We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place we stayed at in China”
Review of Blossom Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blossom Hill Inn
Ranked #22 of 928 Hotels in Lijiang
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place we stayed at in China”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We were a young couple that stayed at the Blossom Hill Aromaland in June and it was the best place we stayed at in China. Feels like home - very cozy, but at the same time authentically Chinese. New, clean, spacious, a big bathroom with both big bath and even bigger shower, all really stylish. Great, very helpful staff. They helped to manage our trip to the Tiger Leaping Gorge (took quite a lot of time for them). When we asked for a nice restaurant nearby they didn't point at it but went with us there and helped us to order food. Will definitely go to this place again, unmissable experience. It's always difficult to describe, but it worth going...Nice courtyards and living rooms as well, many greenery and flowers.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Sales Coordinator at Blossom Hill Inn, responded to this review, January 19, 2015
Dear guests,greeting from Blossom Hill Inn and thank you for choosing us. We will try our best to do everything better. Looking forward to your next coming. Best wishes to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    42
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
16
40
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Quito
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

There are several Blossom Hill guest houses in old town LIjiang and we stayed at the one subtitled Lotusland on Zhongyi alley. The guest house is very peaceful and relaxing with a lovely courtyard. The staff were very nice and friendly, including the two adolescent cats that we would find intertwined and asleep on a chair outside our room in the afternoon. I really enjoyed just relaxing at the guest house after a long day of walking. Our room had a large bathtub fit for two. Breakfast was served at another of their guest houses about a block away. The first morning was chaotic with too many people, no clean forks or cups, and people pushing to get to the food. The second day was better. There were a lot of Chinese options but really just white bread and eggs if you prefer western food. Still, I highly recommend Blossom Hill.

Room Tip: We were very happy with our room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaAnn61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Sales Coordinator at Blossom Hill Inn, responded to this review, January 19, 2015
Dear guests,greeting from Blossom Hill Inn and thank you for choosing us. We will try our best to do everything better. Looking forward to your next coming. Best wishes to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
284 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

There are five Blossom Hill locations in Lijiang, we stayed at Joyland which is inside the city walls and a pleasant, traffic-free 15 minute walk from the Old Town centre. Lijiang has streams running along some of the streets, including where this hotel is situated. This small, boutique hotel is built around a courtyard in traditional style.

We found the young reception staff extremely helpful and concerned for our happiness. They spoke reasonable English and helped us find good, nearby restaurants. Service was excellent and we were offered a choice of rooms.

We chose a large airy room with a 7m high ceiling and a big sitting area. The bed was a proper double bed with a double duvet (unlike other places we stayed where two single mattresses were pushed together) and very comfortable. The room had good heating and air conditioning. Everything was very clean and the shower had good pressure and temperature control. Wifi was a little faster than usual in Chinese hotels.

No cars are allowed in the city centre; this hotel is a 5 minute walk from the car park. Hotel staff came to the car park to meet our taxi and help us with bags.

We wandered round Lijiang each evening and felt very safe; however, it should however be noted that the main streets in the city centre get very crowded at night. The bars outside the hotel can be very noisy in the evening, but they shut at 2300 (including Friday and Saturday) and everything goes quiet. So this was not a problem for us, but might it be if you go to bed very early.

Breakfast was in another building 2 minutes walk away. The choices and quality - both Western and Chinese - were not as good as they should have been: a bit of a disappointment. We left Lijiang before breakfast was available on our last day; reception helpfully provided a packed breakfast that was better than the restaurant.

Overall, a good boutique hotel run by a young, helpful staff: we would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandP_Cotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Sales Coordinator at Blossom Hill Inn, responded to this review, January 19, 2015
Dear guests,greeting from Blossom Hill Inn and thank you for choosing us. We will try our best to do everything better. Looking forward to your next coming. Best wishes to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Blossom Hill Inn Joyland. We stayed in a room upstairs. The rooms are a good size, comfortable bed, nice linen. The breakfast is served at another inn around the corner but if you have an early start - like we did 2 mornings they arranged a packed breakfast for you - egg, apple, yoghurt, cake of some sorts and a porridge type pack. The female staff were all fantastic!!!! So friendly and helpful. 2 of the girls - who are all in their early 20's and smiling and delightful - speak pretty good english. Even though they claim it is a little - it was more than enough to help us book drivers, guide us toward places to visit and arrange massages for us. We had arranged for the hotel to pick us up from the airport - which they did and it is worth getting them to do this, because the old town is a very confusing place when you first arrive. The old town is quite a noisy place especially if you stay near any bars. We found Joyland to be relatively quiet - although their neighbours out the back are building, nothing Joyland can do about that. But we weren't kept awake at night by noisy singing - which there is a LOT of around Lijiang. Beautiful traditional wooden buildings do not make for great soundproofing. I would definitely recommend staying here! Thanks to the staff for making a memorable trip to a beautiful place even better.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetravel29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Sales Coordinator at Blossom Hill Inn, responded to this review, January 19, 2015
Dear guests,greeting from Blossom Hill Inn and thank you for choosing us. We will try our best to do everything better. Looking forward to your next coming. Best wishes to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We were a group of 10 people with 2 couples among us. We stayed there from 18-22 Mar 2014. The inn has 2 storey. The rooms upstairs were the bigger with themes. Some themes were nice and romantic but there was one with the head of the Yak hanging above the king bed. It was originally assigned to one of the couples. However, the head of a yak scared the hell out of the wife. They swapped with a single guy in the group. So, do check the room designs first to see if you are comfortable. The other "complaint" for those on 2nd floor was noise. They could hear very clearly people passing by the inn late at nights. I was lucky to stay in a standard room on the ground floor. It was quiet and my roommate and I had very good sleep for the 4 nights stay there.
Access to the inn was not that convenient. We have to walk about 10 minutes from the main road as most of the lanes in the old town are not accessible by car or bus. It was down-slop from the main road when we were getting in. However, we have to walk up-slop when we are coming out. So be prepared for some walking. We got the inn to engage 2 men to trolley our luggage.
Breakfast was okay but coffee was poor. For real coffee drinkers, you may need to BYO !
Overall, it was a pleasant stay for us as the staff were friendly and helpful.
The inn has cozy areas for tea/ coffee/ drinks. They sell wines but expensive. So it's better to drink the nearby bars.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ling101028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Sales Coordinator at Blossom Hill Inn, responded to this review, January 19, 2015
Dear guests,greeting from Blossom Hill Inn and thank you for choosing us. We will try our best to do everything better. Looking forward to your next coming. Best wishes to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We arrived in Lijiang in the evening and started to look for the hotel. The cab driver did not know the address on the printout from Hotels.com but took us to the city centre where there is a tourist office near the location in the printout. In the tourist office they did not know the hotel. But hey!, we can use the map to navigate a little we thought - despite the rucksacks. The city is a labyrinth noone bothered making a proper map of (at least not in English, I checked numerous guides). After about 30 minutes of walking we found the street. The exact address was a closed door without a ringbell. We tried calling hotels.com but after a few minutes we asked in the restaurant next door and they told us we can enter through the restaurant. They spoke really basic English and could not read the printout from hotels.com. After quite a few odd minutes they made a call and we realised we there were more than one blossom hill in Lijiang. Like 5 or 6 actually. What on hotels.com appear to be different rooms are actually different hotels (joyland, neverland, lotusland etc, all over Lijiang). They tried to explain us the way but as they realised we did not understand them one of them volunteered to accompany us -thank god. We had to walk about three quarters of a mile with our heavy backpacks on. They spoke a little more English in this second hotel but they had a problem with 'here' and 'there' to explain us that the breakfast was serve somewhere else. All in all I don't recommend this otherwise good hotel because we spent two hours trying to find it. The address provided by hotels.com was wrong (it was from a different blossom hill) and their lack of English makes it harder. If you go in the morning with little luggage it may be ok, but if you arrive in the evening and don't speak Chinese simply avoid. Apart from that the rooms were really nicely decorated and roomy. Great shower. Breakfast was average.

Room Tip: Do note that joyland, lotusland, neverland, aromaland, etc are different hotels way apart from each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Sales Coordinator at Blossom Hill Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear guests,greeting from Blossom Hill Inn and thank you for choosing us. We are very sorry for the inconvinience caused to you. We will try our best to do everything better. Looking forward to your next coming. Best wishes to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at this boutique hotel and enjoyed it very much. There are blossoms at the entrance and the centre courtyard is also a nice place to have a meal or just sit and relax. Our room opened onto a small courtyard and the room was very comfortable and clean. The staff are all young and very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMGVVAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Sales Coordinator at Blossom Hill Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear guests,greeting from Blossom Hill Inn and thank you for choosing us. Thank you for your praise also. We will try our best to do everything better. Looking forward to your next coming. Best wishes to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gucheng District
Lijiang Spiritual Utopia Hotel
Lijiang Woo Bay Hotel
#16 of 928 in Lijiang
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blossom Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blossom Hill Inn

Property: Blossom Hill Inn
Address: Dayan Old Town, Gucheng District, Lijiang 674100, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 928 Hotels in Lijiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blossom Hill Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blossom Hill Inn in Lijiang has expanded rapidly in 2012 and each of the 5 properties has a distinctive characteristics therefore reviews should be done for the individual property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Blossom Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing