We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banyan Tree Lijiang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Banyan Tree Lijiang
Ranked #5 of 923 Hotels in Lijiang
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
2 reviews
“Amazing holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Banyan Tree Lijiang for three nights. I am not Chinese so my girlfriend being from China, we had the opportunity to explore the local places without any language issues or restrictions. But Banyan Tree had no problems whatsoever to undertand me or my needs and we had the most amazing time. The natural feel of the resort with the amazing mountain views are already a huge plus. Then the staff add on to that with thier great service, friendliness and never say " No" attitude. Every morning we were greeted with big smiles from the people tending the landscape to all the way to the security guarsd at the gate.

We really had a wonderful time. Can't wait to go back some day.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with the duplex where you can wake up overlooking the Snow Mountain, and have your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajalvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Rajalvis,

My team and I are truly delighted to know that your recent visit to Lijiang and your stay at Banyan Tree Lijiang were memorable in all aspects.

We are sincerely happy that we could contribute to this wonderful experience and thank you for choosing Banyan Tree as well for taking the time to write your review.

Of course, we too, look forward to welcoming you back and wish you all the very best.

Michael Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    246
    47
    21
    9
See reviews for
133
213
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

It's my second time to Lijiang after 2005, but first time with banyan tree which recommend by friend. I have to say I made a right decision.
I was lose my heart to this hotel while I arrived, the view from lobby is magnificent, pond, antique pagoda, snow montain, Naxi style building... The staff were friendly and helpful. The villa make me feel in a world of my own, enjoy my private garden with a jet pool directly facing to snow montain.
This hotel is located next to Shuhe old town within walking distance, you will pass a small store with old and local furniture, very interesting.
My wife said the SPA is the best SPA in China, the food price is resonable compare to the restaurant in old town. hotel is very big, easy to get lost, have to carry a hotel map all the time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hetian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Hetian,

Thank you very much for your very positive observations that you have shared and for choosing Banyan Tree Lijiang.
We have taken note of your comments and shared them with our respective teams and while appreciating the positive experience that you have shared, we also seriously look and make initiate corrective action for any areas that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We thank you again for the time taken and truly appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,

Michael Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very well designed, the architecture makes you feel like you are away from the city, whereas one of Lijiang Old Town is just 15mins away walking distance.

The rooms are nice, we had a small garden and could see the mountains waking up in the morning.

Breakfast is good, they have food to satisfy both Chinese and Western palates. Room service was also nice, prices are ok for a 5 star hotel.

Staff is very helpful and accommodating which you would expect from this kind of hotel, but getting a good service is pretty rare in China.

I would recommend this hotel for couple visiting Lijiang.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabrice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Fabrice S,

Thank you very much for your very positive observations that you have shared and for choosing Banyan Tree Lijiang.
We have taken note of your comments and shared them with our respective teams and while appreciating the positive experience that you have shared, we also seriously look and make initiate corrective action for any areas that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We thank you again for the time taken and truly appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,

Michael Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

The USD 700 per night room certainly didn't provide us with surprises we would like to have: Room Electricity Failure over the night; Stink from toilets ; Stain on the curtain and carpet ; Poor heating system; Limited breakfast choices. There are better choices in the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael T, Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Jia L,
Thank you very much for your staying at Banyan Tree Lijiang. We are so sorry that you experienced a disappoint stay. I have been reported the details of above matters to the department concerned. We assure you that the necessary actions have been taken to ensure that similar incidents will not be occurring again in the future.
We are looking forward to welcome you again while you visiting Lijiang.
Thank you very much
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkk, thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

This was my second visit to Banyan Tree Lijiang on one year. I wanted to spend time before the Chinese New Year as Lijiang would be too busy.

The hotel did even better than my last visit although it got older. The staff is very friendly and ever so helpful. The services are performed with dedication even though one can clearly see old and outdated equipment. Internet, Room facilities especially heating are such inconveniences. We had some difficulty with cold restaurant and room.

The Shuhe old town , from the last visit has got more thrash everywhere, more commercial. It is unfortunate too see the beauty of such places being compromised for profits. Government involvement is necessary to curb the uncontrolled development.

The Banyan Tree Lijiang remains the Grand old lady with charm and character amidst the chaos happening just outside. This is mainly due to the charming people who ensure that the hotel is meeting the expectations of the customers, whereas Lijiang doesn't anymore.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerdpathomyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear kerdpathomyon,

Thank you very much for your very positive observations that you have shared and for choosing Banyan Tree Lijiang.
We have taken note of your comments and shared them with our respective teams and while appreciating the positive experience that you have shared, we also seriously look and make initiate corrective action for any areas that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We thank you again for the time taken and truly appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,

Michael Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed during CNY and cannot compare to the previous hotel I stayed in Lijiang which was so called International but poor in quality. Banyan Tree is a good place with beautiful views of the mountain. Lots of space to relax in the room and enjoy the privacy. Breakfast was too crowded and messy but I think it s not usual.Friendly staff and also efficient but again, maybe because of the CNY busy times, sometimes they were struggling to serve everyone. The hotel has a fleet of Jeeps which are cool and also the Spa is fantastic.
Overall, great stay and we will go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oswald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Oswald J,

Thank you very much for your very positive observations that you have shared and for choosing Banyan Tree Lijiang.
We have taken note of your comments and shared them with our respective teams and while appreciating the positive experience that you have shared, we also seriously look and make initiate corrective action for any areas that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We thank you again for the time taken and truly appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,

Michael Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

I love the hotel a lot, we hv booked a four people house here with garden n pool. It's very spacious, clean, with nice aroma n music pre set in the room. Chinese restaurant provides small dishes food only! We hv to order a lot of dishes n order double portion. rmb 1100 for four people dinner is ok in other countries but too expensive in china! But food is good n delicious

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank Leung C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Leung C,

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind comments posted on TripAdvisor.

I have shared your feedback with my associates and we are grateful for your your time taken to share your experience.

Kind regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
#1 of 923 in Lijiang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Bivou
The Bivou
#2 of 923 in Lijiang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Arro Khampa Lijiang by Zinc Journey
3.9 mi away
Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
3.7 mi away
Amandayan
Amandayan
#20 of 923 in Lijiang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Lijiang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Lijiang

Property: Banyan Tree Lijiang
Address: Yuerong Road, Shuhe, Gucheng District, Lijiang 67410, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lijiang
#3 Family Hotel in Lijiang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lijiang
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lijiang
#25 Best Value Hotel in Lijiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Lijiang 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the historic charm, rich culture and sweeping landscapes of Lijiang, declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1997. Located in the highlands of Yunnan province, the resort is adjacent to the Na'xi minority old town of Shuhe and only a 10 minute drive from the ancient Silk Road town of Baisha. Situated close to the base of Jade Dragon Snow Mountain, it is surrounded by high peaks and hidden valleys, making it a photographers dream. Many unique experiences are ready to be enjoyed as you explore the back streets of the ancient towns, traverse the mountainous landscape to Tiger Leaping Gorge, Wen Hai lake, or take a cycle trek through the foothills to remote Yi villages. For a more leisurely experience, indulge in one of the many luxurious treatments available at the world renowned Banyan Tree Spa. With clear blue skies for nine months of the year, enjoy a breath of fresh air and escape to the tranquility of Banyan Tree Lijiang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Expedia so you can book your Banyan Tree Lijiang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Lijiang Hotel Lijiang
Banyan Tree Hotel Lijiang
Lijiang Banyan Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing