We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rice & Friends Chinese Cooking School
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Rice & Friends Chinese Cooking School
from $50.00
More Info
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveler rating
200
4
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
200
4
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cooking class dumplings chinese culture at home rice market tour learned how from scratch speaks perfect english cucumber salad great cooking dining area spring rolls cultural experience ingredients lesson knowledge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 205 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2011

We had such a wonderful day with Luxi. She is a very patient and warm person, and was very knowledgeable when it came to all our cuisine related questions. We were so full from all the food we had cooked for the whole day, and the recipe book she gave us will insure that my family can enjoy the fabulous dishes that i did. Thank you Luxi! Take care

Date of experience: April 2011
Thank tamara086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

We are so glad we decided to take this cooking course. Luxi was really cool, interesting it was lovely hearing about China from an insiders perspective. She is full of knowledge about all kinds of Chinese cooking and her home is also very beautiful. She was extremely patient when there was some delay in payment.
So all in all, a delightful day spent amongst the flowers cooking delectable dishes!
We can't wait to try them at home using the recipe book we recieved.
Thank You so much Luxi!

Date of experience: April 2011
Thank Memilyedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

My girlfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed the cooking course. We learnt three dishes which was just right. Luxi speaks excellent English and cooked alongside us which helped us remember all the steps required.

The dishes are also ones which we would cook everyday plus we got a booklet at the end of the course with the recipes.

1  Thank vish23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

I have attended cooking classes all over China and this has to rank among the best. Luci is a wonderful instructor. I notice that there is a big difference between being a good cook vs a good teacher when it comes to cooking lessons, and Luci definitely has both traits. She gives a thorough explanation of Chinese condiments and ingredients, and also provides useful tips on cooking techniques. She even showed us how to use a rice cooker!

Her home and garden set up is lovely and clean. And her complimentary coffee rocks. All the best Luci, and I look forward to more delicious recipes on my next visit to Dali.

Date of experience: March 2011
Thank dragon_tilapia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

This is a brilliant course and i thoroughly recommend it! Luxi is so lovely, patient and helpful and made the day so much fun! We started the day by going to the local market where Luxi explained various ingredients to us (including 1000 year old egg - scary!) that i hadnt seen before. She then took us to her beautiful home where we cooked in the lovely courtyard. Everything was explained and our hands were held every step of the way which was great. The atmosphere was lovely and relaxed and was just lots of fun! We got to eat everything that we made (which was awesome!) and we were given a recipe booklet at the end which was really lovely. Luxi went to every effort to make it an amazing day.

Date of experience: March 2011
Thank meltev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews