We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort
Ranked #4 of 928 Hotels in Lijiang
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Excellent Property”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

A wonderful place to stay. We stayed here midway through an 18 day tour with a full day on our own. The spacious rooms are spread out, all on one level, in various buildings but golf carts take you to and from your room if needed. The ancient town is just outside the back gate - a wonderful place to get lost. The view of the mountains from the lounge or patio is amazing. The breakfast buffet was unending and could be enjoyed inside or in the courtyard in the sunshine - we were there in July. All in all it was the perfect place to recover from several grueling tour days and prepare for the days ahead.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeniorTraveler547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPLijiang A, Director of Sales Marketing at InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear guest,thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Lijiang Ancient Town and sharing experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time here. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future. Have a good time.

Yours sincerely,
Director of Sales Marketing
Elaine Wang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    156
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
118
195
34
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

The best part of my holidays in Lijiang was my stay in this hotel. The toilet was super clean. The room was excellent. Breakfast was superb. Location, near the ancient city of Lijiang, the best. Service was amazing!! The BEST!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chee Huang F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPLijiang A, Director of Sales Marketing at InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time post the comment after your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Lijiang Ancient Town. We are so happy to know you enjoyed your stay and you appreciated the location, facilities, and rich breakfast in our hotel. We sincerely invite you to experience the Tea Tree SPA at the next time.

Yours sincerely,
Director of Sales Marketing
Elaine Wang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed for three nights with our children aged 3, 6 and 8, and accupied two adjacent rooms.
The property is fabulous with houses built in the traditional style. The garden in particular is beautiful. The most attractive part of the hotel is its location: it is built on the edge of the old town, so you can walk into the maze of old streets directly from the hotel, without crossing any main road.
While the architectural style is outstanding, the service level is not necessarily at the level you would expect from such a hotel. This is not uncommon for high end hotels in China. During our stay we experienced issues with door keys. Small problem but for some unclear reasons it took a lot of time to get resolved. The manager finally got involved and dealt with the case well.
We had one lunch, the food was expensive but excellent. The breakfast was good, with a large choice, but nothing outstanding. In fact the best part of the breakfast was actually the view on Snowy Mountain, really beautiful.
Overall a great property, ideally located, with a service level that could be a bit better given the price you have to pay to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flying_AngMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPLijiang A, Director of Sales Marketing at InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for taking your time and sharing experience about your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Lijiang Ancient Town. It’s a great honor to have you with us. And we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience bring with you. We will enhance the service quality and take actions .We truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel again.

Yours sincerely,
Director of Sales Marketing
Elaine Wang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed three nights and were very impressed by the waiters and waitresses. They were very kind and always tried to please. I ordered a glass of white wine at the bar, and the waiter also brought out a complimentary glass of Chilean Cabernet. But we were a bit disappointed in our room. We requested a nonsmoking room, and although this room was completely free of smoke, it was musty. We were on the lower floor, so it was also dark, and we had trouble figuring out the many different light switches. We never really had enough light. Also, the towels were really thick, which ordinarily would be nice, but they never dried out. The room had a wet feeling. The breakfast buffet was just ok. I ended up having cornflakes two mornings, because the eggs were really oily, even after requesting no oil. The Thai food at their restaurant was good. Try the Pineapple stir fry, it was delicious. Be warned, if you order a glass of wine, their typical size is much less than what you'd receive in the states. Pool was fabulous, and we loved LiJiang. Old town was very crowded but fun. We actually enjoyed getting lost.

Room Tip: Request an upper floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolceduet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPLijiang A, Director of Sales Marketing at InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear guest, thanks for your feedback of the recent stay at Crowne Plaza Lijiang Ancient Town. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience due to the rooms’ smells, weak light and towels' problems. We will definitely rectify the issues and looking into hardware facilities, ensuring that we provide all our guests with an excellent experience while staying with us. We hope this wouldn’t deter you from choosing Crowne Plaza Lijiang Ancient Town in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again.

Yours sincerely,
Director of Sales Marketing
Elaine Wang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Properbly one of the best travel and hotel experiences in whole China and we have traveled a lot. The rewards are well deserved!!! Nice and quiet, great scenery in- and out the huge hotel area. Hotel construction materials are very nice both inside and outside. Breakfast amazing. Recommended by our friends and they were so right. The kids enjoyed it too. Walking distance to the old town.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bos_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPLijiang A, Director of Sales Marketing at InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for sharing your stay experience with us. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time here. We can’t wait to show it to our staff and guests. Welcome to experience our Tea Tree Spa in your next visit. I hope we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Director of Sales Marketing
Elaine Wang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have been here for 4 days, this is a resort. Rooms are large and bathrooms are different, but modern. The shower is a
Rainforest one, attached to the ceiling, a wonderful shower experience. The service generally is excellent. The staff which
Returns the rooms to normal, leave little notes. I have never experienced this anywhere in the world. Little carts drive you
To your room after you came back from visiting the old city. I can not fault the resort. Breakfast is a very large spread of
Excellent quality. The resort is 2500 meters above sea level and it will take a little time to get used to it. If I must find a possibility for improvement, I would love to see a dry spot for your towel in the shower. As I said,Iam picky now.
I truly can recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank harryv989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPLijiang A, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear guest, thanks for your feedback of the recent stay at Crowne Plaza Lijiang Ancient Town. We are happy to know that you enjoy time at our hotel. I will share the comment with our management, and try our best to make humanized design in the shower. Thanks for your helpful suggestions again, we would like to meet you at Crowne Plaza Lijiang Ancient Town in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Executive Assistant Manager
Jason Chen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Entering the Crown Plaza in Lijang equaled like strolling into a luxurious atmosphere with pleasant service. We staid at a large, quiet and very convenient, well-designed room with the luxurious and relaxing bath seperated from the shower. The soft bed linen even felt like heaven. The breakfast is a large buffet, where we were impressed that, although we had ours at around 10.00, the buffet still looked untouched, which is a compliment for the staff taken the overall number of guest during our stay. Moreover, we enjoyed the service of the hotel staff offering you help and explanations at various sections of the buffet. Crown plaza is very well situated at the entrance of the old town and offers you a wide range of spa treatments, and a large convenient swimming pool. In brief; we have experienced an excellent stay at a stunning accomodation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPLijiang A, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for taking your time and sharing such a positive review about your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Lijiang Ancient Town. It has been a great honor to have you with us! We truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel again.

Yours sincerely,
Executive Assistant Manager
Jason Chen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
3.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
#2 of 928 in Lijiang
240 reviews
4.4 mi away
Banyan Tree Lijiang
Banyan Tree Lijiang
#5 of 928 in Lijiang
889 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Bivou
The Bivou
#1 of 928 in Lijiang
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
3.5 mi away
Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa
4.2 mi away
Arro Khampa Lijiang by Zinc Journey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort

Property: InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort
Address: No.276 Xianghe Road, Old Town District, Lijiang 674100, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 928 Hotels in Lijiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a sprawling 51,000 square meters of lush greenery, InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort is strategically located in World Cultural Heritage-listed Lijiang, Yunnan Province. It is the only international five star village resort hotel in Lijiang Ancient Town World Cultural Heritage Site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing