We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delight horse carriage ride in Xizhou village”
Review of Xizhou Town

Xizhou Town
Book In Advance
More Info
$298.00*
and up
Classic Dali One-Day Tour
More Info
$169.00*
and up
Dali Private Day Tour to Xizhou Village including Horse Drawn Carriage Ride...
More Info
$117.24*
and up
Erhai Lake Scooter Tour: Discover Dali and Bai Culture
Ranked #6 of 64 things to do in Dali
Certificate of Excellence
Dali, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delight horse carriage ride in Xizhou village”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

If you want take a real experience of the countryside life, Xizhou will be the right choice to you. The village itself got a very glorious history as the temperory capital of Nanzhao Kingdom and also once the comercial center of Dali. Hence there left lots of nice old courtyards built by the local Bai minority capitlists which are still preserved well. It is considered as a museum of the tranditional Bai architecture. You can take a shuttle from the ancient city to get there, better go in the morning time so you won't miss the open air market .(ig,it opens early in the morning till lunch time) After that you may hire a local horse carriage , the driver also as the guide will map out a route accordinig to your interests. You may enjoy wonderful views together with interesting stories given by the native driver. It will be a precious chance to get a closer touch on the local Bai people's life.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank yangruhui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    43
    13
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dali, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Heavenly Village”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I stayed in Xizhou for a month to research around the surrounding area. Each morning, I wake up in the sound of nature. Each day, I breathe in fresh air that is unpolluted. The food here is also very good, the MiXian and MiXia. Additionally, the people here are very hospitalized. It is definitely a place everyone should visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Here
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most Lovely”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Very quaint. Lovely. Enjoyed cheesemaker's home; Linden Centre was most lovely; farm fields amazed me

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChLyCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Wander the alleys and try the baba”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The town is slowly becoming more of a tourist destination instead of just a cool small town. There was an entrance fee at the front (not sure if it was for the town or something else), but we walked around through the back alleys, avoiding any fees. We wanted to see village life and the Bai buildings. We accidently found our way into the main square where we tried the delicious babas. There are some neat old buildings, too, if you keep wandering. I have a feeling it's not as great as it used to be, since it's been turned into a typical Chinese tourist attraction. However, it's a nice place to just get lost among the back alleys and check out the Bai style.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank suttonase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
k
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“you should to there in the morning”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

there is a morning market in Xizhou everyday ,so the morning time is the best time to visit Xizhou ,and you shoud try the Xihzou Baba ,it is very dilicous.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Xiu F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xizhou Town also viewed

 

Been to Xizhou Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing