We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dali Five Elements Hostel
Ranked #4 of 121 Specialty Lodging in Dali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We booked via Hostelbookers and ended up extending our night stay by another night. Our double room was very nice with a large double bed, warm blankets and comfy pillows. We also had a dressing table and bedside tables with large double sliding glass doors.

Owners were helpful and there’s a great communal area with free pool table and seating where they also show films some nights on the projector. There’s also a nice courtyard garden and a couple of cute cats!

The only real downside was the food which we didn’t enjoy at all and couldn’t understand the positive reviews. I asked for my bacon to be well done but it came out virtually raw and I had to force it down and my boyfriend wasn’t impressed with his burger. Breakfast was also a bit disappointing and they tend to use tomato as a garnish on a sweet dish, even though technically a fruit, it seemed a bit odd!

Though no fault of the hostel, the shared bathroom wasn’t the cleanest. Although cleaned daily, some guests were really dirty and we regularly found hair, a cigarette butt and pee over the seat. People would also block the toilet and then not bother reporting it, probably because they were flushing loo paper down it.

The location is a 5-10 minute walk to get to the main area so was conveniently located. Overall, we had a good stay and would recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShinobiDef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiveElementsDali, Owner at Dali Five Elements Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Thanks for your compliment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 213 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed there for couple of days.Very great staff. Their room is clean and warm, which makes me feel like home. i have been to Dali for several times, but this is the best Hostel I have ever live. The location is very convenient. Dishes are awsome. Anyway, whenever i come to Dali , i will only chose Five Elements Hostel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Etison t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiveElementsDali, Owner at Dali Five Elements Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Thanks for your compliment! Always welcome HOME!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

this place is adequate and gets most things right, but should maybe step up its game a little, as it is next to jade emu. tour info could use some help/updating. the common areas are rather nice, and better than jade emu's IMHO. watching movies in the lounge is really great and cozy. dorm beds could use more padding or just be "real" mattresses.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiveElementsDali, Manager at Dali Five Elements Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Thank you for your review, Andrea. As you suggest, we are now updating tour info. You are right, some mattresses in dorms are thin. We'll use more padding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and found it fantastic. The staff are so friendly. The location is in close walking distance to the old town. The rooms are spacious and clean. There was hot water. The bed was also comfortable which was great. We had breakfast and dinner at the hostel and it was just delicious. It's very good value and a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank N R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiveElementsDali, Manager at Dali Five Elements Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Wow, you were talking about all the merit of our hostel. Thank you a thousand times!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayd there for 3 nights and it was amazing. The rooms are very big and clean,we stayd in the dorms and it was very good. They also have very good food and the comun room is very cosy. Every night there is a movie,and the staff is more than helpfull, they helpt us book our train tickets and everythin. Very good places

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sofia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiveElementsDali, Manager at Dali Five Elements Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Thank you, Sofia. That's very high compliment. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I've stayed in a few places in Dali, and this one was the best. It's just across the highway from all the restaurants, bars, and cafe's that you need. The staff is very friendly and can help you out with just about anything. It's pretty quiet at night to sleep, but there's a nice common area to meet other travellers in. If there's one detraction, I'd say the food is mediocre, but that being said, there's plenty of places in Dali to eat. I really enjoyed my time there and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 00jimbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiveElementsDali, Manager at Dali Five Elements Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for your nice review and kind suggestions. Hope to see you again and wish you good luck.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The room was clean and the staff very helpful. Food was reaaly awesome. We stay 4 nights and we still think the price was good for the kind of room and location. Close to Dali ancient city, you'll see the name of the place from the main street. Wifi everywhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antoni1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiveElementsDali, Manager at Dali Five Elements Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for your positive review of our location and wifi. There will be a price increase during National Holiday, and price will be back to normal after that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dali hotels
11.6 mi away
The Linden Centre
The Linden Centre
#1 of 505 in Dali
591 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gurong Hotel
Gurong Hotel
#6 of 505 in Dali
71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jim's Tibetan Hotel
Jim's Tibetan Hotel
#8 of 505 in Dali
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Jade Emu International Guest House
0.9 mi away
Dragonfly Guest House
Dragonfly Guest House
#1 of 121 in Dali
76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairyland Hotel Dali Taiheju
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dali Five Elements Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dali Five Elements Hostel

Address: No.69 Dazhifang Village, West Gate of Dali Ancient Town, Dali 671000, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Dali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 121 Specialty Lodging in Dali
Price Range: $12 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dali Five Elements Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being in the convenient place that we are, you can be involved in everything that goes on in Dali without being bothered by the noise at night. We provide clean rooms at a reasonable price, and have a beautiful garden area to relax, read books or chill out with friends. We serve fresh organic food, homemade bread, and also have a bar for those who like a drink. We are fluent in English, Japanese and Chinese. Free wifi is also available for any of our guests and if you don’t have a computer you can use ours. As travelers ourselves we always stay comitted to high standards, cleaningness and the friendlies possible service. nontheless we also comitted to reasonable prices for all types of accomondation and our other services, as well, so you are sure to find all ameneties and clean, nice hostel!Direction: From Xiaguan Bus Station:Expect to pay 40 RMB for a taxi.From Xiaguan Train Station:Catch the No.8 Bus outside the train station. The fare is 1.5 RMB. Get off at the West Gate in Dali Old Town (approximately 30 minutes on the bus. It is the last stop). From the West Gate, cross the highway and turn left along the highway. You're going the right way if you pass the transit police building. Walk about 450m until you see several hostel sign. look for us on the right behind jade roo lily pad. Point the taxi driver to:Five Elements Hostel Dali ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Dali Five Elements Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing