We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Super Place to Stay in Dali”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jim's Tibetan Hotel
Ranked #8 of 476 Hotels in Dali
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Super Place to Stay in Dali”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We read the reviews of Camiel S, bruzekkp, and Old-peculiar before starting our review, and we do not have a lot to add to what each of them said so well. Jim's Tibetan Hotel was a great place to stay during our June 2013 visit to Dali, and Jim, Lee, and Anna were great hosts.

As a clear indication of what you can expect at Jim's, we got lost walking from the bus to the hotel on our arrival, and Jim picked us up when we finally called for help in finding the hotel. (It is not hard to find; we just misread our map.)

The one dinner we ate at Jim's was very good, and the breakfast (included) got the day off to a great start. Lee makes a great gin and tonic that goes down very easily at the end of the day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    63
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
41
72
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We enjoyed our stay with Jim and his excellent team. Large, clean, comfortabel rooms, a really nice menu ( we ate there every evening), excellent advice on things to do and see and nice company as well.
This was also the only place on this trip where everything in the hotel was functionaing properly!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Camiel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This hotel is just a few minutes from the South gate of the old Town and is a wonderful place to relax after a lot of walking around and touring in the Dali area. Jim and Lee both speak great English and are very helpful in planning activities around Dali.
The decor is beautiful and the rooms are really big and the bathrooms are great!
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruzekkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is beautifully decorated with so many little touches it is incredible. All the staff are very welcoming and helpful and Jim, in his quiet, unassuming way is equally so. Our room was spacious and clean and it also had many Tibetan touches, it was nice to sit outside, overlooking the garden to play cards and have a drink. The food is excellent with something available at any time of day. Bikes are available to hire, also with excellent service: I had a puncture about 30 minutes away, yet a replacement bike was brought in no time.
The hotel is perfectly positioned just outside the old town gates. If you want a meal somewhere else for a change, do try Cat Dali.

Room Tip: See if a 3 bed room is available for the price of 2; it just gives that extra bit of space for your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Old-peculiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Jim's Tibetan Hotel was our favorite one in Yunnan. The nicely decorated and very clean rooms are spacious and Jim and his team are lovely hosts! Because the food and atmosphere was so good we came always back to the hotel to have dinner. Don't miss it when you are in Dali and also check Henriette's "China minority travel"-offers!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed at Jim's for two nights and found it to be lovely and very comfortable, Jim is an excellent host and made sure that everything was top notch (including his home made delicacies). The hotel is in a great location, a few minutes walking distance from the old city and in the awe inspiring shadow of the mountains which means the views are amazing. All in all it is a very relaxed place to stay and close to all the attractions of the old city. We would totally recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, NSW Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Jim's is a quiet, friendly oasis on the edge of the old town in Dali. They provide services and friendly assistance. The food at Jims is great, get a few friends together and do the Tibetan Banquet. Jim himself is usually around, he speaks great English and will freely give advice on Dali and foreward journeys. He is a friendly, charming man with lots of stories to tell, especially when he gets out the special brew (it'll cure anything). The hotel is decorated in Tibetan style, you'll want to go home and paint your ceilings. The small, secluded courtyard on the ground floor is an oasis where you'll want to stay for a rest. I loved my stay at Jim's, recommend it to anyone, and hope to return.

Room Tip: The rooms on the lower floor at the back are larger, but all rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dali hotels
0.5 mi away
Gurong Hotel
Gurong Hotel
#7 of 476 in Dali
68 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Linden Centre
The Linden Centre
#1 of 476 in Dali
575 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Dali Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Landscape Hotel
Landscape Hotel
#9 of 476 in Dali
245 reviews
0.9 mi away
Yinfeng Hotel
Yinfeng Hotel
#6 of 476 in Dali
102 reviews
11.5 mi away
Sky Valley Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jim's Tibetan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jim's Tibetan Hotel

Property: Jim's Tibetan Hotel
Address: No.4 Yuyuan Alley, Lvyu Community, Dali, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Dali
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dali
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jim's Tibetan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jim’s Tibetan Hotel is is a small boutique hotel built in colourful traditional Bai and Tibetan style.We have 16 rooms with private bathrooms:singles, doubles, triples and 4 bed rooms. The 3 and 4-bed rooms are very suitable for families travelling with children. All beds are all soft and comfortable which is a great plus.We warmly welcome you to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Jim's Tibetan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jims Tibetan
Jims Tibetan Dali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing