We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star with hiccups”
Review of Fuguo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fuguo Hotel
Ranked #194 of 941 Hotels in Lijiang
Reviewed October 23, 2010

Odd place--non English speaking and haughty front desk staff, bellboys more helpful. Beautiful architecture, though, the open courtyards meant a lot of water splashing up on slippery walkways and poorly lit at night. On the edge of the old town, but a good 1 km walk to the main square on the other side of old town. Fair breakfast nook overlooking the old town. Perhaps there is more going on during high season, e.g. when the restaurant is not empty and the bar closed down?

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
There are newer reviews for Fuguo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 31 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2010

First of all, you should know that this hotel is absolutely beautiful (ancient Chinese palace style) and perfectly located on the quiet edge of the Lijiang Old Town (making both car and pedestrian access easy). As long as you avoid the cheapest (single) rooms, the rooms are also 5 star and extremely comfortable. The breakfast buffet is good, perhaps not exactly what Westerners are looking for, but you'll find something edible to eat (I'd recommend the noodle station).

But the reason I am not rating it "five stars" is the service problems I encountered as a foreigner. Frankly, this is a Chinese-managed luxury hotel, and Chinese management is simply not as good as Western-management in understanding and "taking care" of their overseas guests.

My first problem arose from my reservation, made on a discounted Expedia rate. The hotel had loaded the wrong rate into Expedia's computers -- basically offering small single rooms as normal (and much nicer) double rooms. Mistakes happen, although I think the "right thing" for the hotel to do was simply honor the rate as a double room. They refused to do that, and even refused to resolve the issue in advance when I had a Mandarin speaker call for me after I realized there was "a problem." The difference in price between the single and double rooms was less than US$25, and I ultimately paid this difference after arrival, but dealing with it was a needless exercise in confusion and frustration, all for no good reason.

The hotel also "forgot" to pick me up at the airport (it was included in the rate -- they ultimately paid a taxi driver to get me, but I wasted almost a half hour making the alternative arrangements), and they were incapable of handling simple requests that one would expect to be easy for a 5-star hotel (like the room plugs did not fit my USA laptop computer, which is somewhat unusual in China, and the front desk said they couldn't find me an adaptor).

Also forget about getting any concierge help (restaurants, attractions, transportation) that you might expect from a fancy hotel (or any hotel for that matter).

These problems did not ruin my stay because, as I said, the hotel and rooms are absolutely beautiful and well-located. The good outweighs the bad, at least if you get a deeply discounted rate. Just know going in that, as a foreigner, you may run into some indifferent service, and adjust your expectations accordingly.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

I stayed at Chateau L'Act during Christmas weekend with my husband and 20 year old daughter.
We booked a family suite: living room with fireplace, 2 bedrooms, bathroom and wraparound balcony.
Our rate included free pick up at Lijiang airport. Our flight was very delayed, due to fog in Chengdu. We had phoned the hotel to warn them of the delay; we had some concerns because their English was not very good, but we were relieved to find the car and driver AND a hotel rep waiting for us when we landed at 1AM.
Upon getting to our room, my husband and daughter were so enchanted they immediately took photos. So many nice little touches: a blazing (gas) fire and warm milk waiting for us in the suite, painted boxes throughout which would open to reveal useful purposes (amenities storage, mirror, tea caddy, wastepaper basket), interesting (if not the most practical) furniture, very comfortable beds and linens.
The hotel is brand new, but imitates the old local architecture. The place is quite a maze, takes a while to learn your way around. Very quiet and peaceful. Nice use of water throughout, a reflection of Lijiang itself.
The location at the southern end of the Old Town allows arrival by car (an issue for us since we had heavy luggage), and with another (pedestrian) exit directly into the Old Town, it is about 15-20 minute walk to the main square.
The breakfast is not sumptuous, especially compared to other 5-star hotels we stayed at in China, but it is more than adequate.
The front desk staff needs to improve their English skills. The first morning we commented that even though there were THREE of us staying in a FAMILY suite, there were only TWO of everything (2 bathrobes, 2 pairs of slippers, 2 teacups, 2 coffee packets, etc), and that we would like 3. They seemed to understand, but when we returned that afternoon, the problem was not corrected. Again we mentioned it, they said "yes, yes", but no action. Finally that evening I phoned Housekeeping directly, where someone spoke good English, and within 5 minutes we had our full complement of amenities for 3 people.
If we ever return to Lijiang, we would book here again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mequese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2009

I desperately wanted to be in the old town but thought the guest houses looked too rustic/basic for me so I gambled and tried the new Chateau L'Act hotel. It is just inside the gates of the old town by the south entrance. It's very quiet. I booked a superior middle room in order to get a bathtub. The hotel is very new and built around a courtyard. It means that my room and presumably many others, don't really have windows. The door is glazed which lets in light but that's it. That was the worst bit about the room but if you need air/light the courtyard is lovely to sit in with ponds and running water and comfortable chairs etc. The room had a safe, small cupboard, couple of slightly upright chairs, relatively hard bed. The lighting was good. Big flat screen TV but only one Chinese news channel in English. The bathroom was spacious with big free standing bath. The shelf to store soap etc was up high though so not particularly convenient! Breakfast was ok but not hugely extensive and only lemon juice (no apple or orange juice on offer). I did manage to get fried eggs out of them though. Do stay in Lijiang it is absolutely stunning and a highlight of my entire trip. The hotel web address is [--] because I was never able to track it down!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thumbelina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Staying in this hotel is a bit like staying in an Imperial Palace. No expense has been spared on the design of the hotel, it is simply beautiful. The rooms are well appointed with excellent bedding and the food is wonderful. Service is good but this is a new hotel and it is clear that the staff are still a little nervous, especially of laowei. Location is perfect, set in the brand new "old" town of Lijiang that is surprisingly tastefully done with lots of great restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Westynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2009

A beautiful hotel on the edge of the ancient town. Lots of hot pot restaurants next door and good location. Restaurant serves very good meals at very decent prices. The spicy breakfast noodle soup was one of the best we had in China. The rooms are very comfortable but have little natural daylight, although we didn't mind much. Service was brilliant.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Priti11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed September 24, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
3.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
#2 of 941 in Lijiang
266 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
4.6 mi away
The Bivou
The Bivou
#1 of 941 in Lijiang
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Lijiang
Banyan Tree Lijiang
#6 of 941 in Lijiang
917 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort
6.3 mi away
Baisha Holiday Resort Lijiang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fuguo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fuguo Hotel

Address: No.198 Guyou Alley, South Gate, Lijiang 674100, China (Formerly Chateau L'Act)
Location: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 941 Hotels in Lijiang
Price Range: $166 - $730 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fuguo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lijiang, homeland of Nanxi ethnic group, with a long history and charming sceneries, is located at the upper reaches of the Chin-sha River, it is the descent of ancient Qiang People. The old town, 2,400m above sea level, is one of China Famous Cities with Long History and Splendid Culture. Chateau L` Act hotel, Lijiang, a five-star hotel, standing in the World Heritage Lijiang, which is invested by Yunnan Fuguo Investment Co., Ltd., it is the hotel that only and wholly features the culture of Tibet Buddhism in Yunnan. The hotel, covering an area of around 10000㎡, is composed of 12 building groups in classical architecture style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fuguo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing