We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally not what I expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort
Ranked #3 of 940 Hotels in Lijiang
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Totally not what I expected!”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

This hotel was surprisingly beautiful. It was like a little town within a town with a vast campus of buildings and rooms - but done in such a way that it didn't feel like too big of a complex. The rooms were quaint with enough modernity mixed with Asian architecture and styling. It was also super easy to walk into the Old Town and find places to eat/shop. If we ever find ourselves in this part of China again, we'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2010Ivory, Director of Sales at InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and for your positive feedback which will encourage us to do even better.We look forward to welcoming you back to stay in Crowne Plaza Lijiang Ancient Town again in the near future. DOSM-Jason Chen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    158
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
125
200
34
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Stayed in this hotel twice during our recent trip to Yunnan. Both times the service was excellent and the second time they upgraded our room which was amazing. It is well worth staying here as apart from being such a good hotel they have a gate at the back that goes straight to the old town which makes it very easy if coming back in the evening or you want to go out before the crowds in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppy070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2010Ivory, Director of Sales at InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and for your positive feedback which will encourage us to do even better.We look forward to welcoming you back to stay in Crowne Plaza Lijiang Ancient Town again in the near future. DOSM-Jason Chen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Wow!! This is a fabulous Hotel!!! I was so pleased to stay here for 2 nights while touring Yunnan Province. It livens your spirits to stay in such a quality hotel. Especially since most of the other hotels in which we stayed in Yunnan province were mediocre at best. I can't say enough great things about the Hotel as well as the service. This is a Resort. Hotel consists of several buildings but it was a very short walk to our building so not an issue. If you need one of the small golf cart type conveyances to take you to your building it will be promptly done.
Rooms are a good size with plenty of room. Bathroom is very nice and clean. Great amenities. Beds are wonderful and comfortable, not low to the floor or hard like some of the Chinese hotels.
Breakfast food was wonderful. Many choices. Coffee was decent. Juice was very good.
Lobby of Hotel is very impressive with comfortable seating and very helpful staff. Beautiful furnishings.
This Hotel reminded me of 5 star hotels in the U.S. We did not seem to have the very large groups of Chinese tourists that we saw in most of the hotels in which we stayed in Yunnan Province.
Recommend that you stay here if you plan to tour Lijiang.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aug30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2010Ivory, Director of Sales at InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and for your positive feedback which will encourage us to do even better.We look forward to welcoming you back to stay in Crowne Plaza Lijiang Ancient Town again in the near future. DOSM-Jason Chen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

excellent hotel, comfortable spacious room and resort feel. Pricey but u pay for service and quality. It's located at the other end of the ancient town. There is a hotel at the entrance of the ancient town call Grand Lijiang but don't know about its service and quality of rooms.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J-Lo8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2010Ivory, Manager at InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and for your positive feedback which will encourage us to do even better. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay in Crowne Plaza Lijiang Ancient Town again in the near future. Tommy Yap - Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We spent 3 nights at this beautiful hotel. Situated at the south of the Lijiang ancient town, it was a short walk to the main action although it took a lot of asking around getting to and from the back entrance. The map supplied by the hotel wasn't detailed enough. As I speak Mandarin, it was easy enough asking for directions. The design blended in with the rest of the old town and I took many photos of the buildings and surroundings. Rooms were large, clean and quiet even though we were on the ground floor. Beds extremely comfortable and bathroom design is unique. As my husband pointed out which I didn't notice - the middle slabs of concrete/tile on the ground in the shower and toilet were heated!

Did not have time to use all the facilities in the hotel except the restaurants. Breakfast spread was good and the food at the Chinese restaurant was good and reasonably priced. There is a small local Chinese eatery called 'He Shun Snacks' behind the hotel through the back door which the hotel recommended. Serves cheap local Chinese food. Not much of an ambience though. We ordered packed lunches from the hotel for our trip to Jade Dragon Snow Mountain. Bit pricey but portions were huge with a triple decker sandwich, fruit and yoghurt in each pack.

Apart from the beautifully designed buildings and rooms, what made this hotel special was the impeccable service by the Resident Manager Mr. Tommy Yap and his team. I emailed before arrival with certain requests and was pleasantly surprised by Tommy greeting us by our names upon our arrival. Since we booked 2 bedrooms, he made sure our rooms were side by side although the front desk initially allocated 2 rooms on different floors for us. He also introduced the F&B manager and duty manager. We visited at an awkward time where it was too hot for heater and a little too cold for air con but he managed to get his staff to change from heater back to air con for us plus added humidifiers in our rooms. It was very dry in Lijiang during that time of the year. Tommy saw to our every need and made our stay absolutely perfect. He also took time out to chat with us, a nice touch.

Would love to return to this hotel again some time in the future. Highly recommend this hotel to all my family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvidHolidayMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2010Ivory, Manager at InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and for your positive feedback which will encourage us to do even better. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay in Crowne Plaza Lijiang Ancient Town again in the near future. Tommy Yap - Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We started our tour in Lijiang and it was a real experience right from pick up at the airport. The landscape is stunning and the direct access to the old town is very convenient.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giggelsteiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2010Ivory, Manager at InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and for your positive feedback which will encourage us to do even better. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay in Crowne Plaza Lijiang Ancient Town again in the near future. Tommy Yap - Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We escaped to the Crowne Plaza after our agent booked us at the Zen Garden and we revolted (see seperate review).
The contrast was amazing,the physical setting of the main lodge and the grounds are impeccable and impressive.Service,always a challenge for non chinese in China,was superb! Everyone from the bellboy,to the doorman,the concierge,restaurant staff etc spoke passable English and what is more important,genuinely seemed to want you to enjoy your stay.On the first evening we had a wonderful buffet dinner at the hotels Brazilian meat restaurant (great food,value for money as well) and we left a scarf at the table.When we got back to the room after an evening stroll in the Old City the scarf was already in our room having been returned by Hotel staff - without our having to call or ask them to do so!
The twin bedrooms we stayed in were modern,with a Philips flat TV & DVD system & a Bose sound system.Also had enough lighting which is rare in modern hotels.Shower + bath superbly outfitted as well.In short not a single adverse comment to be found.
The Crowne Plaza is the only pace to stay in Lijiang Old Town!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2010Ivory, Manager at InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and for your valuable stay experience which will encourage us to do even better. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay in Crowne Plaza Lijiang Ancient Town again. Please feel free to contact me at rm@cplijiang.com for any assistance requirement in the future. Tommy Yap - Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
3.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
#2 of 940 in Lijiang
257 reviews
4.4 mi away
Banyan Tree Lijiang
Banyan Tree Lijiang
#5 of 940 in Lijiang
909 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Bivou
The Bivou
#1 of 940 in Lijiang
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa
4.2 mi away
Arro Khampa Lijiang by Zinc Journey
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Lijiang Ancient Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort

Property: InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort
Address: No.276 Xianghe Road, Old Town District, Lijiang 674100, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 940 Hotels in Lijiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a sprawling 51,000 square meters of lush greenery, InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort is strategically located in World Cultural Heritage-listed Lijiang, Yunnan Province. It is the only international five star village resort hotel in Lijiang Ancient Town World Cultural Heritage Site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing