We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Tasty Naxi Food”
Review of Good Panda

Good Panda
Ranked #15 of 108 Restaurants in Dali
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quality Tasty Naxi Food”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Great restaurant in heart of Dali Old Town. Fresh, fragrant, tasty dishes with less fat/oil than usual tourist food. Roasted Aubergine and Happy/cry chilli meal best dishes we have tasted in China so far. Loads of choice for vegetarians especially if your a fan of mushrooms.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank androidsdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    10
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dali, China
Level Contributor
109 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“6.5/10 Kung Fu Panda better straighten this Good Panda”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

When I went here, the staff were always open and ready to receive you once you stepped inside. I ordered a meat dish, rice, a soup dish and 2 vegetable dishes. The meat dish was so oily, but edible. The vegetable dishes were scrumptious and fresh. Those were my favorite of the entire lunch. The rice was a bit undercooked and found 1 or 2 pebbles inside of them. Hopefully they could do better in the future so people can enjoy the delicious vegetables with it. The soup was just water and a bitter vegetable. I didn't really like it much, but the staff told me that it can clear the acne on my face. Try this place if you are vegetarian.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Phoenix F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
208 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Very good chinese!”
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

One of the best chinese restaurants we tried in Dali oldtown. Especially the dumblings were awesome and this beef stew (don't remembet the exact name). Still the place earns my respect, the staff was very nice, definitely worth a go.

Helpful?
Thank Gurumir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Find somewhere else to eat!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Being vegetarian & into my fourth week in China I was excited by the english menu, with vegetarian section. Can't remember the name of the dish I ordered (they advertise it as super hot), but it was essentially red onions, chilli & coriander. A side dish, not a meal. I'm OK with that, but what made the experience appalling was the service, or rather lack of. My husband & I had both ordered rice & a drink. I had to ask for each about 4 times before they arrived. By the time the cold rice arrived my husbands overly sweet pork dish was cold. We're staying in Dali a few more nights & will not return to that restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ozipom00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Makes eating local food easy”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

English menu, delicious food and prices are up front. Great place to try Mogu (wild mushrooms) without getting stung at the end of the meal. Nicely priced beer too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GuangzhouQuietStorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Good Panda also viewed

 

Been to Good Panda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing