We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay for backpackers!”
Review of Lijiang Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lijiang Garden Inn
Ranked #1 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Lijiang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Friendly ppl. And they speak good english. Enviroment here is peaceful. Well kept. Don't expect much if you actually want a fancy place. Worth the money you pay for. We got good advice frm the reception on our next trip.. hopefully they will have some renovation for certain parts of the room and bathroom. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Joanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 180 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

I arrived at night walking from the long distance bus station, and I must admit that finding the hotel was not that easy. But once you get more familiar with how Lijiang works, you realize that its location is quite good.

The staff is very helpful and speaks good English. Breakfast was one of the best value I had in China's hostels (and definitely the cheapest coffee, and God knows how expensive coffee can get in China).

Room was clean and decent, with wifi working pretty well.

The common area is a really cool feature of the hostel, with both open air and inside spaces, cosy and quiet.

A great hostel that I would recommend highly.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank Mathias D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in 4 bed dorms at 2nd floor. The toilet is downstairs or in the other side of the yard. the first one was really dirty, and to go out to the other toilet when it's raining is really sucks... my bedsheets were ripped, and there was no access to the lockers- they were blocked by the bed. There is no hot water for coffee or tea. i wouldn't recomend this place at all.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ofriki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed fir one night in a private room with a bathroom.

Room was a bit outdated but clean and same was the bathroom.

Common are is very nice: there is a garden with pool table and additionally pseudo bar :)

Staff is friendly and we didn't have any problems with booking bus tickets to our next destination.

After 11pm the main gate is being locked but you can still enter the hostel using a bell.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bartosz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed here for three nights in total in a four-bed dorm. The room and facilities were good value for money and the hostel's location is good - right in the old town. The rooms centre around an outdoor courtyard which is great to lounge around in but when there are lots of people there it can be very noisy in the evening. The rooms don't have air conditioning so you have to have the windows open. This isn't ideal as it is noisy and there aren't any mosquito nets on them. The staff aren't the most helpful but are friendly. This place is good value for money - just bring ear plugs!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sueoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We used Garden Inn as our 'home base' to explore Lijiang and the surrounding scenic sites. The staff was really friendly and helpful in giving advise and organising bus tickets, tour tickets and providing general information about the places of interest. When we came back for the third time (first visit Lijiang, second Tiger Leaping Gorge, third time Lugu Lake) it was like coming home and visiting friends. The staff welcomed us back with a smile and a friendly greeting. Also mail contact was really good, quick responses and correct info. We celebrated Dutch Queensday with May and her Dutch husband and were invited for there family diner.

During our stays we used 3 different types of rooms. The twin room on the ground floor, the double room on the ground floor and the deluxe double room (207) on the upper floor. The twin room was basic but clean, the double room on the ground floor had a bit of a tricky shower, floor flooded quickly and became slippery, the double room on the upper floor was spacious and with a lot of light and nice view. The common garden is a really relaxed place with pool table and sheltered patio with seats. You can do your laundry while playing a game of pool. Breakfast can be ordered the night before for your early departures (before) 8 for al the early busses you want to take. The tuna sandwich is highly recommended!
Leaving your big backpacks while making one off our trips was also no problem.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Evelien84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in lijiang for 3 nights and it was OK. The best thing about this hostel is its location just outside the main tourist section and close to the road.

The staff was not very friendly and mainly focused on their own business such as movies or playing on the pool table. We would get the shortest answer possible back every time.

Our room with private bathroom was a bit outdated and the beds were terrible. Asia is known for its hard beds and we have encountered quite a lot but this bed was definitively the worst, rock solid.

Also there is a lot of noise from the courtyard and from your neighbours as the walls are thin.
The restaurant is open when they feel like cooking, we ordered toast in the afternoon and after some yelling to the kitchen she said the restaurant was closed.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManonChiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
4 mi away
The Bivou
The Bivou
#1 of 954 in Lijiang
317 reviews
3.6 mi away
Maple Leaf Inn
Maple Leaf Inn
#27 of 954 in Lijiang
125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Baisha Holiday Resort Lijiang
0.5 mi away
Lvye An Jia
Lvye An Jia
#1 of 2,697 in Lijiang
579 reviews
0.3 mi away
Timeless Hostel
Timeless Hostel
#2 of 118 in Lijiang
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lijiang Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lijiang Garden Inn

Address: No.7 Wenmiao Alley, Beimen Street, Gucheng District, Lijiang 641000, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Lijiang
Price Range: $11 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lijiang Garden Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Inn is a warm and down-to-earth place for travelers. If you are looking for a fun yet relaxing place, you have found it. During your stay, our courtyard provides fantastic open or shaded areas for you to enjoy the sun and fresh mountain air of Lijiang. Our balcony area has amazing views of the mountains, valley & old town.You are welcome to use our cozy common room with comfy lounges, , Alternatively, enjoy some wine, beer and music in the bar. Of course, you could show your talent and have some fun on our guitar...Garden Inn is located in the old town of Lijiang. If you prefer not to walk, a taxi can drop you off in front of our hostel. If needed, we can provide a pickup service airport.Welcome to Garden Inn We hope you enjoy a warm and lovely stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Lijiang Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lijiang Garden Hotel Lijiang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing