We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming”
Review of Blue Gecko Cafe

Blue Gecko Cafe
Ranked #5 of 130 Restaurants in Dali
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Blue Gecko has new operating hours! We are now open three days a week with a new wood-fire pizza oven. Come enjoy sitting in our garden and try our fabulous pizza each Monday, Friday and Saturday. If you have a group and want us to open for an event, call us to prearrange the time and we will open just for you!
Reviewed July 6, 2018 via mobile

Nice small cafe/restaurant on a busy street in Dali ancient town. Friendly UK owner. Found there spanish ham, salami and a mixed cheese platters. Delightful!
Also the pizza is quite good.
Recommended.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank 614adriang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 86 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2018 via mobile

I loved my food at Blue Gecko. I had an Italian panini, but we went there because the reviews said Mexican food. No bueno, the menu has a bunch of stuff crossed off. Mexican food is no longer served. As were a lot of other offerings. The owner told us she is changing the menu, because some things are difficult to get and expensive to make.

Since moving to China, we miss Mexican food. So, even though the food was good, it was a let down. And, even though we were the only ones eating, it took a fairly long time to get our food. But, the service was very friendly and accommodating.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank QingdaoAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracyasia, Owner at Blue Gecko Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

Hi There,
Sorry for the disappointment! Just a note to say, due to popular demand, we have added quesadillas and enchiladas back to the menu. If you're back in Dali, please give us another chance and we'll give you a free Mexican meal!
Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2018 via mobile

The lady who runs blue gecko was super friendly and gave us great local info while we were having breakfast. Her information got us to a great hike one of our favorites so far in china! Price was average and quality of food was great when we were looking for something other then local Chinese food.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank dylanc650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2018 via mobile

i am a student of dali university from india... being an indian + vegetarian it is very hard to find food of my choice in china... i had the best experience regarding food in dali today.. the food was delicious... going back soon.. a must visit

Date of visit: January 2018
1  Thank subhra m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2017 via mobile

We went here twice on successive nights. First time it was for local provincial Chinese food. The best our tour group had in the whole month. Then we went back the second night thinking more of the same, but no they switched things up for us, with steaks chips pizza and salads... a welcome reprieve from constant Chinese food.. brilliant food both Chinese and western

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank imcwade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Gecko Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blue Gecko Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing