We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely resort, beautiful garden,perfect place.”
Review of Dali Windoo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dali Windoo Resort
Ranked #14 of 476 Hotels in Dali
Dundee, New York
1 review
“lovely resort, beautiful garden,perfect place.”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

from Shanghai to here,stayed windoo resort 3days for vacation , lovely place ,beautiful garden face to lake, perfect suite room, friendly and excellent service, local food also delicious , highly recommended !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorge A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    13
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
13
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dali, China
Level Contributor
109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I admire the view of the lake. Just ordering a drink and sitting down on the comfortable chairs gazing out into the lake just feels awesome. I recommend this place if you like awesome views of the lake. Great job Lea!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoenix F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

My family stayed there for a few days. It is great place to relax and enjoy the beautiful views of the lake. My son loved to play with the cats that some times will stay in the garden. To sit in the garden next to the lake, bathing in the moonlight and drink a glass of beer with family or friends is such a wonderful feeling...

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the second floor. I would suggest to choose a room on the ground floor so as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The resort features modern rooms which represent real good value. The courtyard has a lot of ambiance and the lake views are lovely. Lea, the owner, is really nice and very helpful in organizing transport, etc.
On the downside, we found water in the room one day (it can happen everywhere, though) and the towels provided were paper thin. We found insects in the room which an electric repellent device would have fixed. Apart from Lea no one else speaks English and breakfast was disappointing.
We liked the location, which is probably 10 minutes outside Dali centre, 25 yuan away - some people might not, though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Nice boutique hotel located on the bank of Erhai.. except the place is hard to find and they said visitors always got lost in the labyrinth of streets...the lake setting is gorgeous and it is wonderful to lie on the hammock and couch...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fancho H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, Beijing, China
2 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a really nice boutique hotel with a great location along the Erhai lake. The hotel is located a bit outside the old city of Dali, but we found that to be a great advantage so that we could retreat from the chaos and hords of tourists in the old town and enjoy the peace and quiet at the lake. The hotel provides taxi services to the old town and back, in summer 2013 it costs 25 RMB each way. The owner, Mrs Ling Lia speaks very good English and is ready to help with any inquiry.

We stayed in the top corner suite at the southern annex of the hotel and had splendid views over the lake and surroundings. The suite is roomy, elegant and with loads of light. The ground floor in the southern annex has a large and open lounge with floor to sealing windows and several seating groups where you can enjoy a glass of wine or tea and the view of the lake and the mountains on a rainy day. When the sun is out there are many seating options outside at the large deck facing the lake.

For breakfast you can choose between Chinese or Western style food, and they serve a variety of coffee options.

Definetely worth a stay, if we ever visit Dali again, Windoo is where we will stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nils G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We recently spent four nights at the Windoo Resort and were very pleased with the experience. Windoo is situated along the banks of Erhai Lake a few kilometers from Dali Ancient Town, a very serene setting. The large deck has a variety of seating options perfect for relaxing with a book all afternoon. You can also order snacks, such as dumplings, and cold beer from the kitchen throughout the day.

Our room on the second level was cute, though it looked like it could use a good scrubbing. The resort is plagued by swarms of mosquitoes and gnats due to its proximity to the lake and evidence of them being killed was left behind on the walls and ceiling. Our room was filled with them upon check-in and after closing all the windows, we set about killing as many as we could with the old, dirty slippers left in the room. We asked the cleaning staff not to open the windows in our room during our stay, and ran the a/c unit which helped keep the insects at bay. I would definitely recommend packing some mosquito repellent.

Breakfast was included in our room rate and was excellent. As Westerners, we were served eggs, bacon, toast, yogurt, fruit, coffee and tea, while the Chinese guests got what looked like a noodle soup. The meal is served in the lobby, where guests are constantly coming and going, often forgetting to close the door behind them. It was quite drafty at times and not super relaxing. Eating outside isn't really an option because of the insects. Incense coils or Citronella would make such a difference.

We ate dinner at Windoo twice and were extremely impressed. There was no menu, instead the kitchen just sent out a variety of Chinese dishes. These ranged from a delicious meatball Massaman-style curry to savory eggplant cooked in a clay pot and topped with a poached egg. Sauteed vegetables and rice were served at every meal. The special Erhai Lake fish was tasty, though would have been better had the chef filleted it and removed the hundreds of tiny bones.

The staff was very kind and one woman speaks very good English. They will call a taxi to take you anywhere you want to go. It cost 25RMB to get to Dali Ancient Town. Bikes are also available, free of charge, and it's lovely to ride through the countryside and surrounding villages. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We asked for a second floor room away from the stairs and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FerretingOutTheFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dali hotels
12.3 mi away
The Linden Centre
The Linden Centre
#1 of 476 in Dali
575 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Dali Resort & SPA
6.6 mi away
Seclusive Life Erhai
Seclusive Life Erhai
#40 of 476 in Dali
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Gurong Hotel
Gurong Hotel
#7 of 476 in Dali
68 reviews
4.7 mi away
Haixi Courtyard 7 Seaview Dali Seaside
11.8 mi away
Sky Valley Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dali Windoo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dali Windoo Resort

Property: Dali Windoo Resort
Address: No.194 Xialongkan Second Group, Longkan Village, Dali 671003, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Dali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 476 Hotels in Dali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dali Windoo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing