We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Maple Leaf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maple Leaf Inn
Ranked #26 of 928 Hotels in Lijiang
New Zealand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Four of us stayed here for three nights and it was hard to fault. Will met us when we arrived late one night and went out of his way to give us local knowledge and help us. We thought we were staying in Lijiang Old Town and what a relief that the Maple Leaf is located in Shuhe. Shuhe is far less frantic and once the tour buses go it is a great place to stay. We especially enjoyed joining in the Naxi dancing with the friendly locals in the square, if you do this don't be shy but get in and experience the joy of dancing with the Naxi people.

The breakfasts at the Maple Leaf are hearty and the coffee and homemade banana bread sublime.

This place deserves its high ranking on TA.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benny001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    27
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
35
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
95 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

All the excelents reviews are true! For us this place was and will be the Best choise posible to stay in Shuhe. The human contact is so naturally nice, having the first impresion you are speacking with friends and to realize that you really are. We felt welcome from the begining and for the our hole stay of one week we endeed feeling like home. If you need information or help finding out your next step in your trip, Will will surelly help you, giving you some precious traveling tips. His wife is also very charming and the Sally will help you in any way she can. We have only good words to describe them and we are also very greatfull to have found this place and meeting them.
Rooms are very clean, breakfast is great and wifi is free and fast! Best value for money!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairedelune078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and I had a good experience with them.
The owner Wil is Dutch so, is kind of "foreigner safe". They organise tour too. They provide me lots of information about where to go an where to eat. Staff are very friendly and English level is good too. I think staying in Shuhe is better than Lijiang old town because here is quieter. Btw, crab a cap to other places are cheap too. Overall I have a good experience with them... Highly recommended by me :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aiden H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Nice small hotel in shuhe old town, much less crowded than Lijiang but close to main attractions. Will is a big help for pretty much everything! Very charming place. Go to "sambal bei" just around corner for delicious food. Ask Will where to go exactly cause it is easy to miss.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klauwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I really loved so much about this guesthouse -- the kind owner, the quaint and spacious rooms, the warm coffee and banana bread for breakfast in the beautiful central courtyard -- but there were a few things that prevented the stay from being excellent.

For starters, the walls must be super thin because we could hear everything going on in the courtyard at night as well as the guy in the room next to us hacking all night. If anyone came in late or woke up early, we could hear them loud and clear. In addition, one of our rooms was right above a small store selling African drums, and the store played a really irritating song on a loop all day and well into the night, making it hard to sleep.

Finally (and this is a minor complaint), when you want to shower, you have to plug in the water heater and wait for 30 to 45 minutes first, which at the end of a long day when you're exhausted and want to hit the hay, feels like a long time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lss5059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Instead of staying in Lijiang Old Town, we chose for Shuhe Old Town. It's somewhat smaller than Lijiang, and though still touristy, a lot less tourists.
Staff is really great, got great suggestions for tours (rented bikes and cycled to Baisha and Lijiang) and they arranged a great one day trip for us to Liming Laojunshan National Park with a.o. Thousand Tortoise Hill).
Rooms are basic, beds are good.
Shower works with a boiler, have to turn it on half an hour before you want to take one.
Homemade bananabread is terrific!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeroen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Visited LiJiang for the first time this summer. The atmosphere there was beautiful and lively. Located in one corner of Shuhe Old Town, Maple Leaf Inn provide you a simple but cosy atmosphere. The staff were able to converse in good English and were both helpful and friendly. We were not able to speak good Mandarin but they helped us get around and make our travel arrangements.

The breakfast was wonderful and dinner was simply delicious, though a little too much. We highly recommend this place for a good vacation.

Room Tip: We like the Orange room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruise_LeeSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
The Bruce Chalet
#12 of 928 in Lijiang
319 reviews
Huifeng Inn Shuhe
#18 of 928 in Lijiang
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Hoo Hotel
#8 of 928 in Lijiang
58 reviews
Gucheng District
Lijiang Spiritual Utopia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Leaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Leaf Inn

Property: Maple Leaf Inn
Address: No.3 Zangqing Road, Shuhe Ancient Town | Walk straight from Shuhe main gate about 500m on your right, Lijiang 674100, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 928 Hotels in Lijiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maple Leaf Inn from Shuhe Lijiang is Dutch and Chinese family run hostel. We have clean rooms with soft beds, 24h hot water, towels, Free WIFI. Our inn is easy to get around and quiet in the evening. We have a sunny garden restaurant. You can read books, sit on the swing or the garden chairs, try our homemade banana bread or the real coffee. Relax and enjoy your holiday here. We can introduce and arrange every local tour with good price for you! Maple Leaf Inn, a home away from you home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Maple Leaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing