We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, but not so peaceful due to construction”
Review of Dali Windoo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dali Windoo Resort
Ranked #49 of 532 Hotels in Dali
Reviewed July 29, 2012

First off, the view is gorgeous. I booked a lake view room for CNY 500 (about USD 79) per night on booking.com and the view from the room is 100% lake. Kudos there.

As of July 29th, construction at the property next door from 9 AM to 6 PM daily makes the "peaceful oasis" previous reviewers have mentioned not so peaceful. Rooms on the first floor have semi-covered patios, the effect of which amplifies any noise that your neighbors are making in their patios or that other guests are making in the nearby dining area. For me, this meant two less than quiet afternoons listening to a three-generation Chinese family barking orders to each other with their young kids running riot in the garden and a mysterious, discontented baby (whom I heard but never saw) crying from a nearby room. So much for a lazy summer afternoon nap...I guess this is what happens when you travel during peak season :)

Lunch can be had for 25-60 yuan, depending on what you order. Coffee for 20 yuan. The rooms are clean, nicely lit and tastefully decorated. That said, I think you can find similar quality accommodation in Dali Old Town with the same amount of construction noise for 2/3 the price and a greater variety of dining options, but the lake-side location certainly makes Windoo very unique.

As other reviewers have mentioned, this hotel can be fairly difficult to find (my Dali Old Town local taxi driver got lost twice finding it), but the Longkan villagers are happy to point you in the right direction, or you can call the resort's front desk at +86-8722695521.

I'd be interested in coming to visit again, but would definitely avoid peak season. The hotel property is so small that a few noisy guests spoil the fun for everyone.

If noise hadn't been an issue, I'd rate this 4 stars; however, unless you are dead-set on staying at a lake-side property, I think Dali Old Town accommodations provide a better value.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are slightly larger than second floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatherineSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 53 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2012

Be prepared to slow down & relax when you come to Yundu. Room is basic but adequate & clean. There's no TV (we didnt miss it), no mini-bar (head to the lobby if you need drinks), no in-room phone or airconditioning (didn't need them). Absolutely love the ability to breakfast outside my room with the sounds of the lapping waves from Erhai. Internet didn't work on both days that we were there but if you really need, free wifi are aplenty in Dali Old Town shops. We had airport trasfer arranged thru hotel for ¥100. I recommend this because hotel is sited in a village and it is not easy to find. We hired the same driver to take us around Dali for ¥200 a day. There was intermittent rain on both days; waited out at 88 Bakery on one day & a massage centre on the other. Both offered complimentary wifi.

Room Tip: Got the first room at the top of the stairs. A little noisy since all traffic heading to the lobby g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SPSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Located in a small village, 20 yuan of taxi away from the old city, the hotel has been open for 8 months. The rooms are nice and spacious but the main thing here is the location: a big terrace, very well appointed, right on the lake. It's very peaceful and beautiful, which is very appreciated after busy Dali. The owner speaks english, the rest of the staff doesn't. They can help you arrange transportation for you (they arranged a trip to Weishan area which was great). The food could be improved: dinner is not that good and breakfast is more than basic. Other than that highly recommended, it's very good value for money.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank voyagistablog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This is a wonderful place to get away from the touristy kitsch that is old town Dali. The hotel is right on Erhai lake, in a small peaceful village, but still only 10 minutes by taxi into the old town. The rooms are tastefully designed in a simple modern style. The outdoor deck is perfect for lounging around after a long day of sightseeing. My daughter loved the hammock. The breakfast is pretty good, more fruit would be nice though.

The owner is very helpful. She gave us names of drivers that the hotel use regularly to take you into town or other villages around the lake. The drivers also know of good and authentic family-style restaurants in the old town.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank CityGirlDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

The hotel is located in a quiet village, far from the dali reserved city. So if you decided to stay here, don't plan any visit to the city. Just lie down, enjoy the "sea" view and nice interior design.
The owner couple has very good taste of interior design. The furnitures are in good condition, high level quality, many were imported from thailand. The sea view deck is designed by professional designer. You can tell the huge difference between it from other local guest house and hotel.
Its rate is higher than other guest house, but it deserves.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mengbei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Greatly recommended for anyone who want to get away from the busy life that we are all living in nowadays. This hotel offers fantastic sea view, full view of sunrise, excellent service and it's a short ride to Dali Old town. Absolutely a bliss for my 4 days 3nights stay in the master suite.... Will definitely come back again.

P.S: the only fault that I can find right now is the weak wifi connection... But again if you want to cut yourself away from the reality, perhaps it's a good "weakness" :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vyiiaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

The setting on this hotel by the Erhai Lake with views across to the mountains on the other side is amazing. The Hotel and garden have a wonderful contemporary design which makes it a pleasure to sit in the garden just relaxing. The hotel owner speaks English and is charming. The hotel can arrange for a car to take you into Dali for only RMB 20 - it takes about 15 mins.
If you are going in winter you can ask for a heater to be put in your room although the electric blankets on there own are probably sufficient.
An amazing place to stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnianLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dali hotels
10 mi away
The Linden Centre
The Linden Centre
#1 of 532 in Dali
608 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hilton Dali Resort & SPA
9.3 mi away
Yinfeng Hotel
Yinfeng Hotel
#7 of 532 in Dali
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Sky Valley Heritage Boutique Hotel
9.8 mi away
The Jade Emu International Guest House
9.5 mi away
Fairyland Hotel Dali Taiheju
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dali Windoo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dali Windoo Resort

Address: No.194 Xialongkan Second Group, Longkan Village, Dali 671003, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Dali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 532 Hotels in Dali
Price Range: $120 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dali Windoo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing