We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort
Ranked #4 of 966 Hotels in Lijiang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Before Trip, I had the highest expectation for this property. Location is great just beside the Old Town, Daiyan, however, no one mentioned that, if you are on a holiday, you do not wish to be woken up by the horning sound from the main buzzing street in front of the property.

Properly we are down with luck, or being too pamper from our previous stay @ Banyan Tree Lijiang, thus upon arrival, when the staff DID not bother to greet you and carry your luggage you immediately feel the difference.

Although the hotel is beside the old town, there are lacking proper direction to and fro the old town. Badly lit lights in the cold winter nights with uneven pepped road prove to be quite dangerous.

We had a suite room and the worst of all, RM 6024, Upper level, on a latitude of 2400 can be tedious and when in the middle of the night, then we realizes that the bathing room / tap and toilet was not working turn out to be the nightmare to wrap up 2013. The assistant Manger that turned up seem to have the least knowledge about operating the system and kept offering the suite downstairs as a compensation seriously piss us off.

Bathing at sub zero seriously was not a joke and someone in the group was injured / scalding her hands while bathing and no medication was offered, bringing us to breaking point. Around 2am, the toilet broke down and unable to flush. The hotel housekeeping did not do a good job, never check the facilities and end up giving us such lousy suite. Imagine Clearing Toilet Bowl on XMAS EVE!

Importantly, no one really attend to us till upon check out, when I repeatedly demand to speak to the management, then the front desk staff get, Ms Elaine Wong, the sales director to meet us 45min before check out.

Seriously although we had thrash out the stuff with her, I think is only justify if we feedback this to the public.

This hotel seriously need to look into training their staff, to be more courteous, proactive and take pride in their work. The hardware is there but not the people and is the core of the business.
Appreciate Elaine & Patty to take time hearing us out and making "compensation for the hellish stay" and empathise us with what we had over the night on xmas eve.

Like what I had heard, this hotel really is a commercial hotel and this experience we went through seriously do cast a shadow over our lovely Lijiang Trip,

Room Tip: Never take suite 6024
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UK17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPLijiang A, Director of Sales at InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear guest,thank you for taking the time to post feedback from your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate receiving the direct feedback and it is always shared with our team. And we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience may bring you. I also want to take this opportunity to let you know that we will enhance the management of hotel facilities and improve service quality. I hope we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.Have a good time.
Yours sincerely,
Director of Sales
Andy Zeng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (705)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

200 - 206 of 705 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is the best hotel you can find in Lijiang. Fantastic view and close to the southern part of the Ancient City. It offers tranquility and it makes you feel so relaxed. The staffs are so friendly and very professional.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPLijiang A, Director of Sales at InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear guest, thanks for your feedback of the recent stay at Crowne Plaza Lijiang Ancient Town. I am very delighted to find out that the attractive resorts satisfied you. Welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Director of Sales
Andy Zeng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The setting for this hotel is amazing and the design of the hotel is impressive. The rooms are roomy and very comfortable. They were a little dark but still tastefully decorated. The food was okay though we were disappointed in the Thai Restaurant which we found a little bland.
Overall, we had a great stay. The hotel is near the old town which once you've wandered round for a few hours is enough. The better attractions are farther afield and the hotel was helpful in arranging transport for us. We chose to use taxis and we fortunately found someone who was reliable. Fiona on reception was a great source of information throughout our stay. Though there are many travel agencies in Lijiang, we did not find any who spoke English. Fiona was very helpful and even showed us where and how we could purchase our onward train tickets.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPLijiang A, Director of Sales at InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear guest, thanks for your feedback of the recent stay at Crowne Plaza Lijiang Ancient Town. We are happy to know that you enjoy time at our hotel, we would like to meet you at Crowne Plaza Lijiang Ancient Town in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Director of Sales
Andy Zeng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We made a trip to Lijiang as a break from business as Shanghai weather and pollution was unbearable. We booked on line as there were some good offers. Finally realised it was a mistake after all as the room wasn't well cleaned and the hotel itself wasn't that good. We wanted to try Thai food in the restaurant where the hotel offers Thai menus but were utterly disappointed with the quality. The so called Thai dishes were no where near the authentic Thai dishes we've tasted. Before arriving in Lijiang we were in Shanghai and went to a Thai restaurant which was a delight. Anyway, second mistake, trying to enjoy Thai dishes. Fortunately we had some more free days which we had not planned, so we left the hotel without extending our stay. It was worthless staying.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Josephine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPLijiang A, Director of Sales Marketing at InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear guest,thank you for taking the time to post feedback from your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate receiving the direct feedback and it is always shared with our team. And we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience may bring you. I also want to take this opportunity to let you know that we will enhance the service level and improve hotel restaurants' quality. I hope we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.Have a good time.
Yours sincerely,
Director of Sales Marketing
Elaine Wong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights in this 'five star' hotel. Rooms are good spacious with all expected comforts but are dark. Desk lamp on our children's room was broken. Dust accumulated around appliances (not cleaned professionally).
Laundry was expensive (as expected) but the hotel messed up the service. We were promised delivery by 6-7pm. The next day laundry was not done. Usual apologies but no real solutions. This big chains have lost the sense of service.
Staff behind front desk struggled with their English.
In all a disappointing experience not worth the money!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Milloscampeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPLijiang A, Director of Sales Marketing at InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear guest,thank you for taking the time to post feedback from your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate receiving the direct feedback and it is always shared with our team. And we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience may bring you. I also want to take this opportunity to let you know that we will enhance the training and improve service quality. I hope we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.Have a good time.
Yours sincerely,
Director of Sales Marketing
Elaine Wong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

The location of the hotel just blew me away. It is located in the Ancient Town of Lijiang, facing the beautiful Snow Mountain Peak. The room designs, their decor and the way they are constructed like a little village with streams flowing right around was breathtaking. The staff were super and very friendly. The foods was excellent too. I would recommend this hotel any day.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wizzie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPLijiang A, Director of Sales at InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear guest, thanks for your kind words about your experience. It is always encouraging us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our hotel as it is what we strive for everyday. Should you travel back to Lijiang, we would be thrilled to welcome you.
Yours sincerely,
Director of Sales
Andy Zeng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The service level of this hotel is unmatched in China, and I have stayed in quite a few 5 star international hotels in various parts of China.

The hotel was incredibly beautiful and tranquil compared to the Lijiang Ancient town just outside of the hotel.

Every hotel staff have been incredibly helpful during my stay. The receptionist/concierge took the extra mile to track down the restaurant where I left my gloves to ensure I could continued my dinner at the hotel. Bellboy politely declined my tips after my travel companions staying at the room next door paid for my share. Humidifier (at request) is a very nice touch, especially for those who are not used to the dryness of the plateau or have altitude problems.

Just like all other restaurants at Yunnan, food at the hotel restaurant (and in-room service) tends to be more salty and spicy than I could handle, but I suspect this could be easily resolved if I had put in a request in advance. The waitress impressed everyone at the table by reciting every order without writing a single word down and maintaining a professional smile when we made a lot of custom changes in broken Chinese.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chupachups1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPLijiang A, Director of Sales Marketing at InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear gues,thank you for staying with us and for your positive comments which will encourage us to do even better. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay in Crowne Plaza Lijiang Ancient Town again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Director of Sales Marketing
Elaine Wong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
3.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
#2 of 966 in Lijiang
297 reviews
4.4 mi away
Banyan Tree Lijiang
Banyan Tree Lijiang
#3 of 966 in Lijiang
970 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Bivou
The Bivou
#1 of 966 in Lijiang
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Lijiang Ancient Town
3.5 mi away
Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa
4.2 mi away
Arro Khampa by Zinc Journey Lijiang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort

Address: No.276 Xianghe Road, Old Town District, Lijiang 674100, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 966 Hotels in Lijiang
Price Range: $166 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a sprawling 51,000 square meters of lush greenery, InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort is strategically located in World Cultural Heritage-listed Lijiang, Yunnan Province. It is the only international five star village resort hotel in Lijiang Ancient Town World Cultural Heritage Site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing