We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely mix of French and Chinese”

The Elephant's Cafe
Ranked #3 of 10 Coffee & Tea in Dali
Cuisines: French
Restaurant details
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The French cheese cake and Yunnan coffee is sooo good that I went back twice and ordered the exact same combo. The cheese cake's crust has a honeycomb aftertaste that is to die for. This is seriously the best cheese cake I have ever eaten in my life. No joke.

If you're lucky enough to grab the nice little nook with a Mediterranean white wash stone by the window, you can doggie or people watch on a lazy afternoon in Dali. But there's only one spot like this. Otherwise, you can always sit outside.

I particularly enjoyed the cute ceramic dishes and cups that the food is served on as well as watching the neighboring cafe's golden retriever.

Date of visit: November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Geriberi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 14 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

this ambiaent eatery features elegant coffee's, teas and french cakes, made by the one and only French backer in dali old town. all surrounded by black & white photography, in the sounds of bossa nova, a feel of Paris in Dali? their banana yogurt shake is alsome, and their home made ice cream is exceptionally tasty, not to mention their friendly service made me melt each time i go there. great place to spend the afternoon with a view to the Azure mountain.

Date of visit: May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank ruralchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2017
Google Translation

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: July 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed May 8, 2016
Google Translation

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed The Elephant's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Elephant's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing