We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everest or bust 2018”

Tibetmoto -Day Tour
Ranked #3 of 14 Tours in Dali
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tibetmoto offers day tours in and around Dali by motorbike, scooter, foot (hiking), bicycle and sightseeing / photo trips. The focus on all tours is to discover Dali area beyond off the beaten track and get a real insight into people, landscape and culture. Participants can chose between fixed departure day tours and customized tours.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed October 6, 2018

We just completed a tour to Everest base camp from Lhasa with Hendrik and his crew. From start to finish was a trip of a lifetime. Everything was organised extremely well from the different types of foods to the monastery tours and of course the riding through breathtaking scenery and long winding roads each day. The backup crew and mechanics were brilliant and a special shout out to Jimmy the tour guide who’s knowledge of everything and helpfulness made the trip. “JIMMY, we love you man”We also met so lovely people touring with us that will be friends for life.

Date of experience: September 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"everest base camp"
in 4 reviews
"tibet tour"
in 3 reviews
"own vehicle"
in 2 reviews
"world tour"
in 2 reviews
"an adventure"
in 2 reviews
"hendrik"
in 13 reviews
"crew"
in 4 reviews
"dhaka"
in 7 reviews
"border"
in 4 reviews
"tours"
in 4 reviews
"himalayas"
in 3 reviews
"mongolia"
in 2 reviews
"formalities"
in 2 reviews
"tashi"
in 2 reviews
"mechanic"
in 2 reviews
"bikes"
in 6 reviews
"journey"
in 4 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 56 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2018

This tour was excellent right from the word go. The knowledge the guides had on all the areas we visited was very well informed and they didn’t hesitate to stop and explain any part if you had a question. The sights are incredible and I have already recommended the Lhasa to base camp tour to people. Thanks Hendrik, tashi, jimmy and all the rest of the crew that made this awesome time possible.

Date of experience: September 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank jolleyhich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2018

amazing motorcycle tour for any skill level. all important sights were visited, amazing mountain passes, views, great food and cultural experience.

With Tibetmoto everything is perfectly organised, all bikes are daily serviced, their is a mechanic and a jeep with the luggage following, so you do not need to worry about a heavy load on your motorcycle.

the detailed information prior and during the trip are excellent and allow you to prepare your trip and gear correctly.

Tibet and the tibetan culture is a most see on your "bucket list". riding on a motorcycle and experiencing Tibet so close up and real is "the icing".

book early as there are limited motorcycles. Best riding time late spring or early autumn

go for a life time ride with Tibetmoto

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank iXas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendrik H, Inhaber at Tibetmoto -Day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2018

Dear Andreas,

thank you for your great review. Thats was our third time together on the road, right? I am looking forward going on tour with you many more times (and yes, one day I will come to Singapore to visit you there).

All the best, and thanks for the great photos
Hendrik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018

I have had the pleasure to ride with the Tibetmoto team in Sep 2018 during their Trans Tibet Tour and I would recommend fully hearted to join any of their upcoming trips.

A choice of Bikes in very good condition, beautiful roads, impressive landscapes, a knowledgable and helpful local guide, authentic accomodations and lunch/dining options and a very likeable, skillfull and supportive Tibetmoto Team (Hendrik, Tashi and the support crew). I trusted them right from the start and they accomodated any questions, concerns or proposals. If you look for a reliable tour operator with relevant local knowledge and the understanding for international guests - don’t look any further.
I’ll definitely book another tour with them - just this says everything.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Gehrden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendrik H, Owner at Tibetmoto -Day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2018

Dear Gehrden,

thank you for taking your time to write a review. It was great being on the road with you and I am happy to hear that you also had a good time with us in Tibet.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again next year during your Easter Holiday vacation (this time with your wife and kids).

Until then, all the best
Hendrik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2018

On a bright Sunday morning in April 2017, my 1983 Land Rover “Edna” and I started on a trip that would take us from the Netherlands to China, crossing over 5,300 meters high mountain passes.

End July 2017 we arrived at the Torugart pass, the border between Kyrgyzstan and China. From here we drove over 9000 Km to Shanghai, thereby travelling through XinJiang province and along the Himalayas through Tibet. The China part of the ‘expedition’ was arranged with strong support from Tibetmoto, which is run by Hendrik Heyne and his team.

In short, thanks to Tibetmoto, particularly when it came to handling red-tape in China, this trip has become an unforgettable lifetime experience. Travel through China using your own vehicle without a guide is not possible. (Apparently being accompanied by a guide was already compulsory during the time of the old Silk routes!) This holds particularly true for the more ‘sensitive provinces’. Having said that, the guides that we were provided with (Thubten and Tashe) are probably the best one can get for such a journey: Very knowledgeable, supportive and in plain English just great fun to have on board. On a trip such as this, things are bound to not always go exactly as planned (…). However, also when it came to difficult questions e.g. with regard to the arrangement of visa’s and permits, Tibetmoto proved to be an indispensable partner.
I would highly recommend their organization to anyone planning an overland trip to China.

Ard Van Gerdijk

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Ard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tibetmoto -Day Tour also viewed

 

Been to Tibetmoto -Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing