We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:30 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Lijiang
from $115.00
More Info
from $145.00
More Info
Reviews (1,088)
Filter reviews
470 results
Traveler rating
206
167
68
24
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
167
68
24
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ancient town much quieter authentic feel worth a visit less touristy shops and restaurants tea horse bar street walk around shops selling early morning chinese tourists jade dragon snow mountain dayan version architecture charm
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 470 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

A quieter version of Lijiang, Shuhe retains most of its traditional character with less crowds Many restaurants line the streets and at night the town has a vibe.
Traditional Chinese architecture and narrow alleys provide a special charm.

Thank ReviewerToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

We were wowed by Lijiang but at the wrong time, it came become oppressive, all these stores selling the same again and again. In Shuhe, we felt the same peace as in Shaxi (even if Shaxi is even more authentic). The streets are larger, the water more present, horses have space to take people. At 10:30 am, there was a sit-down show on a stage with dancers, then a singer. It is very near Lijiang and yet quite different. Plan at least 2 hours but more is better to not feel rushed and have time for lunch by the pond.

Thank TravelingCat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2018

We stayed up near here, so ended up dropping by during every day of our stay in Lijiang.

Was great, and although well-trafficked, a better & more interesting mix for me than the main old town. Wish we'd stayed in it. Worth wandering, both the main streets and the far, more isolated corners. Farming & produce on the edges, interesting culture & architecture throughout. Nice views on a clear day out towards Jade Snow Mountain.

Go visit it! Give yourself time! Also good for a meal or stop on the way to or from Baisha.

Thank hope42morrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

Delightful old town with streetscapes from the lost past and although basically a shopping precinct has a quiet, warm ambience. We weren’t there in peak tourism and strolling through the old town was a delight. Take your time. Beautiful silverware and things to feast your eyes on.

Thank Contentment101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2018 via mobile

From the ancient cobble stone street to the narrow pathway, this place is packed with tourists, but still maintains some type of tranquility. The water running along the town is clear and not polluted. We dined at one of the local Restaurant and it was quiet delicious, reasonably priced as well. The temperature at night hovering around 60f and slightly drizzles, which make walking quiet comfortable. Although the town is full of shops selling trinkets, but atmosphere is very relaxing.

Thank retiredhaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018

A beautiful village, similar to Lijiang old town, but more relax and without the mass of people. But also less shops and things to buy.
There are many quaint Coffeebars and restaurants. Worth a visit.

Thank WhoppeR2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2018 via mobile

Smaller and quieter version of Lijiang ancient town. Abit far from the city but reachable with public transportation.

Thank Frozzy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2018 via mobile

We stayed in a guesthouse in Shuhe for almost a week, our guesthouse was located in the north of the town so it was much quieter and pleasant than the South Gate area where all the hustle and bustle happens. Even though most of the buildings have been turned into shops and restaurants it is still more peaceful than Lijiang Old Town which we found overwhelming and extremely loud, on the other hand Shuhe is definitely louder than Baisha. Shuhe has good location for trips to Jade Dragon Snow Mountain and TLG, we used didi for the first and rented a car for the latter.

Thank Kasia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2018 via mobile

Blessed with a mild morning and blue skies, I really enjoyed a couple of hours walking around Shuhe. There are some really beautiful scenes, particularly up the back of the town. I love the 400 year old bridge with its shiny smooth stones. Early morning is a good time to go as it is quite peaceful. I could imagine it could get a little crazy later. Chinese do take a while to warm up. Prices do seem to be less than Lijiang. Loved the statues around the town as well. Would love to visit in the evening. Glad I made the effort before flying out later that day.

Thank bladdamasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2018

Location is about 6-7 km from Lijiang Old Town. I heard it was as good and less crowded. Yes, it was quiet, but no way it was as good as the Lijiang Old Town. It was small area and smelly (horse droppings everywhere). We left after 15 minutes.

Thank Mike_Jkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews