We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the more beautiful cities you'll see in China.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort
Ranked #4 of 923 Hotels in Lijiang
Certificate of Excellence
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
139 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“One of the more beautiful cities you'll see in China.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

I've been fortunate to have enjoyed staying at a number of Crowne Plaza hotels in various parts of the world but the one in Lijiang Ancient City has to be one of the better Crowne Plazas I have spent any time at when it comes to location and comfort. The restaurants are very good, especially the Basil Leaf- what great Thai food they served up! Unfortunately, while good in the restaurants, the level of service in the hotel was inconsistent. I needed to check in & out twice over a period of three days and maybe I was just unlucky, but each time I checked out I seemed to get the bewildered-looking, unsupervised trainee. A checkout that takes 15 minutes is a bit more than I would have expected and I was presented with the credit card slip to sign before being shown the hotel bill, all at a prime checkout time. The rooms were great. Large, with an open plan room and bathroom setup- with all the things you would want, whether staying for business or pleasure: iron / ironing board, mini bar, TV with English channels, dressing gowns, etc. The Internet connection during my stay was really good, and you can connect more than one device at a time viz: laptop, iPhone, iPad. Location is also good. There is a convenient 'back door' entrance from the hotel into the Ancient City which, besides the expected touristy shops, has some local Chinese restaurants really worth trying out. All in all, I would recommend this hotel in what is one of the more beautiful cities I've seen in China.

Room Tip: Choose one close to the main reception building if you have difficulty with walking but otherwise al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigvE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPLijiang A, Director of Sales at InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about your experience and are happy to hear you enjoyed your time here. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team.
We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Warm regards,
Jason Chen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    154
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
117
188
34
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

For those who have not yet been to Yunnan province of Peoples Republic of China, it is a must see. In this amazing landscape there is incredible wealth of history and culture. The Crown Plaza is most certainly molded along these features and imbued with all the colorful characteristics of the region. With its authentic architecture it blends perfectly with the old town Lijiang. The interior and the exterior decoration of the rooms, lobby with a breathtaking view, meticulous service and high standarts in food quality make this establishment a shinning example of hotel service for not only Yunnan but of entire China. The SPA is also highly recommended for those who wish to spoil themselves.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous, but go for the junior suites if your budget permits
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xiao H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPLijiang A, Director of Sales at InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about your experience and are happy to hear you enjoyed your time here. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team.
We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Warm regards,
Jason Chen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed for 3 days in this hotel. First class facility, location, view and services. The rooms we stayed were fantastic. One of the best breakfast buffets. Would highly recommend for anyone with opportunity to visit Lijiang.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPLijiang A, Director of Sales at InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about your experience and are happy to hear you enjoyed your time here. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team.
We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Warm regards,
Jason Chen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, WA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I traveled with a group here...and the hotel was brilliant. They handled our 22 person check in flawlessly...the rooms were terrific, the property pretty and the breakfast very satisfying. We toured throughout the day so we did not get to check out too much more, but we loved it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notsochubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPLijiang A, Director of Sales at InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about your experience and are happy to hear you enjoyed your time here. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team.
We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Warm regards,
Jason Chen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

A beautiful Hotel, Stayed 4 nights whilst on a Helen Wongs tour. Wonderfull rooms and facilities.
A few problems with Room service, which was is not uncommon in a Country where English isn't the main language spoken. But on the whole an exceptional hotel.

Would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wardy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPLijiang A, Director of Sales at InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback from your recent stay at our hotel. All of your comments will be shared with the team and know the staff will be thrilled to read your compliments. We are proud of our team and service they deliver for our guests every day.
Should you travel back to Lijiang, we would be thrilled to welcome you.

Warm regards,
Jason Chen
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this gorgeous oriental style hotel during our recent trip to Yunnan and can highly recommend it to anyone planning a trip to Lijian.

The Hotel
It is a beautiful hotel located adjacent to the Old Town of Lijiang. Hotel lobby is impressive with a distant view of the Jade Dragon Snow Mountain. There is a secured rear gate (manned by hotel staff) that leads directly in to the Old Town – very convenient. Hotel rooms are spread across an extensive property, villa style. Hotel buggy is available to ferry guests around if required. The hotel ground is beautifully landscaped and well maintained – nice to walk around & very peaceful.

Our Room
We had a superior king room on 2nd floor as requested. The bedroom is spacious, clean and very well appointed. The bathroom is large with a separate shower, bath and toilet. 2 sliding doors around the bathroom area means one can leave them open for extra spaciousness or have them closed for privacy – brilliant design! We love the partially heated bathroom floor/tiles (including the shower floor). We also love the wooded oriental décor. Bottled water provided in the room daily.

Food
Buffet breakfast offers a good selection of western and Chinese style food - better than many other hotels we've stayed during this trip. We had dinner one night at the inhouse Chinese restaurant. It was expensive compared to restaurants in Old Town, but was worth it – good food & service and most of all, a great sunset view of the distant Jade Dragon Snow Mountain.

The hotel bar has a stunning view of the Jade Dragon Snow Mountain. There are indoor and outdoor seatings and is a great place to enjoy a light meal or a drink. Adequate food and drink menu offering some wine by the glass.

Service
All the staff we came across were very courteous, friendly and managed to communicate well with limited English and always keen to help.


We very much enjoyed our stay at this hotel and wished we could stay an extra night – simply to linger and enjoy this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms bordering lane ways next to the Old Town. It can get quite noisy at night when business...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelmaker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Really lovely hotel with great proximity to the old town, the grounds are lovely to wander around to escape the crowds for a break. Our room was lovely and roomy which was conveniently located for both the reception area and back gate. Some signs to the hotel in the old town would be helpful as it is very confusing and there's no use leaving a breadcrumb trail. The staff were polite and helpful, however, language was a barrier at times, however, you do come to expect this in China and this is a regional location. This aside I highly recommend this hotel to add to the highlights of Lijiang and its surrounds.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a courtyard unless you want to be on display.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michlikestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPLijiang A, Director of Sales at InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are very happy to know you love our hotel. I will share your comments with our staff. They will be thrilled to read this. There is one socket around the mirror. Welcome to experience our Tea Tree Spa in your next visit. Should you travel back to Lijiang, we would be thrilled to welcome you.


Yours sincerely,
Jason Chen
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
3.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
#2 of 923 in Lijiang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
4.4 mi away
Banyan Tree Lijiang
Banyan Tree Lijiang
#5 of 923 in Lijiang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Bivou
The Bivou
#1 of 923 in Lijiang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa
4.2 mi away
Arro Khampa Lijiang by Zinc Journey
0.5 mi away
Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort

Property: InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort
Address: No.276 Xianghe Road, Old Town District, Lijiang 674100, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 923 Hotels in Lijiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a sprawling 51,000 square meters of lush greenery, InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort is strategically located in World Cultural Heritage-listed Lijiang, Yunnan Province. It is the only international five star village resort hotel in Lijiang Ancient Town World Cultural Heritage Site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing