We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dali Five Elements Hostel
Ranked #3 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Dali
Certificate of Excellence
Kunming, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

By the first contact by email the staff was super nice and helpful. The hostel is beautiful, well decorated with plenty space and very nice bar and excellent food. After days eating cookies in my trip I had the best salad in China with many of the ingredients coming from its own organic garden! The rooms and shared bathrooms were clean and very tidy all the time. It is also worth for the location nearby the old town and easy to get the bus for the next trip! They could improve creating a female dorm only!.

Room Tip: They are all very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gigipaulino_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiveElementsDali, Manager at Dali Five Elements Hostel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you very much for you high compliment. We have thought about settling a female dorm, but no excuse, it's difficult due to our limited dorms. We are sorry about that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    48
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
60
65
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Was travelling through Dali with a friend and we turned up at the five elements without booking.

The staff were very welcoming and booked us into a 4 person dorm with two bunk beds. The room was very clean and nice, as was the communal bathroom. The communal area was very cool and there were plenty of activities going on.

The staff were amazing and helped us to book onwards travel, as well as giving is plenty of advice on what to do in Dali.

As others have stated, if I was travelling through Dali again, I would head there straight away.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlmostAlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiveElementsDali, Manager at Dali Five Elements Hostel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you! We are doing our best to promise you a pleasing stay. BTW, it's busy season now, so it's better to book in advance via website, email, or phone call. Again, thank you for choosing our hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Staffs are helpful and very kind. The room we stayed (twin room without bathroom) was very clean and the public spaces are all good. If we go to Dali in the future, we'll go to Five Elements Hostel again. Thanks for your help!

Room Tip: The twin-bed room without bathroom maybe choose the first floor will be better, because the bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHING YI C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiveElementsDali, Manager at Dali Five Elements Hostel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We can't thank you more for your high compliment. Welcome back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We booked for a couple of nights at five elements and ended up staying a week.
We had a clean comfortable room with plenty of hot water, it was cleaned every day and we were given fresh towels.
Food was really good, recommend the chicken burger and available all day long.
We have breakfast and dinner every night as it was such a reasonable price.
Staff we wonderful ,helpful and nice. They helped us arrange train tickets and taxis.
I will definitely recommend this hostel as a great place to stay in Dali.
Although it was a short walk into town, it was nice to be away from all the bars and noise.
It is next door to the jade emu and it seams most of the hostels are in this area.
We think its the best one.

Room Tip: Upstairs overlooking garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallylark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiveElementsDali, Manager at Dali Five Elements Hostel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Wow, such a long review. Thank you very much, Sally. We are glad to have you stayed with us. Wish you a happy stay in China.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for three nights at this place, which is just great in many aspects. The staff is extremely friendly, helpful and patient, they help with everything from simple questions to organising trips and ongoing transport. They have a nice communal area with pool table, movies of your choice and a nice court with water fountains. Food is good and at a good price. All in all, strongly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas9990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiveElementsDali, Manager at Dali Five Elements Hostel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Thomas, thank you thousand times for spreading your word.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stayed here three nights, coming from Lijiang and leaving to Kunming.
I would absolutely recommed this hostel.
First, the staff were just great. Friendly, patient, helpful. They gave me a lot of practical tips, and helped me choose the best attractions in the area.
I reserved a private ensuite room. The room was clean, spacious and quiet.
The location is very good: a few minutes walk from the west gate of the old city. It's close to the west gate bus station, from where the buses to the villages around Erhai - XiZhou, Xiaping etc. - are leaving.
For those arriving from Dali train station: take bus no. 8 - a very crowded line - from the train station, and get off at the last station (about 40-50 minutes drive). From there it's about 8 minutes walk along the highway, southward (as if you are going back to Dali).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yosef k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiveElementsDali, Manager at Dali Five Elements Hostel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Hi Yosef, Thank you a lot for your recommendation and giving tips to other travellers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Five elements is a charming hostel just outside the city walls of Dali. That is immediately the only negative point we have as you do need to walk 5-10 minutes to the city centre. However all other things were great. The staff was really kind, the rooms were clean and nicely decorated and they offer lots of fun activities such as movie nights and cooking classes.

The food is really nice and not very expensive for hostel standards. If you don't mind walking a bit five elements is definitively a good option in Dali.

For independent travellers it is located just south of the WEST gate.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManonChiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiveElementsDali, Manager at Dali Five Elements Hostel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you. Yeah, it does take few minutes to walk into the center of the old town. Thanks to that, we are away from the crowded. Still, thank you for your positive review. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dali hotels
0.2 mi away
Gurong Hotel
Gurong Hotel
#6 of 472 in Dali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Dali Resort & SPA
11.6 mi away
The Linden Centre
The Linden Centre
#1 of 472 in Dali
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Jade Emu International Guest House
0.9 mi away
Dragonfly Guest House
Dragonfly Guest House
#1 of 116 in Dali
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lily Pad Inn
The Lily Pad Inn
#5 of 116 in Dali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dali Five Elements Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dali Five Elements Hostel

Property: Dali Five Elements Hostel
Address: No.69 Dazhifang Village, West Gate of Dali Ancient Town, Dali 671000, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Dali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Dali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dali Five Elements Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being in the convenient place that we are, you can be involved in everything that goes on in Dali without being bothered by the noise at night. We provide clean rooms at a reasonable price, and have a beautiful garden area to relax, read books or chill out with friends. We serve fresh organic food, homemade bread, and also have a bar for those who like a drink. We are fluent in English, Japanese and Chinese. Free wifi is also available for any of our guests and if you don’t have a computer you can use ours. As travelers ourselves we always stay comitted to high standards, cleaningness and the friendlies possible service. nontheless we also comitted to reasonable prices for all types of accomondation and our other services, as well, so you are sure to find all ameneties and clean, nice hostel!Direction: From Xiaguan Bus Station:Expect to pay 40 RMB for a taxi.From Xiaguan Train Station:Catch the No.8 Bus outside the train station. The fare is 1.5 RMB. Get off at the West Gate in Dali Old Town (approximately 30 minutes on the bus. It is the last stop). From the West Gate, cross the highway and turn left along the highway. You're going the right way if you pass the transit police building. Walk about 450m until you see several hostel sign. look for us on the right behind jade roo lily pad. Point the taxi driver to:Five Elements Hostel Dali ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Dali Five Elements Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing