at the hotel and went to Lijian old town. around 4pm we took a taxi from Lijian to the hotel, we asked the driver to wait for us so we can take the bags and we will continue with him to the airport. we agreed on a price in advance. when we arrived to the hotel, the lady at the counter said that its better if we will take their driver to the airport, but we refused since we already agreed with this driver and we did not want to cancel with him. So she told him a few words and all of the sudden he said he cannot take us unless we double the price. we said fine, no problem, we pay double. then she told us that we also should add more money for the road tax, we said that we will not add more money because we already payed double, so she told the driver to take a side road because we did not want to pay for the tax. The driver took the side road, and we were stuck in traffic from hell, we almost missed our flight. All that because we didnt want to take the hotel driver.

Such bad service can ruin your stay. we traveled 2 weeks in china and it was the only place we encounter such a bad behavior.
could be that we just had bad luck with that certain lady at the counter, but this was too much, and we left the hotel with a very bad taste.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bgroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
The Bruce Chalet
#12 of 941 in Lijiang
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huifeng Inn Shuhe
#21 of 941 in Lijiang
214 reviews
Gucheng District
Lijiang Spiritual Utopia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Leaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Leaf Inn

Address: No.3 Zangqing Road, Shuhe Ancient Town | Walk straight from Shuhe main gate about 500m on your right, Lijiang 674100, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 941 Hotels in Lijiang
Price Range: $16 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maple Leaf Inn from Shuhe Lijiang is Dutch and Chinese family run hostel. We have clean rooms with soft beds, 24h hot water, towels, Free WIFI. Our inn is easy to get around and quiet in the evening. We have a sunny garden restaurant. You can read books, sit on the swing or the garden chairs, try our homemade banana bread or the real coffee. Relax and enjoy your holiday here. We can introduce and arrange every local tour with good price for you! Maple Leaf Inn, a home away from you home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Maple Leaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing