We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dali Five Elements Hostel
Ranked #4 of 121 Specialty Lodging in Dali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed at 5 Elements for 2 nights and found the staff to be quite helpful. Our room cost 100 RMB/night -- good value for what you are getting.

The rooms were clean and well maintained. However, there was not a a/c in our room, meaning it was cold at night. The hotel did provide an electric blanket, which we used.

The main room of the hotel is spacious and is good if you just want to hang out. They have a small stove in the room at night to warm it.

The water in the bathroom took a long time to find the appropriate temperature. It was either too hot or too cold. Adjustments to the nob took minutes to materalize. But once the temp was right, the shower was fine. The bathroom has an open plan - ie the shower is next to the toliet.

Food was fine but a little expensive (we found food in the town to be expensive since its a tourist destination).

I'd recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liveinchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 213 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

Excellent hostel just outside the walled city centre. Stayed for three nights during the winter and was very impressed by the hostel and its staff. T

Dorm was clean and nice, communal area great, lovely court yard with regular communal dinners. But the best part was the lovely staff. Very warm and welcoming place, with lots of available information on everything I needed. I absolutely loved staying here and met some great people here.

Paid only 20 yuan for dorm bed. The lockers underneath the beds could've used some improvement

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roelvdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed here almost a week in low season. It was probably the only hostel in which my room was cleaned every day. The common room is very spacious and that helps meet other travellers. They also organised movie or cooking night almost every night which is helpful.

There are electric blankets in the room. The wifi is working fine in the main building but there weren't there that many people.

The food was ok but since it was Western it had the western prices.

Room Tip: As always if you use wifi try to get a room close to a router.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed at Five Elements after a recommendation from a fellow traveler and I wasn't disappointed. The room was big for a four-people dorm, and good value and the bathrooms were clean and well-maintained. The food, I tried breakfast and dinner a couple of times, was delicious - I think a lot of the veggies came from the their own garden. I also joined in the dumpling party one evening, delicious! The staff was lovely, generally helpful and of course I should mention the dogs - at the time they had two golden retrievers and 11 puppies - too adorable! (but worth keeping in mind if you suffer from allergies as they were all running freely around the place and coming up to people for a cuddle). The hostel is outside the town walls, about a five minute walk from the city center and very convenient for bus connections.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StineBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We were here for 3 nights (18-21June) Arrived and greeted by 2 friendly ladies at the counter. We didn't made any booking beforehand, so we walked in ask if they had rooms available. Stayed in room 201, double room ensuite. Room is very basic, but overall clean. Bed was hard, pillows were very flat, but that was still ok. We still slept well. Bathroom was basic but clean.

Bathroom had shower foam and shampoo provided. It's ironic how they place a sign in the bathroom reminding guests not to waste water but to get the hot shower going, u will need to start the shower for the first five minutes with icy water running, before the water starts to get hot. The shower is really hard to control, it's mostly either scorching hot water, or icy cold water. It's cold the few nights in Dali, and with a erratic shower is kinda frustrating, though I am more than glad to have hot shower!

Wifi is PAINFULLY slow in our room, most of the time I can detect the wifi from the other guesthouse (Jade Roo) opposite instead!
Five elements have a really nice lounging area, with a pool table. Wifi is definitely faster when you use it in the lounge.

We had breakfast here and it was not bad.. The hostel does provide laundry service at a small fee if I do remember correctly. Location is convenient, just opposite the old town. I like how it's located away from the old town which is bustling with many (too many) tourists. Food (both street stalls and local eateries) in the old town (the stretch where the schools are located) is really cheap and good!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elshjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We loved this place. Why?
- the good atmosphere. The staff is very friendly and helpfull.
- the rooms. The double rooms with bathroom are big and very clean. (of course you have towels in the room (some reviews write that you don't get them))
- the food. Very tasteful (the vegetarian pizza hmmmmm). Yes, sometimes you have to wait for your food, but better wait and get very good food.
- the distance to old Dali. Only a few minutes walk. This means in the evenings/nights/ mornings/daytime very quiet.

The busstop to Kunming is very nearby. If you want to catch a bus to Lijiang, they bring you to the busstop.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berendino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Nothing to complain, very nice atmosphere, very helpful staff, feels like home for few money!
Great Hostel! Helped a lot with travel (re)schedule and troubleshooting ;-) If you are lucky, and you are also really hungry, ask for the dumpling thing. You will learn to make them, and really
enjoy it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lutz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dali hotels
11.6 mi away
The Linden Centre
The Linden Centre
#1 of 505 in Dali
591 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gurong Hotel
Gurong Hotel
#6 of 505 in Dali
71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jim's Tibetan Hotel
Jim's Tibetan Hotel
#8 of 505 in Dali
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Jade Emu International Guest House
0.9 mi away
Dragonfly Guest House
Dragonfly Guest House
#1 of 121 in Dali
77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairyland Hotel Dali Taiheju
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dali Five Elements Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dali Five Elements Hostel

Address: No.69 Dazhifang Village, West Gate of Dali Ancient Town, Dali 671000, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Dali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 121 Specialty Lodging in Dali
Price Range: $12 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dali Five Elements Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being in the convenient place that we are, you can be involved in everything that goes on in Dali without being bothered by the noise at night. We provide clean rooms at a reasonable price, and have a beautiful garden area to relax, read books or chill out with friends. We serve fresh organic food, homemade bread, and also have a bar for those who like a drink. We are fluent in English, Japanese and Chinese. Free wifi is also available for any of our guests and if you don’t have a computer you can use ours. As travelers ourselves we always stay comitted to high standards, cleaningness and the friendlies possible service. nontheless we also comitted to reasonable prices for all types of accomondation and our other services, as well, so you are sure to find all ameneties and clean, nice hostel!Direction: From Xiaguan Bus Station:Expect to pay 40 RMB for a taxi.From Xiaguan Train Station:Catch the No.8 Bus outside the train station. The fare is 1.5 RMB. Get off at the West Gate in Dali Old Town (approximately 30 minutes on the bus. It is the last stop). From the West Gate, cross the highway and turn left along the highway. You're going the right way if you pass the transit police building. Walk about 450m until you see several hostel sign. look for us on the right behind jade roo lily pad. Point the taxi driver to:Five Elements Hostel Dali ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Dali Five Elements Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing