We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banyan Tree Lijiang
Ranked #5 of 928 Hotels in Lijiang
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This hotel is really special. The view of the Himalayas are magnificent. We stayed in a villa and had our own hot tub in our front garden which we used every day. I used their spa which was excellent. From the Hotel you can attend a performance of "Yin Xiang Lijiang" directed by Zhang Yimou , the Chinese Film director responsible for the opening and closing ceremonies at the Beijing Summer Olympics. It is spectacular

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronald s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear ronald s,

Thank you very much for your very positive observations that you have shared and for choosing Banyan Tree Lijiang.
We have taken note of your comments and shared them with our respective teams and while appreciating the positive experience that you have shared, we also seriously look and make initiate corrective action for any areas that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We thank you again for the time taken and truly appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,

Michael Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    246
    48
    21
    9
See reviews for
138
217
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2014

My wife and I had booked a 4 night stay in Garden room but at last minute our son who is studying in China decided to join us. The hotel suggested that we upgrade to a 2 bedroom villa for a very small supplement over the cost of an additional bed in our original room.
The villa had a garden and 2 courtyards and was of superb quality. We thoroughly enjoyed our chance of R&R in between the hustle bustle of Beijing and Shanghai!
The only glitch was that we couldn't get the Guandong sports channel in the hotel and therefore missed the Manchester United match! We'll live though!
Most comfortable bed I've ever slept in!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeadHead777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear DeadHead777,

Thank you very much for your very positive observations that you have shared and for choosing Banyan Tree Lijiang.
We have taken note of your comments and shared them with our respective teams and while appreciating the positive experience that you have shared, we also seriously look and make initiate corrective action for any areas that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We thank you again for the time taken and truly appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,

Michael Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

When booking the Banyan Tree, I wondered how in the world it could be so low on the Trip Advisor list. Well...it didn't take long to figure out. The surroundings and architecture are absolutely stunning, but that's certainly where the good times stopped.

I'll admit that the room is certainly romantic, with great views of Snow Mountain. But is that enough to justify the $1000 price tag - certainly not!

* Scratch beneath the surface and there is a lack of attention to detail, from dust-covered tissue boxes to smelly toilets.
* Walls are paper thin in the villas, meaning you can hear everything going on around you.
* The hotel gouges you on food service, with only subpar plates coming from the kitchen.
* Also - unless you are a huge fan of congee and chicken feet avoid the breakfast.
* Clientele also made the stay a chore. Many were brash, rude and loud.
* Service was difficult to come by. Although you might pass someone and they would say hello, even as a foreigner using Mandarin they'd look at you funny. Then they would just go get the English-speaking staff to help. I'm not saying that they all should speak English, but they could certainly have tried better to communicate in Mandarin. I can only imagine how hard it must be for guests that don't speak the language.

Long story short, stay at the Crown Plaza if you are looking for a bit of luxury. Far superior and cheaper. This was my first, and last, experience at a Banyan Tree. What a shame.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear John P,
We have read your comments on TripAdvisor with regret and would like to clarify certain discrepancies.
The room charge that you had agreed to pay was approximately 373 US Dollars per night without breakfast and the room type that you had originally booked was a Garden Suite. However we offered you a free upgrade to a Superior Suite since the room type that you had booked was not available when you were checking in. I beg to differ that the price tag was not 1,000 U.S. The actual rate that you paid was Chinese Yuan 2,277 and when converted to U.S it comes to approximately 373 U.S per night.
With regards to the breakfast, we offer a wide range of Western, Chinese and Asian dishes. For those who prefer to enjoy western breakfast we offer pancakes, croissants, a wide range a bakery items, various types of egg dishes ( Cooked to guests preference at the Egg Station) , bacon, sausages, ham and also vegetables, salads, fruits, yogurt, a variety of cheeses and more. It is misleading to say that there is only Congee and Chicken Feet. Indeed in the Chicness section we also offer these specialties among a large variety of Chinese dishes.
Of course someone who travels to China would expect some difficulties while communicating in English but in every department we have English speaking associates, especially during breakfast as we do have a fair amount of Non-Chinese guests who do enjoy our facilities, the food and certainly the friendly and amiable staff members.
Very best regards,

Michael Thomas
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We had a wonderful stay in Banyan Tree Lijiang from 1 - 4 April 2014. Lee Li was excellent in showing us around the 2-bedroom Duplex Room we had. He even loaned us a local phone with his mobile number so that we could contact him if we need anything. He was very proactive to inform us of the rainy weather forecast on the day we planned to go cycling. Our Duplex Room had the best view of the Snow Mt every morning from our bed and balcony. We also enjoyed a complimentary 90-minute spa treatment for 2 pax. We chose not to stay inside the old town as the cobbled streets would be difficult for the old folks. But Banyan Tree's location just 10 minutes outside Shuhe Old Town meant we could walk there every evening to enjoy the town scene, take our dinner, have a drink before taking a slow stroll back to the resort. There was some confusion though whether we could qualify for the complimentary night promotion (i.e. stay 3 night get 4th night free) as 1 staff said no but another staff said yes. Overall, it was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear lisa c,

Thank you very much for your very positive observations that you have shared and for choosing Banyan Tree Lijiang.
We have taken note of your comments and shared them with our respective teams and while appreciating the positive experience that you have shared, we also seriously look and make initiate corrective action for any areas that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We thank you again for the time taken and truly appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,

Michael Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2014

My family spent 5 night there, and plan to go toward to Shangri -La .But my little girl got high altitude sickness.So we have to change our plan. While i think that i got trouble Banyan tree team dissolve my problem like it's never been happen . They sent us to Dali (lower altitude town)and booked nice hotel in Dali for us.We have good time there, but we still miss kindness help of Banyan tree stuff. They make us feel like stay at home's friend not hotel. Big thanks for you all ,we 'll be back to visit our friend again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spunboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear spunboon,

Thank you very much for your very positive observations that you have shared and for choosing Banyan Tree Lijiang.
We have taken note of your comments and shared them with our respective teams and while appreciating the positive experience that you have shared, we also seriously look and make initiate corrective action for any areas that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We thank you again for the time taken and truly appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,

Michael Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2014

The resort mainly caters to locals and surrounding nationalities. For Europeans the food selection may be limited and communication a bit difficult. That being said, we had a wonderful 5 night stay in a beautiful spa villa. Very clean, very tidy. Fresh fruit basket every day. Complimentary bottle of red wine. Fresh ground coffee and plunge coffee maker in villa. Some of the things we really appreciate. The tour guide, William, suggested excellent tours that made our stay so more exciting than expected. He speaks good English, if friendly, polite, knowledgeable and good sense of humor. The spa is great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettinajuhler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear bettinajuhler,

Thank you very much for your very positive observations that you have shared and for choosing Banyan Tree Lijiang.
We have taken note of your comments and shared them with our respective teams and while appreciating the positive experience that you have shared, we also seriously look and make initiate corrective action for any areas that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We thank you again for the time taken and truly appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,

Michael Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

First visit to Lijiang with my family last week. Banyan Tree Lijiang stay was the best choice. The double storey, 2 bedroom was super spacious. The kids enjoyed their stay very much. The upper floor provided us the most scenic view of Jade Dragon Snow Mountain.
Hotel staffs are helpful & friendly. The hotel limo service is excellent & driver is very professional.
One slight disappointment was waitress services in the Chinese Resturant is a
bit lack.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Jacqueline Y.

We are very grateful for your stay with us and also taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor.

While we are delighted that you had a memorable stay with us, we also note that you were not satisfied with the service at the Chinese restaurant and regret that we could not meet your expectations in that area.

Thank you again for the time taken and your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Michael Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
#2 of 928 in Lijiang
240 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bivou
The Bivou
#1 of 928 in Lijiang
288 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
1.2 mi away
Arro Khampa Lijiang by Zinc Journey
4.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Lijiang Ancient Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Lijiang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Lijiang

Property: Banyan Tree Lijiang
Address: Yuerong Road, Shuhe, Gucheng District, Lijiang 67410, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lijiang
#3 Spa Hotel in Lijiang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lijiang
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lijiang
#25 Best Value Hotel in Lijiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Lijiang 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the historic charm, rich culture and sweeping landscapes of Lijiang, declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1997. Located in the highlands of Yunnan province, the resort is adjacent to the Na'xi minority old town of Shuhe and only a 10 minute drive from the ancient Silk Road town of Baisha. Situated close to the base of Jade Dragon Snow Mountain, it is surrounded by high peaks and hidden valleys, making it a photographers dream. Many unique experiences are ready to be enjoyed as you explore the back streets of the ancient towns, traverse the mountainous landscape to Tiger Leaping Gorge, Wen Hai lake, or take a cycle trek through the foothills to remote Yi villages. For a more leisurely experience, indulge in one of the many luxurious treatments available at the world renowned Banyan Tree Spa. With clear blue skies for nine months of the year, enjoy a breath of fresh air and escape to the tranquility of Banyan Tree Lijiang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Banyan Tree Lijiang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Lijiang Hotel Lijiang
Banyan Tree Hotel Lijiang
Lijiang Banyan Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing