We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Show” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lijiang Impressions Show

Lijiang Impressions Show
Book In Advance
More Info
$237.00*
and up
Private Day Trip to Baisha Village and Yunshan Ping including Lijiang...
Ranked #5 of 87 things to do in Lijiang
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Shanghai
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Amazing Show”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I think this is part of a package that you went going to Jade Dragon Snow mountain. I was just amazed with all the performances ... the drunk song, girl leaving family - I think, riding of the small horses around the main pavillion and having the mountain as the back drop.

Remember to take a cushion from downstairs as the seats are wet in the morning. There is also a sign on the right hand side with English, but if you look at it too much you loose the feeling of the show. The main song they performed was really touching as I think it is based on a man leaving for the maybe the hunt and returning to his family.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank wnash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    171
    55
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“an unexpectedly excellent show”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Initially, I honestly was expecting much. I was thinking it was just another low budgeted show with people performing in a language I couldn't understand. But to my surprise, the show was beautiful and well coordinated. For the important bits and the songs, there were english subtitles on the screens on both sides of the stage. The large cast, the variety of costumes, the music and the use of their wonderful mountains as a backdrop, the shop was very lovely.

It was beautiful but my wonderful experience could partly be credited to the very little to no expectation walking into the show. If you go in expecting something similar to the show we witnessed during the opening ceremony of the Beijing Olympics, you will very likely be disappointed. Nevertheless, I had a wonderful time and I would highly recommend it for everyone who is visiting Lijiang.

side note: they sell DVDs at the end, it was relatively cheap, it came with a DVD and soundtrack. The DVD is not what you would expect, but i was willing to buy the set just for the soundtrack. I really enjoyed the music so it was worth it. If you want a recording of the show, the DVD will be a disappointment.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank nattiesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice combo with the glacier park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We went there on a packaged tour with the glacier park visit.

We enjoyed the show despite the cold at 11am ! Cushion seats were available for us to pick up as you enter seating area. Seats were filled with icicles .

English explanation and subtitles are available on the both sides of the stage. If one understands Mandarin, you will get the full effect of the show, many were teary eye at the end of the show. We didn't but enjoyed the show nonetheless.

Impressive stage setting against the Yulong Mountain. You will get a crash course on the Dongba culture in the show.

We bought a DVD on the making of Lijiang Impression (Mandarin only) sold at the exit after the show for RMB50 as a souvenir.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Alek-KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“In Spite of the Rain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Was a doubter about getting up early, driving in the pouring rain to see an outdoor show. Go! Amazing setting with colorful performers. I can only imagine how glorious it would be with the mountain visible in the background. If you love horsemanship, you must see this.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
107 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Impressionistic is the right word”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Although it looks impressive in photos, the overall feel of the show consisted of large crowds of minorities running around. There wasn't any exciting moments during the performance. The love story was a bit bleak as well. I think the Guilin show was a bit better than this one.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Muselulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lijiang Impressions Show also viewed

 

Been to Lijiang Impressions Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing