We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Unique Villa Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guanfang Hotel Garden Villa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guanfang Hotel Garden Villa
Ranked #29 of 916 Hotels in Lijiang
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Unique Villa Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

From the exterior, the estates look quite interesting. We were first arrived at the lobby area and then we were transported over to our villa via a golf cart. Each villa has about 4 rooms and comes with a Guan Jia (housekeepr). Our guan jia is a young Naxi lady. She was very attentive and well-mannered. We flew in pretty late and probably way past her bedtime, but she made sure we were settled in. We were housed on the 3rd floor. The room seemed a bit run down and was quite small. I was a bit short of breath after showering due to the slightly higher elevation of 2200 in Lijiang. But I was able to sleep. We woke up to a table covered with freshly prepared breakfast. The guanjia wakes up early to fry eggs, heat up congee, prepare sausage and bacon, boil coffee, warm up milk, stir fries veggies, and provides a plate of buns and pastries. The villa is located in the outskirts of town though. The living room and kitchen is located on the ground floor with quite a homey feel. The surrounding areas with bridges and flowers and the Jade Dragon Snow Mountain as the backdrop was more impressive than the actual room itself. However, the service provided was excellent. Our guanjia offered us fruit and brought warm milk up to our rooms. It was a pleasant 2 night stay.

Room Tip: There are two rooms on each floor. We were auto assigned one since we flew in late. But I read that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muselulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    144
    22
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
4
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Morrisburg, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

A beautiful villa-style hotel with a few rooms in individual villas. The villa we stayed in had an interior courtyard and was situated along a quiet street along with other similar villas. The entire resort was located in a beautifal area with many views of the mountains nearby. Getting to the rooms was a bit confusing at first because we arrived at night and didn't understand that we would be taken directly to our place via a buggy. Inside the room is well lit, clean and well-appointed, including a computer workstation. I really enjoyed the stay here - lovely bathroom, comfortable beds - and will definitely return when I'm in the area again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank dihnontourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed two nights in this delightful hotel on March 23 and 24 during our group tour of Yunnan. The mini-bus (more like a buggy on the golf course) took us from the reception to our room in super quick time. Our room was on the 3rd floor which had two rooms. There were two other rooms on the 2nd floor. The room was of sufficient size, clean, with ample heating and all the usual amenities. The occupants of these four rooms shared a living room and dining room. A pc was provided with free Internet access. A big screen TV was also provided in the living room. Breadfast was served by the cheerful caretaker. The food was simple Chinese fare eaten communally. We had stir-fried vegetables, pickles, omelet, rice porridge, soup noodle, sausage, tea, coffee, soya bean milk, hot milk, cake and fruits.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SINtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

Our group of 9 friends spent 2 enjoyable nights in a 5 room villa as part of a 9 day whirlwind tour of Yunnan. It gave our group the opportunity to congregate instead of turning into our respectives every night.

The entire estate appears to be quite new. Our villa, 9188 was large and comfortable. The sofas and arm chairs though upholstered in white, had not a stain on it. The villa was well maintained and clean, the bedrooms of decent size with comfortable beds and linen. The master bedroom was huge and comes with its own sitting room.

Somewhat of a letdown was the bathroom. Though clean, the simple almost spartan blue tiled bathroom was not in keeping with the grander tones in the rest of the villa. Marble would have been nice.

Each villa came with its own caretaker and ours was a young man called Hsiao Bai. He prepared warm milk at night, a "home-cooked" chinese breakfast and if pre-arranged at extra cost, a delicious herbal chicken soup for supper.

All in all a memorable experience and one of the highlights of our Yunnan experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KayaToasted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

2 nights in a room in the villa shared with strangers staying in the same villa was quite a experience. It would have been better if the villa is shared by own family members. As the villa has a butler each to take care of your breakfast needs, housekeeping, etc.. she can sometimes be too busy with running from one villa to another if it happens to be a peak season for the hotel. My experience with the butler in the villa I stayed wasn't that friendly or nice as she seems to be preoccupied with her stuff at times when we called her over.
The heater in room during autumn season do not seem to do a good job at keeping me warm too.
But overall, I would still rate it a pretty good experience.

Room Tip: 2 persons in a room is good enough as adding an extra bed will cause the third person to be lying on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frossiebombom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
701 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed at a big villa that had about 10 rooms in it. Generally this hotel is pretty run down. Really nice location but not well kept. Bed was not comfortable at all. Landscape needs more maintenance. We should have stayed at the Pullman that opened a couple months ago. Breakfast was a circus with tons of people. Room was relatively clean at least and their service was pretty good.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daikin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2010

My Lijiang tour had a 2 night stay in this 5 star hotel cottage style villa that spread over a large area.

To travel to the parking lot or front office, we need to book a pickup tram with the butler.

Abt 15 mins taxi ride to ancient town, which will cost us 15CNY per trip.

Nice place with a stay in female butler to serve you meals and also she will serve us nightly complimentary warm milk fromn the hotel farm.

Will have enjoy it even more if the cottage is occupied with yr own family members or friends.

We were sharing the cottage with 4 different families of our tour group as this cottage had 4 rooms, and we will alotted the 3rd floor, had to walk up many flights of stairs to our room.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lijiang
2.5 mi away
Lijiang International Hotel
Lijiang International Hotel
#209 of 916 in Lijiang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Guanfang Resort & Villas Lijiang
0.7 mi away
Treasure Harbour International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Baisha Holiday Resort Lijiang
0.5 mi away
Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
N Du Hotel
N Du Hotel
#121 of 450 in Dali
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guanfang Hotel Garden Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guanfang Hotel Garden Villa

Property: Guanfang Hotel Garden Villa
Address: Middle Section of Shangri-La Avenue, Gucheng District, Lijiang 674100, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 916 Hotels in Lijiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your Guanfang Hotel Garden Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing