We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, worth staying” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lijiang Sanhe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lijiang Sanhe Hotel to your Saves list
Lijiang Sanhe Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.4 Jishan Lane, Xinyi Street, Old Town, Lijiang 674100, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Name/address in local language
Ranked #123 of 752 Hotels in Lijiang
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good, worth staying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is my 3rd trip to Lijiang and I love this place. This time I came with my hubby, my 3 years old boy, my parents, brother inlaw and family. I decided that we are gg to stay in the ancient town to experience some thing different so I booked Sanhe. Due to flight delayed, we arrived pass mid night. The staffs were very helpful and friendly. Despite that its so late, they still helped us to add extra bed, laid the bed sheet and all these were done with smiles.

The bedroom was of a comfortable size attached bath room, bed heater, a small table, 2 stools...

Although, we had to walk a distance away from the hotel for breakfast and it is super cold in the morning, we were quite satisfied with the food served.

The location was very convenient, not too far from the main road, surrounded with eateries, shops etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babetan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    32
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
26
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed here for just one night on my way to Shangrila. The location of the hotel is simply perfect. It is walking distance to the town center and has all the restaurants and bars nearby. The hotel is clean and comfortable. The beds are really big. They do not provide any soaps or shampoos so you need to car your own. The hotel is pretty big and the room at the back are not noisy even though the hotel is in the middle of the walking town.
The signs in the bathroom are a little funny as they are literal translation from Chinese.
Lots of eating places nearby but beware of the cheats. The restaurant we went to told us that they can not give less than six beers. After the two of us had ordered that we saw others having a single beer. This became a big deal as my Chinese companion felt cheated and called the police. Looks like the it was normal to cheat tourists this way.
Overall we had a very comfortable stay in Sanhe hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms towards the back building as they are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Grande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights after our trek in tiger leaping gorge. We could walk into the streets of old town Lijiang directly fron here and come back to relacx when the noise and activity got too much. It was nice but nothing ancient or old town about it - very new. We had a suite which was too big for us but we enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are good but you have to be careful going up and down the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rasika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights in total. The rooms were clean and the staff was helpful. It is centrally located in Lijiang Old Town so everything is close. It is, however, a good respite from the crowds. The courtyards are beautiful and peaceful. We enjoyed relaxing at the hotel and visiting with each other. Only annoyance was the lack of toiletries. You have to buy little packets of shampoo and body wash as the hotel doesn't provide any. Creating so much trash with each shower seems to run counter to their "Eco" tourism positioning. Overall, a good value.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Food-happy-AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This place blended old style courtyard with clean and comfortable modernized rooms. It is in the heart of Lijiang Ancient City old town and has lots of charm. Daily breakfast is included provided by a cafe around the corner. This is a quiet oasis from shopping, tea tasting, and people watching. They had reasonable rates and we had a small frig for drinks along with tea.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpatfromMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oerlinghausen
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

I love this one. Lijiang Sanhe Hotel is really the place to be when you want to enjoy a relaxed, clean and atmospheric Chinese Hotel in Yunnan for a really afforable price. It is not a backpacker hotel, but not luxuary neither. Like most hotels and shops in Lijiang, this building was rebuilt after the 1996 earthquake in the traditional Yunnan/Naxí style wooden houses including two cosy inner courtyards. We were very lucky to get the two-room suite for the price of a standard double room and really enjoyed it. Stylish wooden furniture all over. The living room with TV, two sofas, tea time accessoires and 3 different types of tea, etc. Bedroom with a desk, huge wardrobe, trésor and - yes - an electric blanket. Bathroom and shower were also very spacious, clean and designed. Personnel was very friendly, accepted bad Chinese and spoke English quite well. The did not have breakfast up there but we got tickets for a small European restaurant 40m away (coffee, toast, crêpes, eggs etc.). If you ask me: skip it as you should always skip Western food in Asia! I did and enjoyed 3 most delicious breakfasts in the small restos just opposite the hotel entry: hot beef noodle soup, Jiaozi dumplings and my favourite Baba, a flat Naxi-style wheatbread. Since the hotel is located directly in the center of this pittoresque but already touristic and crowded small old town, it becomes quite loud during the evening. If you want to get sleep before midnight, do not forget earplugs. Summarizing, it was really the best hotel of our 3 week China roundtrip and we really recharged energies here.
(German couple, 33 yrs, Group Roundtrip, travel experienced)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TigerSpringSprung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We liked this hotel, in its courtyard setting. More basic rooms than some large city centre ones, but its setting and charm more than made up for it. Pine furniture, room sizes not large but sufficiently big. Great to be in Lijiang old town. Breakfast served in cafe over the road which was fine - good fried eggs.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurascudders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
0.2 mi away
Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Lijiang Ancient Town
3.4 mi away
Maple Leaf Inn
Maple Leaf Inn
#13 of 752 in Lijiang
4.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
LUX* Tea Horse Road Lijiang
LUX* Tea Horse Road Lijiang
#10 of 752 in Lijiang
5.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Bruce Chalet
The Bruce Chalet
#5 of 752 in Lijiang
4.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moon Inn
Moon Inn
#50 of 2,226 in Lijiang
4.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lijiang Sanhe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lijiang Sanhe Hotel

Property: Lijiang Sanhe Hotel
Address: No.4 Jishan Lane, Xinyi Street, Old Town, Lijiang 674100, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 752 Hotels in Lijiang
Hotel Class:3 star — Lijiang Sanhe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your Lijiang Sanhe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing