We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Yunnan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banyan Tree Lijiang
Ranked #6 of 941 Hotels in Lijiang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2013

One of the most beautiful places we have stayed in, anywhere. It is elegant and extremely beautifully designed. Good taste, in keeping with a stylized oriental concept and yet is very modern at the same time. The villas are spacious and extremely comfortable. We found it hard to leave the place because one just wants to enjoy every minute spent there. It is easy to feel at home in such a beautiful place. The permanently heated private jacuzzi in the garden is an added bonus. The attention to detail such as the red rose petals over the white bed covers was but one example of their desire to surprise and welcome.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ines Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael T, Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Ines,
We are delighted to learn that you had a memorable stay at the Banyan Tree Lijiang. I have shared your positive comments and experience with our associates and they are grateful for your very wonderful feedback.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed our Jacuzzi as well as the Rose petals that we arranged as a surprise.
We at your Paradise in Yunnan, wish you much happiness and all the very best and look forward to see you sometime again in the future.
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (918)
There are newer reviews for Banyan Tree Lijiang
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 219 of 918 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a lovely stay here, from the moment you exited the taxi the service was outstanding. English was not a problem with the majority of the staff which is a major help to us. We had a bar b q in our 2 bedroom villa which was excellent....too much food, we probably only ate about half of it. The staff come with the bar b q set it up, set the table for fine dining came back with a floodlight....the garden lighting is very muted.....came back later with our desserts......then came again the next morning and took all the mess away. We had a view of the mountain from our garden, so the whole experience was very spectacular. Not cheap, but nothing there is! Biggest bath I have ever seen in the master suite. Everything you want or need is there in your villa, only disappointments were, it is a little tired and I could not get an appointment when I wanted a spa treatment.....sooo sad...too bad!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MurrumbaJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael T, Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear MurrambaJo
We are delighted to learn that you had a memorable stay at the Banyan Tree Lijiang. I have shared your positive comments and experience with our associates and they are grateful for your wonderful feedback.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed the great views as well as the Barbecue and the bathtub. We are sorry that we could not accommodate you for a Spa Treatment due to the Spa being heavily booked due to the very high demand. May I suggest that you visit us again when time permits you and we will ensure that you will have a complimentary Spa treatment this time!
We wish you much happiness and all the very best and look forward to see you sometime again in the future.
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel, the first thing that blew us away was the great view from the reception area. Lijiang in itself was a small town, and the hotel was about a 20 minutes drive from the main city. We enjoyed the quaint old streets and also the nights relaxing in our room. We got the two-bedroom villa which was spacious and tastefully decorated.
I'd like to mention Mr Mike He who greeted us and brought us to the room. He was a great host who received us warmly and provided us with all the information that we needed about the hotel.
One thing I didn't like was the that the pillows were too soft and made it a little uncomfortable when sleeping. In the master bedroom, the side tables were also too far from the bed so we had to either stretch or get out of bed if we needed something.
The spread at breakfast was great and the staff were helpful and friendly. We especially enjoyed ourselves at the spa, where my family and I opted for the Balinese massage, recommended by the staff there.
Overall had a great time and would definitely recommend the place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael T, Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Samantha,
We are delighted to learn that you had a wonderful family holiday at the Banyan Tree Lijiang. I have shared your positive comments and experience with our associates and they are grateful for your kind feedback. Mike, our Senior Resort Host is delighted that he could contribute to the pleasant memories of your holiday. We are also very happy that you and your family enjoyed our Spa.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed the great views as well as the breakfast, but sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our pillows. We do have a choice of Pillows and it is disappointing that for some reason you were not aware of this and we were not able to meet your expectations in this aspect.
We wish you much happiness and all the very best and look forward to see you sometime again in the future.
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
1. Good service: whether it's check in or at the restaurants, staff members tried their best to be helpful and were very professional. My husband n I fell sick the day we were supposed to check out. We were given complimentary extension on check out time n they even sent us complimentary porridge. Very thoughtful indeed!

2. Good tour package:
Though somewhat pricey, we were ferried ard in comfortable 4-wheelers like Crysler Grand Voyage or Jeep. The driver, Ricky was most patient n knowledgeable. We enjoyed our outings with him.

3. Good masseurs:
We enjoyed the massage n it was comfortable and relaxing.

Areas for improvement:
Hardware lacking:

For the price we are paying, banyan tree lijiang does not have the wow factor. Granted that the hotel has an amazing view of the magnificent jade dragon snow mountain but one does not feel pampered in the villa. Not every villa has a pool; there isn't even a bath tub in the villa that I was in. Banyan tree has not spared expenses to personalise its products, even using their very own personalised cups, pillow covers, bathrobe, slippers, etc. surely they can provide a better quality hairdryer yes?

At our spa treatment, my husband n I had to squeeze into a tiny changing room (and we are petite-sized); there wasn't a toilet in the spa treatment room and we had to walk down the long corridor before we could use the toilet. There was always some renovation noise going on and the masseuse kept having to use the toilet to wash up, prepare for next treatment n it was noisy and certainly not sufficiently relaxing. When we were massaged face down, what we saw was just a dark bowl w flowers. I can't even make out what it was. After the spa, we were led to a room for our tea. The snacks were delightful but perhaps the room can be designed in such a way that gave more privacy; it felt rather open and not so conducive for resting. We have been to other resorts and spa treatments and the difference is quite apparent.

If the compound space was lacking and so the hotel grounds had constraints, I can understand. But banyan tree lijiang has a sprawling ground. Better use of space will do justice to its reputation n of cos the price we pay per night.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caughtdetravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Caughtdetravelbug,

Thank you very much for your very positive observations that you have shared and for choosing Banyan Tree Lijiang.
We have taken note of your comments and shared them with our respective teams and while appreciating the positive experience that you have shared, we also seriously look and make initiate corrective action for any areas that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We thank you again for the time taken and truly appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,

Michael Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a wonderful 2 bedroomvilla with whirlpool and enjoyed the beautiful design, the space and the quietness. Because the hotel is a bit outside the town, we had always dinner there. We liked both restaurants, but preferred the chinese! The spa treatment was excellent!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your very positive observations that you have shared and for choosing Banyan Tree Lijiang.
We have taken note of your comments and shared them with our respective teams and while appreciating the positive experience that you have shared, we also seriously look and make initiate corrective action for any areas that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We thank you again for the time taken and truly appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,

Michael Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Banyan Tree Lijiang is in a spectacular setting and the property is very well maintained. Our room was exceptionally well appointed and very comfortable and our deck/ private spa were very relaxing. The service, however, is lacking the standards of a 5-star property and typical Banyan Tree standards. In particular, the service in the dining room was consistently slow and inattentive. The staff almost seemed to avoid interaction with Western guests but were most attentive to Chinese travelers. Many times we had to ask for things more than once while working hard to the staff attention for requests that should have been automatic. In addition to the poor dining room service, several interactions with other staff on the property were very sub standard. For example, one night the telephone in our room rang at 10:20 pm and a member of the front desk staff asked if we wanted a copy of the daily newspaper he had printed off the Internet. We did not appreciate being rudely awakened for something we did not specifically ask for that night which is the only circumstance short of an emergency that would justify a staff member ringing a guest's room at such a late hour. With such a stunning misstep by a staff member, coupled with our other concerns we had during our stay, I did take the time to detail the instances to the hotel general manager in a letter I delivered to his office suggesting that some additional training might be in order. I felt this was only fair since I fully intended to document these concerns for fellow travelers who might be considering this level of expenditure for a luxury property in Lijiang. He did not acknowledge my concerns but did send an underling with a (horrible) bottle of wine to our room. Regarding the spa and the tours we took from the hotel, the experiences were very favorable and met expectations, particularly our tour guide/driver who was very pleasant and eager to please.

The gift shop has a decent selection of items. However, the Banyan Tree t-shirt I purchased should have been much better quality for the price. The color ran on it the first time I washed it (in cold water) and essentially ruined the nice part of the shirt advertising "The Banyan Tree-Lijiang." Disappointing. It's hard to return a defective item when you live in a different country.

We enjoyed our stay at the Banyan Tree but had hoped for a higher level of overall service and therefore value for the money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank madisonlee1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael T, Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Banyan Tree Lijiang guest,
I have just taken over as the General Manager of the resort and I am very disappointed to read your comments, and to learn that the resort could not deliver your expectations to the best. We have noted that you appreciated many areas of our resort and services, while very rightly, did not feel comfortable with some areas, such as the communication, the telephone call late at night and of course your disappointment with the T Shirt.
On behalf of my associates and the resort, I sincerely apologize for the mishaps; with your very detailed feedback, I am confident that we can make things better. One day, if you do happen to return, I am sure you would see many improvements, especially in areas that you have highlighted, where we failed.
With regards to the T Shirt, we would be grateful if we can have the opportunity to ship a replacement shirt and would be grateful if I could have your address.
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback and we sincerely hope that we could make your next visit a perfect one, if we do get the opportunity.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

A beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting with excellent service. Had expected better food and beverage for the price. Eat out for variety and better value. Breakfast buffet was the same except for the token change of fried noodles to rice and we were there for 5 nights. The staff were helpful and what made the difference.

Room Tip: A big property so request a villa closer to lobby if you want to walk and not wait for golf buggies...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hector0108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
#2 of 941 in Lijiang
266 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bivou
The Bivou
#1 of 941 in Lijiang
303 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
1.2 mi away
Arro Khampa Lijiang by Zinc Journey
4.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Lijiang Ancient Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Lijiang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Lijiang

Address: Yuerong Road, Shuhe, Gucheng District, Lijiang 67410, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lijiang
#3 Spa Hotel in Lijiang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lijiang
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lijiang
#27 Best Value Hotel in Lijiang
Price Range: $207 - $652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Lijiang 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the historic charm, rich culture and sweeping landscapes of Lijiang, declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1997. Located in the highlands of Yunnan province, the resort is adjacent to the Na'xi minority old town of Shuhe and only a 10 minute drive from the ancient Silk Road town of Baisha. Situated close to the base of Jade Dragon Snow Mountain, it is surrounded by high peaks and hidden valleys, making it a photographers dream. Many unique experiences are ready to be enjoyed as you explore the back streets of the ancient towns, traverse the mountainous landscape to Tiger Leaping Gorge, Wen Hai lake, or take a cycle trek through the foothills to remote Yi villages. For a more leisurely experience, indulge in one of the many luxurious treatments available at the world renowned Banyan Tree Spa. With clear blue skies for nine months of the year, enjoy a breath of fresh air and escape to the tranquility of Banyan Tree Lijiang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banyan Tree Lijiang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Lijiang Hotel Lijiang
Banyan Tree Hotel Lijiang
Lijiang Banyan Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing