We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shuhe Ancient Town”
Review of Shuhe Ancient Town

Shuhe Ancient Town
Ranked #4 of 87 things to do in Lijiang
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Shuhe is a small village a couple miles to the north of Lijiang, in Yunnan province. It has similar old architecture as Lijiang with similar places to buy Naxi woven cloth and products from local artisans. A major advantage over Lijiang is that it is relatively unknown so the streets are much less crowded and food and lodging is cheaper. In addition to woven goods, there are stores selling wood carvings, Naxi style pottery and silver filigree jewelry. There was an elderly artist whose paintings were all done with the edge of his thumb producing quite astonishing images.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Shuhe Ancient Town”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

You need to pay 50 Chinese yuan to enter Shuhe Ancient Town. If you are older than 70, you are free. Bring your passport with you.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tselo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    345
    131
    30
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very quaint town with 1000 years of history”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is a much quieter and quaint town than Lijiang Old Town and is 200 years older than Lijiang Old Town according to our tour guide. The town houses many nice restaurants and cozy cafes / book bars. Definitely a great place for a stroll after dinner.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Thunderbirdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England
Level Contributor
135 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Too much of the same”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed four nights in Shuhe, assuming it to be a better base than the over-touristy LIjiang Old Town. It is certainly less busy than Lijiang, but because of our high expectations I am sorry to say we were disappointed. Unlike Dali there are no 'real' shops - not even (as far as I am aware) a supermarket. They all sell exactly the same goods and fall into one of the following categories: purveyors of tea; hair combs; drums/CDs; leather bags; other tourist goods. We only paid a quick visit to Lijiang - which luckily for us coincided [I think] with the flower festival - but even though it was more congested we actually preferred its atmosphere. We liked our accommodation (Hui Feng Inn) and the food at Nomad, but overall we think we'd have been better off staying in Lijiang and just visiting Shuhe for a day.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris_and_Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilin, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Prefer here than Lijiang Old Town”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Both Shuhe and Lijiang ancient towns I had been, and I prefer Shuhe because it is more like a residence place. Still some locals live there and have their daily life. Shuhe is not as commercial as Lijiang ancient town, less tourists and smaller than Lijiang ancient town.

May be because of its location, about 15 - 20 min driving from Lijiang ancient town, so this place is not as prosperous as Lijiang town. But for me, if I can visit Lijiang in my second time, I prefer to accommodate in Shuhe.It is more like a "town" which is built for residentts but not for visitors.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kevin1982-Tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ancient town”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This feels more like an ancient town than the Lijiang ancient town. We enjoyed the pony rides and the less crowded streets. This was less touristy so we liked it more than the ancient town of Lijiang. Good shopping as well.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rasika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shuhe Ancient Town also viewed

 

Been to Shuhe Ancient Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing